Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Combat cards question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

User Pages
Posts: 504
Registered:
December 2010
Combat cards question Thu, 06 October 2011 12:17
Just received the Overlord map Sword of Stalingrad and the combat cards.

The rules say:

A player may only draw a new Combat card
from the deck at the end of a turn in which
he has played a Recon Command card - but
not a Recon in Force or any other Command
card!

Question:

Does the player also still benefits from the possibility to draw two commands cards and choose one or does he have to choose between a new Combat card or the command card choice ?
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1083
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Combat cards question Thu, 06 October 2011 12:59
If you play a Recon 1 as a Recon 1 (and not as Air Power using Blitz Rules), then you play as normal i.e. pick 2 cards, select one and discard the other and in addition draw a Comabt Card for that Field General (Overlord) or yourself (base game).

This poses an interesting choice for the Germans of whether to use the Blitz Rule to provide additional Air Power or Urban Combat Cards. This creates a good representation of the German air superiority against the Soviets superior performance in urban combat.

[Updated on: Thu, 06 October 2011 13:02]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2330
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Combat cards question Thu, 06 October 2011 13:08
Minor clarification: If you're playing Overlord, then the CinC draws 3 Command cards (provided that this doesn't exceed his permissible hand size) and the FG draws a Combat card. The CinC doesn't get a choice of Command cards.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3109
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Combat cards question Thu, 06 October 2011 13:33
Quote:

Does the player also still benefits from the possibility to draw two commands cards and choose one or does he have to choose between a new Combat card or the command card choice ?


I think Sam answerred your question regarding an OVERLORD game. However, in a regular BREAKTHROUGH or STANDARD board game where you are using the combat cards, the play of a RECON-1 card has 2 benefits:

1. You draw two commands cards and choose one.
2. You get a new Combat Card

So you get to do both.

You will find in playing the NEW Winter Wars expansion that this benefit makes having the RECON-1 card a more desirable asset. And in fact, if you have a choice of drawing two cards, you may actually choose another RECON-1 card to enhance your playing hand and also your supply of Combat Cards.

[Updated on: Thu, 06 October 2011 13:39]

      
    
Previous Topic:Direct from HQ - Memoir '44 Campaign Book Vol. 2
Next Topic:wire + sandbag = ?
Goto Forum: