Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Temporary Medals
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Panzer20
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 17
Registered:
January 2006
Temporary Medals Sat, 21 January 2012 00:15
Sorry if this is a repeat question, as I'm sure it has to have been asked before.....but, if a player gets a temporary medal that would end the game, does the game end immediatly, or does the opponent get a chance to try and destroy the unit occupting the temporary medal space first, i.e. must the player have the medal at the beginning of his turn to "own it"?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Temporary Medals Sat, 21 January 2012 00:37
The game ends the moment victory conditions are met.
So if a temporary medal objective gives you the last medal you need, the scenario ends.

Some objectives are turn start objectives, but it will say so in the special rules.

With all the expansions now there are lots of different ways to gain objectives. Most are explained in the Winter Wars rulebook on page 4.

http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_ww_rules_en. pdf

Text quoted below.

II. New Rules
Victory Conditions
The following terms are used to describe new and some
common Memoir '44 Victory conditions:
Temporary Medal Objective
The Victory Medal in this objective hex is held and
captured only as long as a unit of the appropriate side
holds the hex. If the unit vacates the hex for any reason
(movement, retreat or elimination), the medal is
immediately lost and placed back in play in its original
position on the objective hex.

Temporary Majority Medal Objective
The Victory Medal for this group of objective hexes goes
to the side that has units in an absolute majority of these
hexes. The medal is held as long as the side retains
absolute majority. The medal is immediately lost and
placed back in play when a side no longer has absolute
majority.

Temporary Majority Medal Objective (Turn Start)
The Victory Medal for this group of objective hexes goes
to the side that has units in an absolute majority of these
hexes at the start of its turn. The medal is held through
the turn as long as the side has absolute majority at the
start of a turn. The medal is lost and placed back in play
when a side no longer has absolute majority at the start
of a turn.

Permanent Medal Objective
The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and
permanently gained the moment a unit of the appropriate
side enters this hex. The medal is not returned or put back
in play, even if the unit later vacates this hex.

Permanent Medal Objective (Turn Start)

The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and
permanently gained when the appropriate side occupies
the hex at the start of its turn. The medal is not returned
or put back in play, even if the unit later vacates this hex.

Last to Occupy Medal Objective
The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and
gained the moment a unit from either side occupies this
hex. The unit may vacate the hex, but the Victory Medal
is still held as long as an enemy unit does not occupy
the objective hex.

Sole Control Medal Objective
The Victory Medal for this group of objective hexes goes
to the appropriate side when it has at least one unit that
occupies any of these objective hexes and the enemy
does not occupy any of these hexes. The Victory Medal
is held as long as a unit of the appropriate side occupies
one of these hexes and the enemy does not occupy any
of these hexes.

Sudden Death Objective
As soon as the designated side fulfills the Sudden Death
conditions set forth, it immediately ends and wins the
game.

[Updated on: Sat, 21 January 2012 00:38]

      
    
Previous Topic:CB#2 Question
Next Topic:Lisyanka Scenario - Crossing Frozen River (Need Answer Please ASAP!)
Goto Forum: