Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Book
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2936
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 18 May 2011 03:13
Heroic Leader behind sandbags link.
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=215846#msg_215846
      
Kelly's Hero
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 301
Registered:
April 2011
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 01 June 2011 01:41
I noticed that the current version of the official FAQ is now a year old. Any ideas on when we can expect an update?
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 260
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 10 June 2011 02:59
Maybe the question of whether the "option to ignore 1 flag" benefit stacks or not should be added? It's not actually addressed in the FAQ. It's clear that you only use the most beneficial terrain dice modifier, but the rulebook and FAQ are silent about ignoring (multiple) flags.

I ask because the Breakout scenario "The Cauldron" has sandbags set up in Oasis hexes. Oasis is -1 dice modifier and ignores 1 flag and so is the sandbag.

Just was looking for an answer based on what is in the FAQ or rulebook.

No offense intended.
      
jamesmhebert
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Bronze

User Pages
Posts: 13
Registered:
October 2007
Re: A couple of clarification requests - rules vs official FAQ Thu, 30 June 2011 17:12
I have two items to ask about. #1 is to clear up a confusion. #2 is to point out a possible oversight, and suggest a solution... which will likely require an official determination from Dow and/or Mr. Borg. Please forgive the lengthy explanation required to describe it!

1. According to the Mediterranean Theater rule book: "An Engineer unit that moves onto a Road Block hex and is eligible to battle may clear the Road Block hex in lieu of battling. If the unit moves 2 hexes, it cannot remove the Road Block on the same turn, unless ordered by an Infantry Assault." Thus the MT rule book says "Engineers can remove road blocks," and depicts this rule as governing Combat Engineers whenever they are on the battlefield.

However this is contradicted by the current version of the Official FAQ v1.3: "Q. Is it possible to remove road blocks? A. No. Road blocks cannot normally be removed, unless stated otherwise in a scenarios special rules." Thus the FAQ seems to say "Engineers cannot remove road blocks," then allows that they can do so if a scenario permits it.

It would be nice to clear up this admittedly minor confusion whether it is a global ability or a scenario-specific ability.

2. On a related note, I have a question about the actions available to Combat Engineers with regard to road blocks. It seems that the "complete" set of actions and outcomes created for "Combat Engineers on a hex with wire" have not been applied to "Combat Engineers on a hex with a road block."

I'm hoping to get this situation more thoroughly defined.

Here are rules gathered from several rule books and written in a manner that I believe presents them clearly, without changing their meaning, concerning their MOVEMENT and their available ACTIONS.

Combat Engineer (CE) units may:
(a) move 2 hexes and take no further action. If the ending hex contains wire or a road block, no further action is taken. If the ending hex contains a mine field, however, the mine detonates, possibly damaging the unit.
(b) move 1 hex and take an action (determined by an obstacle, if any, in the ending hex). If wire in the ending hex, they must clear the wire. If a road block in the ending hex, they must clear the road block. If a mine field in the ending hex, they must clear the mine field token. If the ending hex has none of these "must respond to" obstacles, they may battle.
(c) move 0 hexes and battle -or- perform this specially defined action (remove wire and battle with 1 less die).

What I would like to see spelled out, is "the rest of the story" for option (c) with regard to the road block obstacle.

Since it is possible (and allowed by the rules) for a CE unit to end its movement in a hex with an obstacle (wire), and NOT deal with the wire on that turn, the RESULT is that the CE unit when next ordered STARTS its turn on a hex with wire. The way the rules are written, this can occur with a road block as well.

I realized two things here:

First, in this case, is the CE unit required to clear the wire when in this "starting in a hex with wire" situation, or can it pick *any* of the three options I listed above (a, b, or c)? This is an interesting discovery, and one I had not considered until writing this post. The rules address this "starting a turn on a hex with wire" situation with only the special action, and it is presented as an option, not a requirement. (Theoretically, then, the CE unit could just "move on" from the hex and leave the wire behind. Ignoring whether this is a good tactical decision, if this situation is addressed somewhere and I have overlooked it, please tell me where the clarification is found.)

Second (and the main the reason I started this post!): Since the special action (remove wire and battle with 1 less die) specifically identifies "wire" and makes no mention of "road block," I am curious if the definition can be extended to include road blocks as well as wire in its scope. In other words, if a CE unit can clear the wire AND battle with -1 die, couldn't it clear a road block and battle with -1 die just as easily? This has the added benefit of making the rules "parallel" with regard to wire and road blocks as obstacles, which is just a tiny bit cleaner and w-a-y easier for my brain to remember and apply consistently. Yes, it could be "house ruled," but I do prefer to know the designer's intent and DoW's official response when such questions occur.

Any thoughts, feedback, or "here's what you missed" comments?

Thank you!

[Updated on: Tue, 05 July 2011 05:39]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2936
Registered:
February 2007
Re: A couple of clarification requests - rules vs official FAQ Thu, 30 June 2011 17:45
Dear Jamesmhebert,
I am not speaking for Mr. Borg, but as one a little bit in the know on this issue. This exact question, regarding CE and roadblocks, will probably be dealt with in an editing review for an updated FAQ.

Also, although it is a requirement of CE's to remove a mine if they enter the hex and are able to battle, it is NOT a requirement regarding wire or roadblocks. Hopefully this will also be clarified.

As to when the updated FAQ will be available, all I can say is be patient...
Smile

[Updated on: Thu, 30 June 2011 17:47]

      
jamesmhebert
Junior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Bronze

User Pages
Posts: 13
Registered:
October 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Thu, 30 June 2011 18:37
@ stevens,

Thank you. I appreciate hearing that!

May I ask, is a FAQ update in the works, then? I would like to offer my feeble skills in assisting with either the review/proofing process and/or the design/layout process. Whom should I contact to offer assistance?

I have been working on a pet project of my own, collecting the "additional and special rules" from the Memoir 44 family into a single alphabetically ordered resource book, because I find that keeping multiple manuals, a stack of reference cards, and the FAQ beside the game table is just to fiddly for me.

The fun part has been designing it using 1940s typography and style, emulating military Field Manuals of the period. With the cover printed on green paper, and contents printed on manila paper, it has a wonderful "period" look and feel (and wastes very little ink!).

It is this project which has spurred my investigation into the deeper aspects of Memoir's rules, and why I want to gain clarification about the Combat Engineers, for example. I also find that the language and ordering of information can be condensed and clarified, which helps me understand the rules better, and apply them with greater certainty. It's not a rewrite of the FAQ, nor just a dictionary listing all of the units in the game; rather, I think of it as "the base game defines the basic units and their function" and I wanted a reference for "all the rules that modify the base game." Makes it quicker for me to flip through to "Desert Rules" and find all I need, with cross-references to related material, in one resource.

Thank you again!

James

[Updated on: Thu, 30 June 2011 19:26]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Fri, 01 July 2011 05:31
Hi, James --

The FAQ is maintained by Rasmussen81. I believe he's on vacation at the moment, so I don't know when he'll be able to answer your question about the next FAQ update. (Those updates are a lot of work.)

As you've probably already learned, this thread is where questions and answers for the FAQ updates are gathered, to make it easy.

Sam
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 04 July 2011 23:55
So today my friend and I played another game, and as usually happens, we find something that's not completely clear in the rules (but we enjoy the game and the quest tremendously). Anyway, this time we were playing Tigers in the Snow.

This Overlord scenario allows the Russians to build bruidges. Building bridges in the regular game is quite clear: you play a section card for a section, build the bridge and your turn is done. But in Overlord you get to play up to three cards, and you're allowed to play two cards in one section.

So, what are you allowed to do if you have a section where you can build bridges, and play a 1+1 (1 left, 1 right) and a "move 3 either left or right" in say, the center section?

So if you want to build the bridge on the right, which of the three following are valid?
a) Build a bridge on the right, move three on the left.
b) Build a bridge on the right, move one on the left and move three on the right.
c) Build a bridge on the right, move three on the right.
d) Build a bridge on the right, move 4 on the left.

Or is it not possible at all to play two cards in one section and build a bridge?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 05 July 2011 04:14
Hi, GoboGobo --

The Commander may give a Field General either one Tactic card, or one multi-section card (1+1, 2+2, or Pincer), or a maximum of 2 single-section cards. (If you're playing Air Rules, you can also give the FG a Sortie along with one section card of any type.) (In all cases, the CinC may play no more than three Command cards per turn.)

So it's not possible to give one FG an Attack card and a 1+1 at the same time.

It is permissible to take advantage of the boundaries between sections. Specifically, in Tigers, you can give the Russian Left an Attack-3 and another card, build a bridge at the boundary between the two Left sections, and start moving units over the bridge immediately. Or the Left and Center FGs can coordinate on the boundary between their sections, with one building a bridge and the other immediately moving units across it.
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 05 July 2011 19:17
Alright, I guess we do have to read the rules a bit more closely Very Happy

But it might be worth mentioning the timing of bridge building, i.e. you can build a bridge and use it in the same turn. That's not immediately clear from the rules for bridges (which were written for normal scenarios).
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1024
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 05 July 2011 21:01
GoboGobo wrote on Tue, 05 July 2011 18:17

But it might be worth mentioning the timing of bridge building, i.e. you can build a bridge and use it in the same turn. That's not immediately clear from the rules for bridges (which were written for normal scenarios).


I agree and this changes how I've played Tigers in the Snow.

[Updated on: Tue, 05 July 2011 21:01]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 06 July 2011 01:30
Since you build the bridge during the Order phase of your turn (instead of ordering 3 units), it happens before movement.

But even if it happened during the movement phase, your side can do its moves in any order. (A fact that can also be relevant with respect to strafing.)
      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 06 July 2011 08:12
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 06 July 2011 01:30

Since you build the bridge during the Order phase of your turn (instead of ordering 3 units), it happens before movement.


The card does not really say when it actually happens. To quote the pontoon bridges

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=terrain_33:

To build a pontoon bridge, play an Attack command card but order no units; instead, place a pontoon bridge on a river hex in the same Section as Attack card.


The "instead" could indeed mean that it's movement, but it's not clear to me.

itle=sam1812 wrote on Wed, 06 July 2011 01:30

But even if it happened during the movement phase, your side can do its moves in any order. (A fact that can also be relevant with respect to strafing.)


I just again learned something new about strafing...the rules can be simple, yet also very complex. When looking this up, I also learned that strafing allows you to skip a hex, I think I forgot about that Embarassed

[Updated on: Wed, 06 July 2011 08:14]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2936
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 10 July 2011 12:33
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=22851&start=0

What is the effect of wire on an ARTILLERY unit sharing a hex with wire?
Does the ARTILLERY fire out of the hex at -1 die?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 19 July 2011 01:33
What are the rules about retreating onto or off of a fordable river?

rborg wrote:

A unit can retreat onto a fordable river hex and retreat from a fordable river hex.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 08 October 2011 23:26
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 19 July 2011 03:33

What are the rules about retreating onto or off of a fordable river?

rborg wrote:

A unit can retreat onto a fordable river hex and retreat from a fordable river hex.



Is this a question and answer that needs to be in the FAQ? It's possible that I missed a conversation where someone was confused about this, but retreating is generally pretty straight forward; unless it's impassable, a unit can retreat onto the hex. In fact, units can even retreat into a mine field without it blowing up, and through Hedgerows without stopping.

Was there some confusion about this rule that I didn't see? Because now's the time to put new questions in the coming update...

[Updated on: Sat, 08 October 2011 23:32]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 08 October 2011 23:34
The fordable river question came up when I was preparing for WBC, which has a fordable river in one scenario.

The answer was not necessarily clear in advance. Ocean hexes are not impassable, but a unit can't retreat onto them. And units in rafts can't retreat, even if the river goes in a suitable direction.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sat, 08 October 2011 23:45
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 09 October 2011 01:34

The fordable river question came up when I was preparing for WBC, which has a fordable river in one scenario.

The answer was not necessarily clear in advance. Ocean hexes are not impassable, but a unit can't retreat onto them. And units in rafts can't retreat, even if the river goes in a suitable direction.


Good points! I have always assumed that units can retreat into a Fordable River, but your examples show that water is sometimes an exception to the normal retreating rules.

What would your question look like in an FAQ format? Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 09 October 2011 08:14
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 October 2011 17:45

What would your question look like in an FAQ format? Smile

No need to do anything special for it. The usual font and layout would be fine. You don't have to hide my initials in the artwork or anything. Smile

If you want to divide it into separate questions about retreating onto and off of a fordable river, that would be fine, too. (However, dividing a river in your current part of the world has been known to lead to the establishment of whole new religions, so be careful there.)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 09 October 2011 09:56
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 09 October 2011 10:14

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 October 2011 17:45

What would your question look like in an FAQ format? Smile

No need to do anything special for it. The usual font and layout would be fine. You don't have to hide my initials in the artwork or anything. Smile


Laughing Laughing Not quite what I had in mind... Very Happy

What I meant, was how would you word the question? Here's an example:

Q. Do Fordable Rivers or Streams affect the way a unit can retreat? I know that water systems sometimes behave differently, but can a unit retreat through a Ford?
A.

Would you suggest any changes to clarify your question? Rolling Eyes

Quote:

If you want to divide it into separate questions about retreating onto and off of a fordable river, that would be fine, too. (However, dividing a river in your current part of the world has been known to lead to the establishment of whole new religions, so be careful there.)


I really don't think we need any answer about retreating off of a fordable river, because I can't think of a time when the terrain you're on affects your retreating ability. Even when an Axis unit is in the Ocean of Omaha beach, if can still retreat back onto the beach...

I won't be trying to divide any rivers, since there aren't any in this region! Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 09 October 2011 14:56
Q. Can a unit retreat onto a Fordable River hex?
A. Yes.

Q. Can a unit on a Fordable River hex retreat off of it?
A. Yes.

The second question is necessary, because units in rafts normally can't retreat off a river hex.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Sun, 09 October 2011 15:05
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 09 October 2011 16:56

Q. Can a unit retreat onto a Fordable River hex?
A. Yes.

Q. Can a unit on a Fordable River hex retreat off of it?
A. Yes.

The second question is necessary, because units in rafts normally can't retreat off a river hex.


Fair enough; I'll make the proper inquiries and see if I can slip these into the FAQ Update before it's uploaded. Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 11 October 2011 07:40
All questions above this post have been included in the FAQ or FAQ Supplement.

Both Stevens and I have looked through the posts in this thread and we believe that all questions have been answered in the FAQ. If you discover that we missed something (which is entirely possible), please let us know!

Look for the release of the FAQ Supplement soon!! Cool

Have fun playing, and good luck in your battles. May the dice be with you...

[Updated on: Tue, 11 October 2011 07:41]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 11 October 2011 08:53
Thanks for doing this, Jesse and Stevens.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 11 October 2011 09:07
ad79 wrote on Tue, 11 October 2011 10:53

Thanks for doing this, Jesse and Stevens.


I think I speak for both of us when I say that it's our pleasure. Smile

The coming update would not have been possible without the help Stevens gave me; when I didn't have time to gather the questions this summer (because we were traveling) he pulled them all together for me and helped me revise/edit the document. Cool

Thanks to him for all his hard work and the time he spent on this most recent update. Very Happy
      
Grandviceroy
Member
Arnhem Victory

User Pages
Posts: 94
Registered:
June 2011
Re:Official FAQ Book Wed, 12 October 2011 21:29
Could there be an in-game link to this?

Many times when playing the game something comes up, usually in the scenario special rules, or where combinations of rules applies, that is not found IN game (by sliding the mouse over units, terrain or cards).

It would be helpful to be able to go somewhere while playing the game to check on something in the FAQ -- and in the special rules books (like those that come with and apply to the med, pacific, east front and other expansions of the board game).

PS: be nice also to have a 'take back' card rule -- sometimes a player may play a card inadvertently or play a card that can not be used (like the other night, a guy played an air strike in a night battle but as dawn had not broken the card was useless and wasted...be good to allow him to take it back - we solved it by having the other player play a card to take a non-lethal action, which was honorable and good sportsmanship conduct, but still, a take back before you actually clik on a unit to order it would be welcome and of value....

ps: nice job on the new faq
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 17 October 2011 13:52
Grandviceroy wrote on Wed, 12 October 2011 23:29

Could there be an in-game link to this?

Many times when playing the game something comes up, usually in the scenario special rules, or where combinations of rules applies, that is not found IN game (by sliding the mouse over units, terrain or cards).

It would be helpful to be able to go somewhere while playing the game to check on something in the FAQ -- and in the special rules books (like those that come with and apply to the med, pacific, east front and other expansions of the board game)


I agree that there should be something linked to the Online game, but I don't know that the FAQ would be the right document. It's so big that I think it would slow players way down to be looking up rules all the time. The FAQ was used to ensure that all the rules are applied correctly, so it's kind of in the game already...

I think maybe the Online game could have more information displayed in the system without linking the FAQ or Rule Books, but I agree that there needs to be more clarity for brand new players!

When I'm playing Memoir '44 Online, I sometimes have the matching rule books open as PDF files in the background so I can switch back and forth to check rules. You might be able to do the same thing with the FAQ! Smile

I'm glad you like the FAQ...there should be a little update coming soon, so keep your eyes out for it! Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 17 October 2011 15:31
The new FAQ Supplement is online and available for you to download! Check the FAQ Web Page and look at the very bottom of the list.

This thread has become so huge, and full of old questions, that I'm going to try replacing it with a new one that we can begin filling with more questions that come up...Thank you to everyone who helped contribute to the FAQ by asking questions, offering advice, editing, or providing encouragement! You're a great community to work with (and for)! Cool
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 954
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Mon, 17 October 2011 16:43
I appreciate this very much. Thanks Ras.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2176
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 18 October 2011 01:41
I agree! Jesse (and Richard, and Stevens), this is great. Thank you for the update!
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 217
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 18 October 2011 08:58
Thanks for all the work done on the excellent FAQ, it's an invaluable resource.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
March 2011
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 18 October 2011 15:09
Thank you too, great work. I have to print all fo this good stuffs.. Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 18 October 2011 18:48
Thank you for the kind words, everyone. I'm glad you find it useful because otherwise it would be a lot of wasted hours!! Very Happy

As you may have noticed, this huge thread has been 'cut loose' from the Sticky area and will slide down the forum. It has been a good thread, but it was old and I decided that with the introduction of the FAQ Supplement it was time to start fresh. Franck was kind enough to modify the threads and we now have a new FAQ sticky thread, ready to be filled with your questions!

As usual, try to keep the new thread for questions you really think need to be in the FAQ so that it doesn't become cluttered. Thanks again for your comments and good luck in all your battles! Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2005
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Book Tue, 08 May 2012 23:38
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 04 July 2011 22:14

Hi, GoboGobo --

The Commander may give a Field General either one Tactic card, or one multi-section card (1+1, 2+2, or Pincer), or a maximum of 2 single-section cards. (If you're playing Air Rules, you can also give the FG a Sortie along with one section card of any type.) (In all cases, the CinC may play no more than three Command cards per turn.)

So it's not possible to give one FG an Attack card and a 1+1 at the same time.

It is permissible to take advantage of the boundaries between sections. Specifically, in Tigers, you can give the Russian Left an Attack-3 and another card, build a bridge at the boundary between the two Left sections, and start moving units over the bridge immediately. Or the Left and Center FGs can coordinate on the boundary between their sections, with one building a bridge and the other immediately moving units across it.


I would assume that a FG given too attack cards could build 2 pontoon bridges - one per sector under his command.

[Updated on: Tue, 08 May 2012 23:39]

      
Pages (8): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8 ]     
Previous Topic:Bridge questions
Next Topic:Overlord - Constructing a Pontoon and crossing it in the same turn
Goto Forum: