Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Campigns book volume 1
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Campigns book volume 1 Fri, 25 November 2011 20:21
I finally got around to purchasing campaigns book volume 1, it looks great! i cont wait to try it out with the boys.

Volume 2 is already on pre-order! Wink
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Fri, 25 November 2011 22:58
Brycie35 wrote on Fri, 25 November 2011 23:21

I finally got around to purchasing campaigns book volume 1, it looks great! i cont wait to try it out with the boys.

Volume 2 is already on pre-order! Wink


Have fun with the Campaign System!! I think it's a great way to play through the game because things are so much more linked...and your victories or losses actually mean something for the next battle. It's great! Cool
      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Sat, 26 November 2011 05:40
I sure will, cant wait, thanks.

I have a rule question?

For your reserve roll, if you were to role say an Armor and Inf with your 2 rolls can you choose...

1 inf unit & 1 Armor unit for the cost of a reserve token?

Or

Either 1 inf, or 1 Armor unit for a reserve token?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Sat, 26 November 2011 06:35
Brycie35 wrote on Sat, 26 November 2011 08:40


For your reserve roll, if you were to role say an Armor and Inf with your 2 rolls can you choose...

1 inf unit & 1 Armor unit for the cost of a reserve token?

Or

Either 1 inf, or 1 Armor unit for a reserve token?


If I remember the rules correctly, you could use up two of your Reserve Tokens and select 1 Infantry & 1 Armor unit. You don't get them for 1 Token, like your question says...but I believe you have the choice of adding two reserve units!

Have fun!! And if I got this wrong, someone please let us know... Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Sat, 26 November 2011 15:48
Quote:

I have a rule question?

For your reserve roll, if you were to role say an Armor and Inf with your 2 rolls can you choose...

1 inf unit & 1 Armor unit for the cost of a reserve token?

Or

Either 1 inf, or 1 Armor unit for a reserve token?


Actually, neither choice is correct. In general, It will cost you one reserve token for EACH reserve roll you choose to use. In your case, you MAY choose to take both an Infantry and an Armor unit since you rolled a die for each one. You may also choose to take just an Infantry Unit or just an Armor Unit. If you do so, you pay ONE Reserve Token for EACH unit. However, you are not REQUIRED to do so. In fact, you may choose to take no units at this time and save your tokens for a crucial period later.

There are some campaigns where certain dice rolls during the RESERVE ROLL will actually give you a unit at the cost of zero reserve tokens. But these rules are specific, so be certain to read up on ALL the rules.

Check out this great player aid created by Rasmussen:
http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_cb1_rolls_re ference_en.pdf

You can find other great Campaign Book V.1 aids here under the heading CAMPAIGN BOOK VOLUME 1:
http://cdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_cb1_rolls_re ference_en.pdf

[Updated on: Sat, 26 November 2011 16:44]

      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Sun, 27 November 2011 02:08
Ok, thanks Stevens i think that makes sense to me now. Thanks for the PDF links.

So, each game you get 2 reserve rolls. You then can choose to spend a reserve token per unit pending your dice results... if you wish.

Does a player still get 2 rolls even he does not have any reserve tokens left? (in the hope that he rolls no token cost result)

Thanks again for the feed back guys
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Sun, 27 November 2011 03:24
Brycie35 wrote on Sat, 26 November 2011 20:08



Does a player still get 2 rolls even he does not have any reserve tokens left? (in the hope that he rolls no token cost result)


YES!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 29 November 2011 12:17
Brycie35 wrote on Fri, 25 November 2011 23:40

I sure will, cant wait, thanks.

I have a rule question?

For your reserve roll, if you were to role say an Armor and Inf with your 2 rolls can you choose...

1 inf unit & 1 Armor unit for the cost of a reserve token?

Or

Either 1 inf, or 1 Armor unit for a reserve token?



You also have another option - that of placing either / both units in your Reseve Area.

Placing them there has a few advantages - they cannot be targeted (of course they cannot fire either), they can come in anywhere on your baseline with the proper order and they do not cost you an RT unless you order the unit onto the board OR lose the battle.

      
player683929
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2010
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Thu, 01 December 2011 17:57
It seems like you just bought vol. 1 recently but they seem to be sold out everywhere I look. Can I go straight to vol. 2 and still figure out the rules? Are the rules in PDF format anywhere if they don't reprint Vol. 1? Any advice would be great I'm trying to get the boys set up before Christmas. Thanks

[Updated on: Sat, 03 December 2011 03:33]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 06 December 2011 02:21
Brycie35 wrote on Sat, 26 November 2011 20:08

Ok, thanks Stevens i think that makes sense to me now. Thanks for the PDF links.

So, each game you get 2 reserve rolls. You then can choose to spend a reserve token per unit pending your dice results... if you wish.

Does a player still get 2 rolls even he does not have any reserve tokens left? (in the hope that he rolls no token cost result)

Thanks again for the feed back guys



Sometimes a player will only get 1 Reserve Roll or get 3 Reserve
Rolls and be allowed to keep any two. These conditions may apply depending on the results of the last scenario played.
      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 06 December 2011 08:25
I got mine on email via Italy as it was out of print at DOW.

Hope that helps?

Smile
      
player683929
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2010
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 06 December 2011 15:53
Brycie35 wrote on Tue, 06 December 2011 02:25

I got mine on email via Italy as it was out of print at DOW.

Hope that helps?

Smile


Thanks. Did you buy it from a place that might have some more or was it a one time deal? Thanks
      
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 326
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 06 December 2011 20:02
maybe here?

http://www.brookhursthobbies.com/Product-Listing.cfm?C=& D=&R=1&Search=memoir&N=10&S=&M=&Cat=
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 903
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Tue, 06 December 2011 22:17
Have you checked boardgamegeek.com market place. I see several listed there as well as one expensive Ebay auction:

http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/39861/memoir-44-campaign- book-volume-1

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Wed, 07 December 2011 01:21
player683929 wrote on Thu, 01 December 2011 08:57

It seems like you just bought vol. 1 recently but they seem to be sold out everywhere I look. Can I go straight to vol. 2 and still figure out the rules? Are the rules in PDF format anywhere if they don't reprint Vol. 1? Any advice would be great I'm trying to get the boys set up before Christmas. Thanks


Yes, you can go straight to volume 2, which contains the entire rules and the information required to figure how to play the campaigns out. Volume 1 is NOT required.

eric
      
Sheridan
Member
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 95
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Wed, 07 December 2011 17:18
I played CB1 for the first time last week. It is a great addition to the Memoir portfolio. It got me back to playing the smaller board as a lot of the time i like using the Breakthrough maps. CB1 and it's rules have added another strategic element to the game and added even more play-ability. I'm looking forward to CB2 as i understand there are Breakthrough map size campaigns.
      
tinsoldier
Senior Member
FFM44 Member

User Pages
Posts: 498
Registered:
December 2010
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Wed, 07 December 2011 17:30
Look here for Campaign Book Vol 1 for sale:

http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/39861/memoir-44-campaign- book-volume-1

Look at BGG Marketplace, just after Description.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Wed, 07 December 2011 18:33
Sheridan wrote on Wed, 07 December 2011 20:18

I played CB1 for the first time last week. It is a great addition to the Memoir portfolio. It got me back to playing the smaller board as a lot of the time i like using the Breakthrough maps. CB1 and it's rules have added another strategic element to the game and added even more play-ability. I'm looking forward to CB2 as i understand there are Breakthrough map size campaigns.


There is indeed one Breakthrough Campaign and if you're enjoying that format, you'll love the Campaign!! Smile

This promises to be an interesting book to play your way through, so be sure to pick a copy up if you like the Campaign System. Cool
      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Wed, 07 December 2011 20:20
looks like we are having a Memoir 44 gaming day on the 14th of Jan with my mates. I am planning to run one of the Campaigns from the book for the first time.

I am hopeful that my copy of the Campaign book Volume 2 arrive before then.

I see there is a Polish Campaign forthcoming. There is something about starting the Campaign books with the first campaign of WW2 which greatly appeals to me! Wink
      
player683929
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 3
Registered:
December 2010
Re:Campigns book volume 1 Thu, 08 December 2011 04:58
Thanks for the info on book 2 I'll start with that and wait for vol. 1 to show up some time. I thought I found it and the Air Pack at one of the sites you guys suggested but after placing the order they called and didn't have them. I did get the overlord pack to that was a good thing. Thanks so much. Eric
      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re: Heavy tank Track? Fri, 09 December 2011 20:16
When the Germans have the Heavy tank track, do they report Every French tank unit destroyed (as the book says), or just the 4-figure French tank units destroyed.

Seems a bit confusing with the name 'Heavy' tank track?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re: Heavy tank Track? Sat, 10 December 2011 01:54
Brycie35 wrote on Fri, 09 December 2011 14:16

When the Germans have the Heavy tank track, do they report Every French tank unit destroyed (as the book says), or just the 4-figure French tank units destroyed.

Seems a bit confusing with the name 'Heavy' tank track?


I am quite sure you just count the destroyed 4 fig elite tank units.
      
Brycie35
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 387
Registered:
October 2005
Re: Heavy tank Track? Sat, 10 December 2011 04:39
I thought the same too, and i guess that is what the rule was intended for.

On page 46 of the campaign book 1 however it reads..."When playing a campaign with a Heavy Tank Track, report every Allied armor unit destroyed in the track"

That explanation seems to indicates that its any tank?
      
Lujo
Senior Member
Oberst

User Pages
Posts: 121
Registered:
December 2005
Re: Heavy tank Track? Sat, 10 December 2011 09:31
Sorry Bryce & guys for interrupting the discussion, but...

BREAKTHROUGH CAMPAIGN!!??!! Surprised Surprised Surprised

YES!!!!!! Surprised Surprised Surprised

Ahem... please do go on.



Very Happy

[Updated on: Sat, 10 December 2011 09:32]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re: Heavy tank Track? Sat, 10 December 2011 14:32
tank commander wrote on Fri, 09 December 2011 19:54

Brycie35 wrote on Fri, 09 December 2011 14:16

When the Germans have the Heavy tank track, do they report Every French tank unit destroyed (as the book says), or just the 4-figure French tank units destroyed.

Seems a bit confusing with the name 'Heavy' tank track?


I am quite sure you just count the destroyed 4 fig elite tank units.



The Tally sheet limits the kills to a maximum of 4 and there are only 5 TOTAL Heavy (4 figure) tanks in all the scenarios listed for that Campaign. So it could be reasoned that this is what the rule means from that.
      
    
Previous Topic:Colonel Sherman Potter dies
Next Topic:Open Ground Air Check
Goto Forum: