Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » Problem firing on a Unit Not Adjacent while the opponent has Ambush
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
MetalHeadMarc
Junior Member
Leutnant

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2011
Problem firing on a Unit Not Adjacent while the opponent has Ambush Fri, 25 February 2011 23:20
OK, so here's the deal. One of my infantry units was held up in a town. There was one unit adjacent to me at full strength and another at half strength which was 2 spaces away.

Below is a picture I ripped from the instruction manual. Both space 3 and 2 had dudes on them however I could only fire on space 3 which was adjacent.

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/8708/fireproblem.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I had line of sight and wanted to fire on the 2 unit space. However, the game didn't let me. Which I thought was strange. So instead I fired on the adjacent space as I had no other options. Immediately, the opponent played an ambush. I think the reason I couldn't fire on the non-adjacent space was b/c he had activated his ambush card. Please advise.

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Problem firing on a Unit Not Adjacent while the opponent has Ambush Fri, 25 February 2011 23:30
No. The reason is that when you have an enemy unit adjacent to you, you cannot fire on a more distant enemy unit instead. Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3047
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Problem firing on a Unit Not Adjacent while the opponent has Ambush Sat, 26 February 2011 03:47
Page 8
Original Memoir 44 Rules Manual
Quote:

A unit adjacent to an enemy unit must Close Assault this unit if it chooses to battle. It may not fire on another, more distant, enemy unit instead.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7102
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Problem firing on a Unit Not Adjacent while the opponent has Ambush Sat, 26 February 2011 06:16
My wife hates that rule too...she sometimes forgets about it and runs into the same problem you had! Cool
      
    
Previous Topic:Memoir '44 Online Beta 19
Next Topic:Dumb luck awards
Goto Forum: