Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 October 2011 15:25
The Official Memoir '44 FAQ book and the FAQ Supplement are available for players who may need extra clarification with the rules of Memoir '44. You can find them under the "Advanced Play" section of the Memoir page at www.memoir44.com.

The FAQ is a 52 page booklet that can be downloaded two different ways: as a single huge pdf file or as 10 independent pdf files. Either format can be easily printed, punched and placed in a binder for further reference. Alternately, if you choose to download the huge file, you can use the Search function of Adobe Reader to quickly look up questions. The FAQ Supplement is an 11 page document with the most recent questions and answers; eventually the Supplement will be folded into the FAQ but until then you'll need both files.

These booklets provide the official answers to the most frequently asked questions we have seen on the Memoir '44 forum so far. I have carefully compiled each entry and all of the questions were reviewed by Richard for accuracy.

As new expansions and further questions come up, Days of Wonder, Richard, and I will do our best to update the FAQ Supplement in a timely manner. You can always check to make sure you have the latest version of the book by looking at the bottom left corner of any page.

This thread should be used as the place to post new questions that haven't been addressed yet. But please thoroughly search the FAQ Booklet, the FAQ Supplement and the Official Card Compendium online before asking anything, so as not to clutter this thread with questions that have already been covered.

Enjoy!

[Updated on: Thu, 06 June 2013 23:41] by Moderator

      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 997
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 October 2011 16:42
Thank you very much Mr. Ras.
I find the FAQ very useful and I use it a lot.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 October 2011 16:42]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 October 2011 17:45
Whooopeeee!!

Thanks Ras
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 October 2011 21:43
Thanks Jesse, an impressive piece of work!

I see that the text for Breakthrough to the Beach (p10) is greyed out but can still be read. I guess this is a formatting error?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 01:47
The new edition immediately zoomed to the top of my reading list. A must-read! I couldn't put it down!

I have a question about one of the answers.

Regarding the Manado Landings question, it says, "If the [paradrop] was unsuccessful, the Battle Star remains, and the unsuccessful figure is removed from the board to try again later."

If the first attempt at a drop is unsuccessful, are you permitted to use another order to try that target again on the same turn? If so, then does an Infantry Assault or Assault section card give you unlimited tries until one succeeds? (The "Zombie Paratroop Army" effect.)

[Updated on: Tue, 18 October 2011 01:47]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 02:57
Quote:

If the first attempt at a drop is unsuccessful, are you permitted to use another order to try that target again on the same turn?


Sam, I would think that the order is applied to the star and it's representative infantry unit. Once that star has failed in it's attempt it has used up that order for that unit. So, I would think you would need to move onto another star. A good question though.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 04:08
Achtung Panzer wrote on Mon, 17 October 2011 23:43

Thanks Jesse, an impressive piece of work!

I see that the text for Breakthrough to the Beach (p10) is greyed out but can still be read. I guess this is a formatting error?



I looked at my original document and downloaded the file from DoW...and neither of them have greyed-out text for Breakthrough to the Beach! Confused I don't know why that would be happening, but you might try downloading it again. Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 04:11
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 18 October 2011 03:47

The new edition immediately zoomed to the top of my reading list. A must-read! I couldn't put it down!

I have a question about one of the answers.

Regarding the Manado Landings question, it says, "If the [paradrop] was unsuccessful, the Battle Star remains, and the unsuccessful figure is removed from the board to try again later."

If the first attempt at a drop is unsuccessful, are you permitted to use another order to try that target again on the same turn? If so, then does an Infantry Assault or Assault section card give you unlimited tries until one succeeds? (The "Zombie Paratroop Army" effect.)


No, I believe that you only get to try a paradrop once per turn on each Star. I guess I should change the wording to say, "If the [paradrop] was unsuccessful, the Battle Star remains, and the unsuccessful figure is removed from the board to try again another turn."

I'll check this to make sure, but you're never allowed to order things more than once in a turn...including paradrops! Cool
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 05:24
I suspect that once per turn is the logical answer. Otherwise, how would they know how many troops to load into the plane? Smile
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1074
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 18 October 2011 11:16
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 18 October 2011 03:08

Achtung Panzer wrote on Mon, 17 October 2011 23:43

Thanks Jesse, an impressive piece of work!

I see that the text for Breakthrough to the Beach (p10) is greyed out but can still be read. I guess this is a formatting error?



I looked at my original document and downloaded the file from DoW...and neither of them have greyed-out text for Breakthrough to the Beach! Confused I don't know why that would be happening, but you might try downloading it again. Razz


Not to worry, the hard copy printed fine.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 22 October 2011 16:43
Unanswerred question that should be addressed by DOW regarding the play of TFH & AMBUSH:


Q. If I play THEIR FINEST HOUR and during my turn my opponent plays AMBUSH, does he draw first from the Command Card pile before the cards are reshuffled or after they are reshuffled?

A. Your opponent draws from the command card pile .......


Sam states:
Be sure he knows the question is in the context of the difference in wording between the standard and Overlord decks.

[Updated on: Sat, 22 October 2011 21:16]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 22 October 2011 17:34
Q. Can an Armor unit on an open terrain hex that has Close Assaulted an enemy unit on a STEEP HILL take ground and armor overun if that enemy unit is eliminated or retreats (even though movement up a STEEP HILL is a two-hex move)?

A. ????????????


[Updated on: Sat, 22 October 2011 21:16]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 22 October 2011 19:25
I believe this question has been answered before, that units can take ground normally going up a steep hill or onto other 2-hex-move spaces.

The one footnote is that if the scenario's special rules don't permit tanks to move up a steep hill (as in Omaha), then they can't take ground there, either.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 22 October 2011 23:34
Quote:

I believe this question has been answered before, that units can take ground normally going up a steep hill or onto other 2-hex-move spaces.


Sam I found these links:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=71995#msg_71995


http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compen dium/?id=terrain_13

I think it might be a helpful FAQ question as the answer isn't necessarily intuitive based on other movement during MOVEMENT phase vs. movement during the BATTLE phase questions.

EDIT:
Played the Memoir '44 Online battle of "Counterattack on Mortain"
I attacked an Infantry Unit on a STEEP HILL and when it retreated, the bot allowed me to Take Ground and Overrun UP the STEEP HILL. So, as far as the game programming goes, this taking ground up a (2 hex movement) hill is permitted.


[Updated on: Mon, 24 October 2011 04:08]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 24 October 2011 00:58
Here is one I found on another thread:

If I have armored train with artillery on its wagon, but there is a tank unit adjacent to my locomotive, can I fire to other distant units, or have to make my close assault (although the artillery is not adjacent to enemy)?

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 26 October 2011 13:35
Follow this link:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23709&start=0

Quote:

I agree that the intent of Infiltrators is to allow an extra unit to act as BEL but as I was playing solo it didn't annoy the other player!


I love it. Laughing Laughing

I appreciate your gamesmanship and of course it is always important to have fun, however, when we are attempting to educate new players to the rules, we need to let them know up front, the difference between an official rule and a house rule.

Quote:

Combat cards are usually played in conjunction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions.


http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op3_rules_en .pdf

Note the use of the word ENHANCE.

When you use a BEL card, you are giving one of your Infantry Units a specific yet singular order.

When you use an INFILTRATORS Combat Card along with a Command Card, you are giving one of your ordered units the ability to enhance his order by applying the BEL guidelines to it. Nevertheless, the unit still has only one order.

I believe that if you play the two cards together all you get is a unit with two similar orders. The unit may only be ORDERED once and so it follows the singular order of either the BEL card or the INFILTRATORS card, but does not get to enact TWO separate orders.

I think you raise a good question, as this was not in any way discussed in the rules as they were presented. Let's see what DOW says. I am attaching this link to the FAQ link. Who knows, I could be totally wrong about this. I have been wrong before.
Embarassed

[Updated on: Wed, 26 October 2011 14:09]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 27 October 2011 15:32
Here's a question about Infantry Assault:


rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 27 October 2011 09:07

stevens wrote on Wed, 26 October 2011 21:26

This is an interesting situation. Because the INFANTRY moved onto a BEACH hex, it is limited to two hexes of movement this turn. It does not violate this limitation as he is only moving two hexes. However, because the second hex consumes 2 points of movement, Kelly's Hero has it correctly. You may make the movement, but you may not battle.
Had the units started at the base of the BLUFF instead, they wouldn't have had to cross a BEACH hex and they could have used the 2 movement points to get up the BLUFF and battled from the top.


I don't think this is right... Rolling Eyes Sorry to be a party pooper! Razz

The Beach limits all movement to 2 hexes, and the Bluff counts as a 2-hex move. So if your Infantry Unit has to enter a hex of Beach, they would be prevented from moving onto the Bluff because they used one of their 2 available hexes of movement on the sand and only have one left to use (but the Bluff counts as two hexes, so can't be climbed this turn).

You can check this by playing Omaha Beach or Pointe-Du-Hoc Online. Smile


This isn't in the FAQ somewhere, already, is it? I'll have to look around for it a bit more, because it seems like it might be somewhere... Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 29 October 2011 17:03
Is it clear to folks, that if there is an apparent contradiction between the rules in the older FAQ and the current FAQ SUPPLEMENT that the supplement is an update to those rules and takes precedence?

Just a thought.

I know that questions related to Roadblocks & Engineers and also the use of Air Sortie cards in Breakthrough Scenarios have different answers.

[Updated on: Sat, 29 October 2011 19:44]

      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 03 November 2011 18:15
Thank you for your hard work, it makes playing more fun Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 03 November 2011 20:05
GoboGobo wrote on Thu, 03 November 2011 13:15

Thank you for your hard work, it makes playing more fun Smile


I agree. Knowing the rules and intricacies of battle make it more fun and also are a great aid to determining strategy as you know both the limits and benefits of your resources and those of your opponents.

[Updated on: Fri, 04 November 2011 02:41]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 04 November 2011 21:48
Q.Does a sandbag on a hill protect the unit from a unit firing from another hill.

A. Yes, since the attacking unit is firing from the same level the sandbags provide -1 dice as well as permit the defending unit to ignore one flag (basically the same effect as if the units were both on level open terrain).

I hope this is the correct answer. Laughing
It seems to make sense, and I had not seen this question before. Got it from Comments on the Terrain card index.

It jibes with the FAQ p. 9
Quote:

When a unit does not benefit from any protection for its terrain, the sandbags reduce the number of
Battle dice rolled by 1 when attacked by Infantry or Armor.

[Updated on: Sat, 05 November 2011 16:53]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 04 November 2011 22:09
If not from the same hill i.e. two or more hills together, then modifiers do not stack! If from same hill (or adjacent hills) then you would not get the hill terrain protection, then you would get the modifier from the sandbags.

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 01:39
50th wrote on Fri, 04 November 2011 17:09

If not from the same hill i.e. two or more hills together, then modifiers do not stack! If from same hill (or adjacent hills) then you would not get the hill terrain protection, then you would get the modifier from the sandbags.




I am not sure what you are stating here. I think you are confusing defensive benefits with rules about LOS. Sorry if I am misinterpreting what you are saying here, but I just wished to make things clearer.

As per the FAQ:

Q. Is there a die reduction when a unit is attacking from one hill hex to another hill hex?
A. No. There is only a reduction for attacking from a lower elevation.

So a unit firing from a hill hex to ANY other hill hex would not be -1 for doing so unless the target unit was behind sandbags.

The "same hill" you are posting about is for LOS and is covered by this FAQ entry:

"The plateau explanation in the rules is there because hills are the only type of terrain, besides ergs & ridges, that doesnʼt block line of sight when they are in a contiguous group."

[Updated on: Sat, 05 November 2011 01:40]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 12:38
I use this forum heading as a deposit area for questions that might be considered in future FAQ updates. What I was trying to do by entering this particular question was not to seek an answer (because I think the FAQ in a sense already provides one) but to provide a question for the FAQ that was in a context that had not been presented or thought of before.

I believe the current FAQ is adequate to answer this question. However, in the end I am not the person who makes this decision. I am simply doing what I have been doing over the past year; collecting questions that appear in different areas of the forums and consolidating them in one location so that the decision makers will only have to look in one place to arrive at fututre updates.

Thanks for trying to clarify my entry. I think what is different about this particular question is that it is evaluating battles from hills that are not connected/adjacent with the sandbag defense capability.

[Updated on: Sat, 05 November 2011 13:52]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 14:50
Ok, let me try this again. If the hills are adjacent i.e. a line of hills, then you would get the sandbag protection. This is because if you are on the same line of hills you don't get the hill protection. If you are on separate hills, you would not get the sandbag protection because terrain dice reductions do not stack. That is, you can't get the -1 for the hill and
-1 for the sandbag! I hope that makes more sense.

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 17:32
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=231645#msg_231645

Late War Mortar question.

Q. Does a Late War Mortar never need LOS, or does it only need LOS if it moves to battle?

[Updated on: Sat, 05 November 2011 19:05]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 20:39
No, late war mortars never need LOS. See page Winter Wars rulebook page 9. The LOS is not dependent on its being stationary. When it moves, it loses the ability to fire at a target at four hexes away and rolls like standard infantry (as per page 9).

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 05 November 2011 23:47
50th wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 09:50

Ok, let me try this again. If the hills are adjacent i.e. a line of hills, then you would get the sandbag protection. This is because if you are on the same line of hills you don't get the hill protection. If you are on separate hills, you would not get the sandbag protection because terrain dice reductions do not stack. That is, you can't get the -1 for the hill and
-1 for the sandbag! I hope that makes more sense.




But the -1 modifier for hills does not apply when firing from a separate hill to another hill. In other words the -1 for the hill is only applied when a unit fires from below.

[Updated on: Sat, 05 November 2011 23:48]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1389
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 November 2011 14:14
tank commander wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 17:47

50th wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 09:50

Ok, let me try this again. If the hills are adjacent i.e. a line of hills, then you would get the sandbag protection. This is because if you are on the same line of hills you don't get the hill protection. If you are on separate hills, you would not get the sandbag protection because terrain dice reductions do not stack. That is, you can't get the -1 for the hill and
-1 for the sandbag! I hope that makes more sense.




But the -1 modifier for hills does not apply when firing from a separate hill to another hill. In other words the -1 for the hill is only applied when a unit fires from below.


You know what? you are right! My bad! Now I know what Stevens what trying to tell me, but I was having a senior moment. Sorry folks!

      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 06 November 2011 17:45
stevens wrote on Fri, 04 November 2011 21:48

Q.Does a sandbag on a hill protect the unit from a unit firing from another hill.

A. Yes, since the attacking unit is firing from the same level the sandbags provide -1 dice as well as permit the defending unit to ignore one flag (basically the same effect as if the units were both on level open terrain).

I hope this is the correct answer. Laughing
It seems to make sense, and I had not seen this question before. Got it from Comments on the Terrain card index.

It jibes with the FAQ p. 9
Quote:

When a unit does not benefit from any protection for its terrain, the sandbags reduce the number of
Battle dice rolled by 1 when attacked by Infantry or Armor.



I wouldn't know why the current rules and FAQ are not clear on this matter. Modifiers do not stack, so a unit on a hill with a sandbag will always have a -1 modifier for attacks, regardless where the unit is attacking from.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 09 November 2011 22:05
50th wrote on Sun, 06 November 2011 08:14

tank commander wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 17:47

50th wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 09:50

Ok, let me try this again. If the hills are adjacent i.e. a line of hills, then you would get the sandbag protection. This is because if you are on the same line of hills you don't get the hill protection. If you are on separate hills, you would not get the sandbag protection because terrain dice reductions do not stack. That is, you can't get the -1 for the hill and
-1 for the sandbag! I hope that makes more sense.




But the -1 modifier for hills does not apply when firing from a separate hill to another hill. In other words the -1 for the hill is only applied when a unit fires from below.


You know what? you are right! My bad! Now I know what Stevens what trying to tell me, but I was having a senior moment. Sorry folks!





No worries sir. We have all been there.
      
Kelly's Hero
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 303
Registered:
April 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 09 November 2011 22:43
50th wrote on Sat, 05 November 2011 13:39

No, late war mortars never need LOS. See page Winter Wars rulebook page 9. The LOS is not dependent on its being stationary.




Actually 50th, it turns out that just the opposite is true. If a mortar unit moves, it needs LOS.

See http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23788&prevloaded= 1&rev=&reveal=&start=40&count=40

Antoine wrote on Wed, 09 November 2011 08:27

ad79 écrit le Sat, 05 November 2011 16:16

Simple question I didn't find a clarification for in the Faq(Excellent work, by the way, Jesse and Stevens)

Does the fourth bullet point on the card (Ignore line of sight) applies
1. At all times
or
2. Only when the unit does not move?

Answer is 2. Only when the unit does not move.

When you order your mortar unit to battle, it can
- either stay where it is and use the mortar (as I said on the French forum, imagine that your men are deploying the mortar on the battlefield). In this case, range increases to 4 hexes (3,2,1,1) and the unit ignores LoS and battle terrain restrictions.
- or move 1 hex and battle like an infantry unit - ie exaclty like an infantry unit (your men do not use their mortar, they use their rifles). In this case, LoS is required (battle restrictions still apply and range does not increase).

Sorry if the card was not clear enough.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 10 November 2011 15:11
Artillery Removing Wire:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=232126#msg_232126
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 14 November 2011 11:04
Question about an Artillery Unit being Ambushed during Artillery Bombard:

Q: Let's say I play Artillery Bombard and attack an adjacent unit for my first attack. My opponent plays Ambush and forces my Artillery to retreat, meaning that I lose my first attack. Do I still get my second attack with that unit or does the Retreat cancel both attacks?
A:

Here's the thread where we talked about it: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23835&start=0
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 02 December 2011 02:51
This was from a February 2011 thread http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=208270#msg_208270 , intended for inclusion in the FAQ, but doesn't seem to have made it. One of the questions just came up in a game tonight.

[Edit 12/2: Deleted a question about road hexes that already has been answered in the FAQ.]

Antoine wrote on Tue, 15 February 2011 05:19

Hi officers,

Here are our answers to your questions...

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

2a. If you play Infiltrators(Winter Combat Deck) or BEL, then use the Heat of Battle to get an extra attack, do the additional die from Infiltrators/BEL carry over?

Yes.

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

2b. Can you take ground after the Heat of Battle attack?

Yes, depending on terrain (ie apply normal Armor Overrun rules - you cannot move further if you entered a terrain that prevents you from doing that)

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

2c. If 2a is Yes, can you then play several Heat of Battles in succesion?

You mean if 2b is yes? Yes, provided you're able to take ground.

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

2d. Can you play Heat of Battle after an Armor Overrun attack to get a 3rd attack in?

No, this card may only be used with Infantry units.


[Updated on: Fri, 02 December 2011 12:48]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 02 December 2011 03:52
[quote title=sam1812 wrote on Thu, 01 December 2011 20:51]This was from a February 2011 thread http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=208270#msg_208270 , intended for inclusion in the FAQ, but doesn't seem to have made it. One of the questions just came up in a game tonight.

Antoine wrote on Tue, 15 February 2011 05:19

Hi officers,

Here are our answers to your questions...

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

1. If you are coming down the upper left road in this example, do you have to go all the way down to the y-intersection before going up the right road, or can you take the shortcut between the red roadhexes?(since they are adjacent)

..\ .... . /
....\... /
..... y
.. ../
(dots used to get t he illustration to line up properly)

I suppose that the real question is "Do I get the extra hex if I take the shortcut" and not "Am I allowed to take the shortcut". As you all know, a unit may always move from one road hex to another, even if it's not the same road. I just want to make it clear so that newcomers are not confused with this question.

However, a unit that moves from one road hex to another may NOT move 1 additional hex if these road hexes are not connected. They do not "move along" the road, they jump from one road to another, losing the extra move.


Sam this was answerred in the FAQ Supplement on P.4
Q. If road hex tiles are adjacent on the board, although the road images themselves are not visually connected, will I still get
the Road bonus of one extra hex since I'm on Road hexes the entire turn?
A. No, you will not receive the road movement bonus of moving one additional hex unless the unit moves directly along the
connected road images.


      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 02 December 2011 04:53
Sorry, I should have spliced out the part relating to roads.

The questions about Heat of Battle weren't answered.
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 242
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 06 December 2011 12:22
sam1812 wrote on Fri, 02 December 2011 02:51

Antoine wrote on Tue, 15 February 2011 05:19

ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 February 2011 07:33

2d. Can you play Heat of Battle after an Armor Overrun attack to get a 3rd attack in?

No, this card may only be used with Infantry units.





Cavalry is infantry but can do Overrun attacks. So could they do a 3rd attack?
      
Panzer9000
Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 80
Registered:
September 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 05:24
A question

Does an artillery with a big gun badge on a mountain get fire at 3,3,2,2,1,1,1,1,1?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 06:06
Panzer9000 wrote on Thu, 15 December 2011 08:24

A question

Does an artillery with a big gun badge on a mountain get fire at 3,3,2,2,1,1,1,1,1?



Good question. I don't have the rules or FAQ in front of me to check at all, so before this becomes a discussion I'm going to post your question as a new thread. Then we can talk through this great question without making this FAQ thread too big...once we figure it out one of us can post the answer back in this thread to be included in the FAQ. Smile
      
Pages (9): [1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Next Topic:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Goto Forum: