Forums

Search
Forums » Shadows over Camelot - English » Help a Noob? Rule Questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
krejaton
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2011
Help a Noob? Rule Questions Sat, 30 April 2011 09:37
I got this game for my daughters (14 and 12) who love cooperative games (Forbidden Island and Castle Panic), so I decided to step up in complexity with Shadows over Camelot.

In preparation for our first play, I read through the rules and played solo with three knights so that I understand the flow of play.

I lost (damn siege engines!) but it looks like a great game, but I have a few rules question and need some clarification.

1. Page 17 of the rulebook states, "If you choose to perform 2 heroic actions, you can even use your special power in between."

I thought only one heroic per turn was allowed (Sir Kay aside since he can play an extra white card). What am I missing?

2. If I pull out of the Black Knight quest, my white cards go away but do the existing black cards remain? Do I suffer the effects of defeat on that quest only when his card max out or when I pull out?

3. Can you move from one quest to another without returning to Camelot (e.g. Galahad is helping out with the Grail by dropping a few cups, then heads over to the Black Knight to dent his armor)?

4. Am I correct that you can come and go from group quests (e.g. Grail, Picts/Saxons) with no penalty?
      
Thierry-GdA
Junior Member
Commandant

User Pages
Posts: 27
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Help a Noob? Rule Questions Sat, 30 April 2011 10:31
1- If you pay one life point, you can play a second different heroïc action.

2- i think the back cards remain but you don't loose the quest

3- i'm not sure but i think no

4- yes
      
Thierry-GdA
Junior Member
Commandant

User Pages
Posts: 27
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Help a Noob? Rule Questions Sat, 30 April 2011 10:33
1- If you pay one life point, you can play a second different heroïc action.

2- i think the back cards remain but you don't loose the quest

3- i'm not sure but i think no

4- yes
      
travisjhall
Senior Member

Posts: 358
Registered:
November 2004
Re:Help a Noob? Rule Questions Mon, 02 May 2011 15:14
krejaton wrote on Sat, 30 April 2011 17:37

1. Page 17 of the rulebook states, "If you choose to perform 2 heroic actions, you can even use your special power in between."

I thought only one heroic per turn was allowed (Sir Kay aside since he can play an extra white card). What am I missing?

Page 17 of the rulebook, under Additional Heroic Actions: Sacrifice. Any knight can take a second Heroic Action, at the cost of a Life point.

Note that Sir Kay's power has nothing to do with this. There are knights whose powers give them an extra Heroic Action of a specific type, but Sir Kay is not one of them. Using a card is not always a Heroic Action, and Sir Kay's use of a card is one of the ways to use a card which is not a Heroic Action.

Sir Galahad and Sir Tristan are knights whose special abilities grant an extra Heroic Action - Sir Galahad's for playing a Special White card, and Sir Tristan's for moving (but only when leaving Camelot). In combination with a sacrifice, this allows these knights to even take three Heroic Actions in a turn. Even then, though, they cannot do the same Heroic Action twice (where "same" means "is the same one out of the list of five Heroic Actions").

krejaton wrote on Sat, 30 April 2011 17:37

2. If I pull out of the Black Knight quest, my white cards go away but do the existing black cards remain? Do I suffer the effects of defeat on that quest only when his card max out or when I pull out?

The black cards do remain, but the Black Knight quest never finishes, ever in victory or defeat, until there are four black cards or four white cards played on it. Even leaving does not change that. Note that you can still win even if four black cards have come out, or still lose even if four white cards have been played.

krejaton wrote on Sat, 30 April 2011 17:37

3. Can you move from one quest to another without returning to Camelot (e.g. Galahad is helping out with the Grail by dropping a few cups, then heads over to the Black Knight to dent his armor)?

Yes. And I am sure.

krejaton wrote on Sat, 30 April 2011 17:37

4. Am I correct that you can come and go from group quests (e.g. Grail, Picts/Saxons) with no penalty?


Yes. However, doing so is quite wasteful enough even without an additional penalty. Try to avoid it.
      
    
Previous Topic:Knight's Death and progression of Evil
Goto Forum: