Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » Escape via the coastal road- Exit points?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Squiffy Trubshaw
Member
Major

Posts: 31
Registered:
September 2010
Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 13:29
I've never played Mem44 other than online, and I have no experience of the extra rules. I found a pdf online of the Mediterranean Theatre rules which explained Exits.

The coastal road scenario appears to say that Exits are in effect for Allies at both ends of the road. This seems strange- too easy to run off the left side of the board away from the Axis. But when I tried this anyway in a solo game nothing happens when I move onto the Exit marker.

What am I missing here?

Also, shouldn't a updated rulebook be available on the Mem44 online site, to save us searching online for PDFs explaining the new rules?
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 13:37
The two exit markers work differently for some reason.

The one on the right (guarded by the Italians) asks if you want to exit the board when you land on it.
The one on the left requires you to move on it, then off the board before asking the question.

Right clicking on the items on the board brings up all the relevant info cards for the Med rules, but you need to move left and right to see them all as there can be 4 por 5 per unit depending what's underneath them. Stiff Uper Lip when on allied units, same for Italian units, Med info on everything (far as I can tell), etc, etc.

The Axis job is to prevent the escape with its armour on the one side and with the help of the Italians on the other.

If the Brits move towards you to make a fight of it then they are playing straight into your hands (IMO).
      
Squiffy Trubshaw
Member
Major

Posts: 31
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 13:53
Sounds like how some of the new rules are implemented needs tidying up a bit then.

I wonder why the game asks you if you want to carry out a Stiff Upper Lip attack? I can't think of any situation where you wouldn't? Seems an unnecessary step to ask.
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 14:17
Quote:

The two exit markers work differently for some reason.


Are you sure? I moved units off the board using both markers, but I can't remember any difference.

Quote:

I wonder why the game asks you if you want to carry out a Stiff Upper Lip attack? I can't think of any situation where you wouldn't? Seems an unnecessary step to ask.


Well, as long as the bug awarding a medal gained by SUL resistance to the wrong (Axis) player remains, this choice may be very useful.
      
Morgiliath
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 165
Registered:
January 2011
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 14:39
Vulch wrote on Fri, 11 February 2011 13:37

The two exit markers work differently for some reason.

The one on the right (guarded by the Italians) asks if you want to exit the board when you land on it.
The one on the left requires you to move on it, then off the board before asking the question.


I just played the scenario and used both exits, both seem to be working the same way - they ask you if you want to exit the board, provided you have at least one hex of movement left
      
Squiffy Trubshaw
Member
Major

Posts: 31
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 14:55
Quote:

I just played the scenario and used both exits, both seem to be working the same way - they ask you if you want to exit the board, provided you have at least one hex of movement left


One hex of movement? Ah, I suspect that was it. I think both times I tried the left hand exit I'd used my whole move to get there.
      
Robur
Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 41
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 18:29
The rule says:

Exit markers, used in some scenarios to designate specific hexes - or range of hexes - through which a unit may successfully exit the map to safety AND/OR claim a Victory Medal.

In the "Escape via the coastal road" scenario, it is said: "Exit markers are in effect".

In effect to do what :

- exit to safety OR claim Victory Medal ?

or

- exit to safety AND claim Victory Medal ?
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3195
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 20:06
Both exit markers in this scenario (and in all others) work the same way:

If you have at least 1 hex of movement left when your unit moves onto the Medal hex, then a dialog pops up asking you if you'd like to exit the board.

If you move onto the Medal hex but have no movement left to exit this turn, then the Dialog will appear during the Movement phase of the next turn in which you order this unit.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3195
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 20:10
Squiffy Trubshaw wrote on Fri, 11 February 2011 04:53

Sounds like how some of the new rules are implemented needs tidying up a bit then.

I wonder why the game asks you if you want to carry out a Stiff Upper Lip attack? I can't think of any situation where you wouldn't? Seems an unnecessary step to ask.



We can think of some cases where you might not want to roll this dice, for instance because you would not want to take the risk of having that unit retreat on a flag (think of scenario with Medal objectives, Sudden Death triggers, etc...).

A bonus of the dialog is that it makes you really notice that roll (when playing the real board game players sometimes forget they got that roll, because it doesn't get triggered that often).

eric
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3195
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Fri, 11 February 2011 20:13
Pyramides wrote on Fri, 11 February 2011 09:29

The rule says:

Exit markers, used in some scenarios to designate specific hexes - or range of hexes - through which a unit may successfully exit the map to safety AND/OR claim a Victory Medal.

In the "Escape via the coastal road" scenario, it is said: "Exit markers are in effect".

In effect to do what :

- exit to safety OR claim Victory Medal ?

or

- exit to safety AND claim Victory Medal ?



The reason we wrote it this way in the rules is that in some instances you claim a Medal (but your unit is exiting to safety because it was still at full strength or not really threatened by the enemy), whereas in some other instances you can succeed in doing both (ie exiting the board with a unit that risked being killed because it was getting low on figures.

But in effect you're right. We should just have written AND, to avoid confusion. Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Sat, 12 February 2011 02:59
Pyramides wrote on Fri, 11 February 2011 21:29

The rule says:

Exit markers, used in some scenarios to designate specific hexes - or range of hexes - through which a unit may successfully exit the map to safety AND/OR claim a Victory Medal.

In the "Escape via the coastal road" scenario, it is said: "Exit markers are in effect".

In effect to do what :

- exit to safety OR claim Victory Medal ?

or

- exit to safety AND claim Victory Medal ?



I think the rules are leaving open the possibility that the special rules of a scenario might only allow a player to exit their units, without gaining a medal. None of the official scenarios do this (they all award medals for exiting, if I remember right).

I could imagine someone designing a scenario that allowed damaged units to exit the board as a 'rescue' feature...but the player wouldn't get a medal for that unit.

So in the scenarios we're seeing, the unit can "exit to safety and claim a Victory Medal! Cool
      
BankerNot1
Junior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 11
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Escape via the coastal road- Exit points? Thu, 03 March 2011 16:16
>> We can think of some cases where you might not want to roll this dice...

No need to speculate. I had this situation:

One medal away from victory. All I had to do was play the right flank card and exit the board next turn. I had a full strength infantry unit ready and waiting to exit.

Axis player attacked this unit first. No worries, I thought, only three dice, he can't kill me. He rolled three kills.

So I get the battleback message. Why not, I say? I rolled a flag. The Axis unit retreated blocking the exit hex.

You know what happened next - I had to attack that unit next turn (instead of exiting). Of course I rolled nothing but stars. Axis player finishes me off next turn Sad

Think before you say "Yes" to battleback.
      
    
Previous Topic:expert mode
Next Topic:Ambush Experiment Question
Goto Forum: