Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » 1.0 bugs
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 02:04
ok is it just me or is the credits page still blank??? I see a typewriter and a few maps, but blank paper....
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 287
Registered:
December 2004
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 02:57
It takes a moment, but my paper scrolls eventually with the credits
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 03:14
Mine works fine.
Mac OS 10
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 04:43
Credits display on my PC (Windows 7 Home Premium).

Before Jesse gets to asking, have you reported this as a bug? Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes

[Updated on: Tue, 07 June 2011 04:44]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 05:05
Phread wrote on Tue, 07 June 2011 06:43

Before Jesse gets to asking, have you reported this as a bug? Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes Very Happy Rolling Eyes


Great question, Phread!! Razz It looks like someone is trying to take over my job... Laughing
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 06:00
paper scrolls but blank in xp??? and yes I sent a bug report....
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 06:26
Aha, a special version of XP computers - written in invisible ink.

Saves the wear and tear on your pixels on your older computer.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 07:37
Randwulf wrote on Tue, 07 June 2011 06:00

paper scrolls but blank in xp??? and yes I sent a bug report....


The millenium bug? Laughing

[Updated on: Tue, 07 June 2011 07:37]

      
stenic
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 136
Registered:
August 2006
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 10:31
Could be you are missing the latest drivers for the typewriter? Laughing
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 10:45
Perhaps Randwulf's typewriter needs a new ribbon.

(I am old - though I prefer experienced - enough to have actually replaced a ribbon in a typewriter.)

      
Morgiliath
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 165
Registered:
January 2011
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 07 June 2011 12:35
Randwulf, there also used to be two-color ribbons for the typewriter. This will give you the color version of credits Smile.

Am equally 'experienced' as Phread and was using them a lot Smile.
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1363
Registered:
March 2005
Re:1.0 bugs Wed, 08 June 2011 05:35
I used to rewind my ribbons and re-ink also... so glad to have thrown that thing away...
      
Vulch
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 404
Registered:
May 2009
Re:1.0 bugs Wed, 08 June 2011 17:47
It's never worked for me; I suspect it's a video driver problem, but since the main game works I am not going to fiddle with it.

If it aint broke, don't fix it!!
      
Brice
-= Crew =-
Commandant

User Pages
Posts: 1917
Registered:
October 2002
Re:1.0 bugs Thu, 09 June 2011 22:48
Vulch wrote on Wed, 08 June 2011 17:47

It's never worked for me; I suspect it's a video driver problem, but since the main game works I am not going to fiddle with it.

If it aint broke, don't fix it!!


Yes we tracked down this to a graphic hardware max texture size that is less than the image that scrolls up. This can happen on lower-end or older graphic chipsets.
      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 18:39
Using the "Behind enemy lines" card at Lisyanka, my German infantry unit was able to cross the frozen river without any dice being rolled.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 19:10
Turboheizer wrote on Sun, 12 June 2011 20:39

Using the "Behind enemy lines" card at Lisyanka, my German infantry unit was able to cross the frozen river without any dice being rolled.


Actually this is not a bug, it's the rules. Very Happy Check page 39 of the Official FAQ and you'll see that a unit ordered with Behind Enemy Lines can move freely over the Frozen River and does not have to roll any dice. Cool

He must take his time and make sure that the river is fully frozen... Razz
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 19:10
Turboheizer wrote on Sun, 12 June 2011 09:39

Using the "Behind enemy lines" card at Lisyanka, my German infantry unit was able to cross the frozen river without any dice being rolled.


I don't think this is a bug, since a BEL move ignores terrain movement restrictions.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 19:11
eric wrote on Sun, 12 June 2011 21:10

Turboheizer wrote on Sun, 12 June 2011 09:39

Using the "Behind enemy lines" card at Lisyanka, my German infantry unit was able to cross the frozen river without any dice being rolled.


I don't think this is a bug, since a BEL move ignores terrain movement restrictions.


I beat you to it, Eric! Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 22:17
Found an interesting bug. My opponent played 2 ARTILLERY BARRAGE cards in a row and the TFH card had not been played. So something is a bit fishy here. Sent bug report to DOW.

[Updated on: Sun, 12 June 2011 22:18]

      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 22:36
Maybe the airpower card had to be used as artillerie bombard?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 22:42
I think I see what you are saying. Is it possible that the BOT interpreted an AIRPOWER card as an ARTILLERY Barrage card instead. However, what I saw on the screen both times was an ARTILLERY BARRAGE card image.

OK GUYS AT DOW, FESS UP!!!

IS THIS HOW THE GAME IS PROGRAMMED, OR IS THERE TRULY A DOUBLE DECK BUG????

[Updated on: Sun, 12 June 2011 22:44]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Sun, 12 June 2011 22:45
stevens wrote on Mon, 13 June 2011 00:42

I think I see what you are saying. Is it possibl that the BOT interpreted an AIRPOWER card as an ARTILLERY Barrage card instead.

OK GUYS AT DOW, FESS UP!!!

IS THIS HOW THE GAME IS PROGRAMMED, OR IS THERE TRULY A DOUBLE DECK BUG????


I think this might have come up before...where the Air Power card shows up as Barrage in the scenarios where it is used as such. Were you playing one of those scenarios? Or is it just one scenario where that rule is in place...I can't remember right now. Razz
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Mon, 13 June 2011 00:59
Suomussalmi-
It does have the Airpower card used as an Artillery Barrage.

Quote:

Special Rules:
The Air Power card is played as an Artillery Bombard Tactic card: 'Artillery battles twice or moves up to 3 hexes'.



Yes, it makes sense that the Bot deck might actually have 2 Artillery Barrage cards and zero Airpower cards. I just want to be certain. Only DOW knows how they programmed this rule.

[Updated on: Mon, 13 June 2011 01:01]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Mon, 13 June 2011 21:59
Answer from Eric...
Quote:

On this scenario, the special rules state that : "The Air Power card is played as an Artillery Bombard Tactic card: 'Artillery battles twice or moves up to 3 hexes'."

For the sake of simplicity, we simply replaced the Air Power card by an Artillery Bombard in the deck. We had another implementation, but it was way more confusing.

That explains why your opponent played it twice in a row : he actually got the
Air Power card in his hand.

Eric Brayet
The Memoir '44 High Command at Days of Wonder Headquarters
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Mon, 13 June 2011 22:06
Memoir '44 Online 1.0

Juno Beach

stevens (Allies) vs. klise 17 (Axis)

Stevens plays a MOVE OUT card and moves several infantry to attack the center German infantry unit in the bunker near the beach and adjacent to the river.
One 2-figured infantry unit attacks a 1-figure Axis infantry in the bunker in a close assault.
Stevens rolls two dice (an ARMOR and a FLAG).
These should both be misses, because the infantry in the bunker is ALLOWED to ignore one flag, but for some unknown reason (maybe my opponent chose to retreat and since the river was behind he drowned????)
the Axis unit was eliminated. This is definitely a bug.

[Updated on: Mon, 13 June 2011 22:07]

      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 464
Registered:
February 2006
Re:1.0 bugs Mon, 13 June 2011 22:27
This is an interesting question ... can a player commit suicide by retreating into impassable terrain?
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:1.0 bugs Mon, 13 June 2011 23:33
stevens wrote on Tue, 14 June 2011 08:06

Memoir '44 Online 1.0

Juno Beach

stevens (Allies) vs. klise 17 (Axis)

Stevens plays a MOVE OUT card and moves several infantry to attack the center German infantry unit in the bunker near the beach and adjacent to the river.
One 2-figured infantry unit attacks a 1-figure Axis infantry in the bunker in a close assault.
Stevens rolls two dice (an ARMOR and a FLAG).
These should both be misses, because the infantry in the bunker is ALLOWED to ignore one flag, but for some unknown reason (maybe my opponent chose to retreat and since the river was behind he drowned????)
the Axis unit was eliminated. This is definitely a bug.


This isn't a bug - this was the player's error.

In software development we have a special term for this "loser error" which really applies here.

An underlying questions is "How far should the program go to prevent a layer from doing someting really dumb?"
IMHO the program should enforce the rules and implement the game play.
Dumb moves or mistakes - and I have made my share of them - are the player's responsibility.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:1.0 bugs Tue, 14 June 2011 03:03
I agree...the program should not prevent people from making foolish moves but should allow them to make big mistakes (like retreating into a fast flowing river) so they can learn from these errors and improve their skill level.
      
    
Previous Topic:Are six Pilot Badges four too many?
Next Topic:server connection lost and I lost my gold ingots
Goto Forum: