Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » First Beta 23 bugs?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
First Beta 23 bugs? Wed, 20 April 2011 00:01
1.) Playing Wake Island, an attacking Japanese unit rolled three dice against my unit in the right town. My opponent rolled two grenades, killing two of my figures, and one flag. Although the town is protected by a sandbag, I could NOT ignore the flag.

2.) Points lost / gained are not shown after the game ... is this a bug or just a change?

3.) What I noticed only now, but was already true for the MT and EF scenarios: the Allied player gets always an US medal and the Axis player always a German medal placed on his tray when capturing an objective, even if the medals on the map are British, Soviet or Japanese.
      
LooneyLlama
Senior Member
Lucky Bastard

User Pages
Posts: 725
Registered:
March 2008
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Wed, 20 April 2011 04:21
I played Matanikau River as Japanese against AI. Throughout the game the AI never activated one additional unit when he played a section/tactic card. U.S. Marine Corps rules were in effect. The AI also played very 'stupidly' by retreating artillery and infantry off of sandbagged positions when there was no immediate threat. The same happened when playing Red Barricades against the AI. There were many retreats by the Allies that were completely uncalled for. To me, it seems like the AI is a much weaker opponent than it was in the earlier betas. It almost isn't worth playing solo anymore.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Wed, 20 April 2011 05:33
Playing Matanikau River as Marines, I was not permitted to order a second unit on Behind Enemy Lines.

Also, I was unable to rearrange the cards in my hand.

I've reported both of these.
      
dagorman
Member
Lieutenant-colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
December 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Wed, 20 April 2011 23:17
In PT as US
1)could not order 2 units with BEL and

2)after ambushing a Jap inf unit rolled a kill and inf attacked me with 3 dice my unit was in forest

3)air power card said cant ignore flags Jap inf ignored flag
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 21 April 2011 00:19
Playing "Armor Assault" as the Allies on Wake Island, I was only able to order one other unit. According to Gung-ho, it should have been two.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 21 April 2011 00:51
Turboheizer wrote on Wed, 20 April 2011 15:19

Playing "Armor Assault" as the Allies on Wake Island, I was only able to order one other unit. According to Gung-ho, it should have been two.


I think you might be misinterpreting the Gung-Ho rules here. It is 1 additional unit, never 2.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 21 April 2011 02:00
FAQ p. 34:
Quote:

Q. When playing a card that says, "If you do not command any units of this type, issue an order to 1 unit of your choice", can the US Marine player order 2 units?
A. Yes.


I think Turboheizer is thinking about the Marine GUNG-HO rules.
And yes he should be correct. This is the exact verbiage at the bottom of the ARMOR ASSAULT card.

WAKE ISLAND
Both regular and Airpack scenarios state:
Quote:

US Marine Corps Command rules are in effect (Nations 4 - US Marine Corps).


So I believe, acording to the FAQ, the rules should have allowed 2 units to be activated.

Actually, Eric and I may be saying the same thing......

[Updated on: Thu, 21 April 2011 02:54]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 21 April 2011 04:04
Ok, I might have been confused by what Turboheizer meant by 2 other units. I understood this as 2 additional units, but what he meant was 2 non armor units.

In that case, this was a bug indeed.

eric
      
songbird
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 3
Registered:
September 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Fri, 22 April 2011 21:02
Cosmetic bug:

I had a scenario in progress for a long time while we had lunch today. In the after-game action report, it said "Game Time: 1 hour 45 minutes 23 seconds." The problem is that the word "seconds" was jumbled on top of "Scenario Rating" on the next line.

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Mon, 25 April 2011 09:29
Played Guam Landings ersus Johhny. He never used the "Order an extra unit" capability of the Marines Gung-Ho rule.
Sent a bug report.
      
stylemer
Junior Member
Lieutenant

Posts: 1
Registered:
August 2005
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Tue, 26 April 2011 03:38
I had the same flag issue in the Wake Island scenario as you Turboheizer.

In Gates of Moscow, we encountered these issues:
- if you accidentally double-click an Ambush card so it goes under the Commissar, you lose a turn and the sequence gets somewhat confusing - this shouldn't be possible
- if the Russians play an Air Power card it swaps it for a recon card and you miss a turn (is this the Blitz rules?)

One or two other general things:
- if a unit in a sandbag is killed it still asks if you want to ignore the first flag, this seems redundant
- on the maps, can you anti-alias the town names and remove the white translucent backdrops? Aesthetic only, but nice to have
- I've seen some requests to be able to sort the command cards, can you do this, if so how?

Love this game!

Cheers,

Will Belford.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7099
Registered:
July 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 28 April 2011 21:51
stylemer wrote on Tue, 26 April 2011 05:38

I had the same flag issue in the Wake Island scenario as you Turboheizer.

In Gates of Moscow, we encountered these issues:
- if you accidentally double-click an Ambush card so it goes under the Commissar, you lose a turn and the sequence gets somewhat confusing - this shouldn't be possible
- if the Russians play an Air Power card it swaps it for a recon card and you miss a turn (is this the Blitz rules?)

One or two other general things:
- if a unit in a sandbag is killed it still asks if you want to ignore the first flag, this seems redundant
- on the maps, can you anti-alias the town names and remove the white translucent backdrops? Aesthetic only, but nice to have
- I've seen some requests to be able to sort the command cards, can you do this, if so how?

Love this game!

Cheers,

Will Belford.


You may have already done this, but be sure to send in a detailed Bug Report! Otherwise these issues may not get fixed as quickly!! Smile
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 951
Registered:
August 2004
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 28 April 2011 21:56
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 28 April 2011 15:51


You may have already done this, but be sure to send in a detailed Bug Report! Otherwise these issues may not get fixed as quickly!! Smile


Ah, Jesse must be back from vacation. I've missed his gentle reminders about submitting bug reports. Laughing

Now, he'll be able to continue terrorizing opponents in the Desert Fox tournament. Cool

Geoff
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7099
Registered:
July 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Thu, 28 April 2011 21:59
gheintze wrote on Thu, 28 April 2011 23:56

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 28 April 2011 15:51


You may have already done this, but be sure to send in a detailed Bug Report! Otherwise these issues may not get fixed as quickly!! Smile


Ah, Jesse must be back from vacation. I've missed his gentle reminders about submitting bug reports. Laughing

Now, he'll be able to continue terrorizing opponents in the Desert Fox tournament. Cool

Geoff


Very Happy Not back just yet...however, I'm back in Istanbul and have internet for a while. I'll be back in Abu Dhabi by Sunday!! Cool

It's good to be missed!! Laughing
      
marc9600
Junior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
July 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sat, 30 April 2011 18:57
In the 'Breakout to Lisyanka' scenario, has anyone had a problem exiting troops of the map across the frozen river ? I played the scenario a couple of days ago and my first armored unit exited ok but the second just stayed on the river. My opponent had the same problem with one of his infantry units, it would not exit the map.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sun, 01 May 2011 03:30
Just to double-check the obvious: Did they have additional hexes of movement available, or had they reached their maximum?
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Mon, 02 May 2011 01:05
I have a new and novel bug to report!! Shocked Shocked Shocked

I managed to activate an expert mode scenario (Sugar Loaf and Half Moon) in standard mode and play a solo mode battle against Cadet Hermann.

And yes, I have reported the bug including screensnaps in my report.

Am I the first to play this scenario in Standard Mode?

[Updated on: Mon, 02 May 2011 01:05]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Mon, 02 May 2011 05:06
Maybe already reported, but in the Matanikua River scenario the marines are not allowed to use their extra command order with an ARMOR ASSAULT card. Sent bug report today.
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Fri, 06 May 2011 21:30
I guess I found two more:

1.) On Wake Island, two US figures attacked an adjacent single Japanese figure out of a field bunker. The Jap ambushed them, killing one and rolling a flag that was ignored. After that, the Japanese figure was removed without my attack dice ever being rolled.

2.) Attacking a sandbagged Japanese unit on Guam with Air Power, two flags were rolled. Although flags rolled during an air attack cannot be ignored, the Jap unit retreated only one hex.
      
gheintze
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 951
Registered:
August 2004
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Fri, 06 May 2011 21:40
Turboheizer wrote on Fri, 06 May 2011 15:30

I guess I found two more:

1.) On Wake Island, two US figures attacked an adjacent single Japanese figure out of a field bunker. The Jap ambushed them, killing one and rolling a flag that was ignored. After that, the Japanese figure was removed without my attack dice ever being rolled.

2.) Attacking a sandbagged Japanese unit on Guam with Air Power, two flags were rolled. Although flags rolled during an air attack cannot be ignored, the Jap unit retreated only one hex.



I've also seen both of these. It seems to me that dice are not rolled again after an ambush, and the same results are applied to both units.

Also, seen the Air Power bug. The Japanese always ignore flags in this version, no matter if they can't be ignored.

Geoff
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sat, 07 May 2011 03:10
It is possible the bug, with respect to the ambush described above, is that the dice rolled after the ambush are not displayed - only their effect.

I reported a similarm bug in an early beta version. This may be a repeat or continued manifestation of that bug.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sat, 07 May 2011 08:19
dagorman wrote on Wed, 20 April 2011 17:17

In PT as US
1)could not order 2 units with BEL and

I just had an interesting twist on this. I played Medics on my 2-figure IJA and healed it up to full strength. He immediately charged forward and close-assaulted an engineer in the jungle. The engineer Ambushed and scored 3 hits. (Painful!) Even though my IJA was now only 1 figure, he rolled 3 dice against the engineer in the jungle.

But he was clearly battling in a weakened state: He rolled 3 misses.

I have reported this.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sat, 07 May 2011 14:22
He still had his PRE-AMBUSH mojo going for him!!!
Laughing Laughing Laughing

Maybe the AMBUSH just weakens the dice and not the unit.
Laughing

[Updated on: Sat, 07 May 2011 14:24]

      
Nygaard
Senior Member
Général de brigade

User Pages
Posts: 1008
Registered:
May 2006
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sun, 08 May 2011 11:22
Phread wrote on Mon, 02 May 2011 01:05

I have a new and novel bug to report!! Shocked Shocked Shocked

I managed to activate an expert mode scenario (Sugar Loaf and Half Moon) in standard mode and play a solo mode battle against Cadet Hermann.

And yes, I have reported the bug including screensnaps in my report.

Am I the first to play this scenario in Standard Mode?



But did you win? That's the important question!!
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:First Beta 23 bugs? Sun, 08 May 2011 12:37
Of course I won
Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:Airplanes ?
Next Topic:Alls Quiet on the Online Front
Goto Forum: