Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » SWU - Kraken question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
DarnCZ
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
May 2005
SWU - Kraken question Thu, 02 June 2011 18:46
I have read rules for SWU and I'm still not sure about the river and Kraken. The rules says, that you conquer the river with only 1 token. Does it mean, that you have to conquer it with one additional token to the Krakens presented here (eg. if there is 1 Kraken I can conquer the river region with 2 tokens)? Or only empty river regions are conquered with only 1 token?

Thank you for reply.

I'm really looking forward to play my first game of SWU Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:SWU - Kraken question Thu, 02 June 2011 20:43
I'm not an expert on these rules, but it seems like the river itself only costs 1 token instead of the 2 tokens that most regions cost. So with a Kraken token on the river, it would cost 1 token for the river and 1 for the Kraken...2 tokens instead of the normal 3.

Is that how other people see it working? Razz
      
ClanNatioy
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 128
Registered:
October 2009
Re:SWU - Kraken question Thu, 02 June 2011 21:47
I am a little confused by this too but I'd probably play it the way rasmussen said
      
Cyan4973
Member

Posts: 32
Registered:
June 2011
Re:SWU - Kraken question Sat, 02 July 2011 18:15
yeah, it seems the right understanding.

Problem is : this is effectively the equivalent of a -1 defense malus.

Therefore, is it really interesting to invade river territories as a Kraken ? Kraken are going to be ousted from there so easily...

Btw, anyone playing kraken and actually happy of them ?

[Updated on: Sat, 02 July 2011 20:17]

      
TheQfi
Junior Member

Posts: 24
Registered:
July 2010
Re:SWU - Kraken question Mon, 04 July 2011 20:57
Cyan4973 wrote on Sat, 02 July 2011 19:15

yeah, it seems the right understanding.

Problem is : this is effectively the equivalent of a -1 defense malus.

Therefore, is it really interesting to invade river territories as a Kraken ? Kraken are going to be ousted from there so easily...

Btw, anyone playing kraken and actually happy of them ?


The crew just confirmed that indeed everyone attacks the river with a -1 (read from the Underworld FAQ). This means that (normally) only two attacking tokens are required to conquer a river occupied by 1 Kraken. My pals have been really happy with the Kraken. The Krakens always conquer the whole river during the first turn. Usually the Kraken tokens are fairly safe in the river, because no one really likes to waste 2 tokens for nothing in order to remove the Kraken from the river.
      
    
Previous Topic:Pre-orders shipping?
Goto Forum: