Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » Recon 1
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Recon 1 Mon, 09 May 2011 20:55
It apears in the online version if you play a recon 1 and afterwards choose out of 2 the discarded card is not reveiled on the discard deck.
Is that a bug , or a new rule?
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1033
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Recon 1 Mon, 09 May 2011 21:21
I think, if I understand correctly, that the card you don't choose is put back in the deck ?
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Recon 1 Mon, 09 May 2011 22:13
i think in a normal game the card goes to the discard pile face up.
But on this online version you don't see the opponents discarded card , that is maybe normal?
If i play live with someone we always discard face up.
      
Nygaard
Senior Member
Général de brigade

User Pages
Posts: 1014
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Recon 1 Mon, 09 May 2011 23:09
I think you are right. JJAZ
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 03:51
Yes, I noticed this today. The opponent has no idea what you discarded.

This may be helpful in being clever, but it doesn't seem fair because in a FTF game the card is revealed.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 03:52
The card says, "choose one and discard the other." It doesn't say anything about burying or mixing the card into the deck. "Discard" would mean putting it on top of the discard file.

I think I questioned this at the beginning of the open beta, too, but never heard a response.

I just assumed they were doing it this way to simplify the mechanics of Counter-Attacking.
      
Nygaard
Senior Member
Général de brigade

User Pages
Posts: 1014
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 08:18
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 10 May 2011 03:52

The card says, "choose one and discard the other." It doesn't say anything about burying or mixing the card into the deck. "Discard" would mean putting it on top of the discard file.

I think I questioned this at the beginning of the open beta, too, but never heard a response.

I just assumed they were doing it this way to simplify the mechanics of Counter-Attacking.


Yeah - good point.
But they could perhaps do a "pop-up" showing the opponent what had been discarded, so you need to pay attention at the moment, rather than have the card be constantly on display atop the discard pile.

In most games it doesn't matter much, but in those tense and exciting close matches that we all love (I hope) it could be an important factor ("OK, so my opponent discards an Assault left flank, guess things will happen elsewhere").
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 08:55
An added complication is that the discard shows the last card (the recon-1) that was played.

Would it be more confusing to show the discarded card on the pile? Would someone think that they could incorrectly counter-attack the discarded card.

Do you really keep a detailed track of what cards have been played? I tend to know how many counter-attacks have been played, if the airpower, general advance, DHq, Armour Assaut, TFH, BEL have been played. But I don't track every card. (Limited processing capacity.)
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2324
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 14:47
Being able to see the opponent's discard in"normal" Memoir can be interesting. At the same time, it can be interesting for your opponent not to see the discard. The other night, early in a game, I kept an Infantry Assault and tossed Ambush. It was nice being the only player who knew that Ambush was not a threat.

(By the way, I haven't noticed, after Ambush is played, whether it stays on top of the pile or goes away.)

@Phread: I find that paper can be useful for keeping track of cards played.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Recon 1 Tue, 10 May 2011 14:55
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 10 May 2011 14:47

Being able to see the opponent's discard in"normal" Memoir can be interesting. At the same time, it can be interesting for your opponent not to see the discard. The other night, early in a game, I kept an Infantry Assault and tossed Ambush. It was nice being the only player who knew that Ambush was not a threat.

(By the way, I haven't noticed, after Ambush is played, whether it stays on top of the pile or goes away.)

@Phread: I find that paper can be useful for keeping track of cards played.


In F2F games we play that the discarding player can choose to discard face up or face down as he like. Adds to the metagaming psych war Memoir is.
Seeing a good card there makes the other player fear what was chosen. Not seeing it can be equally frightful.
I like Recon-1 a lot.

Stig Morten
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Recon 1 Wed, 11 May 2011 12:18
http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/320854/_4617.p df

Try this out if you like to track Command Cards.

It is graphics heavy so it takes awhile to download. You can laminate it and use a dry erase marker to track your play.

[Updated on: Wed, 11 May 2011 12:21]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Recon 1 Wed, 11 May 2011 17:50
Thank you MR STEVENS
      
    
Previous Topic:Where can I find my own skill rating?
Next Topic:Random Die Generator
Goto Forum: