Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Campaign Book #2 Errata
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 23 December 2011 18:25
I hate to start this off, but somebody needs to so we can assist in helping with corrections at a later date. Probably will need to become a STICKY, at least for awhile.

Visual Graphic Error
P. 94 CUT OF THE COTENTIN
Image of special unit badge shows the (101st Div.) Screaming Eagle. Actual unit and unit badge on the scenario is (82nd Airborne) Double "A" All-American.

[Updated on: Fri, 18 July 2014 16:18] by Moderator

      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 946
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 23 December 2011 18:53
I did find quite some mistakes or things which were a bit unclear. Let me begin...

Pg. 33-35: I guess the name of the operation is Catchpole and not Flintlock (that was at Roi-Namur) - it is important, as at the beginning of the Grand Campaign it tells you to allocate reserves between the two operations.

Pg. 41: Wrong small scenario maps. Pictures for Hill 112 and Securing the Flank are there.

Pg. 83: Battle of Kock, Special Rules: "Nations 27 - Polish Dragoons"... I haven't realized that we had this many nations (in the game)...

So far I gave a go to The Charging Bull (will continue the campaign soon), a lot of new Pacific scenarios, Roi-Namur OL with my buddies, Fall Weiss (Minor Axis Victory - loved the cavalrymen!) and I'm preparing for giving the Americans hell on the Home Islands! I'm so addicted to this one! Very Happy

[Updated on: Fri, 23 December 2011 18:54]

      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 23 December 2011 19:36
P. 36
"The special rule in the flowchart for Scenario #10 LANDINGS AT PELELIU references the Allies getting A SPECIAL bonus for exiting units off the board... but there are no exit rules in effect for the scenario? Is this an error or am I missing something... "

from Jedimusic on BGG

My guess is that they meant to state that "if you captured the Objective Medal on the Axis Baseline".

[Updated on: Fri, 23 December 2011 19:43]

      
Talespinner
DoW Content Provider
Rikugun Taii

User Pages
Posts: 119
Registered:
March 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sat, 24 December 2011 09:08
nemesszili wrote on Fri, 23 December 2011 10:53

Fall Weiss (Minor Axis Victory - loved the cavalrymen!) and I'm preparing for giving the Americans hell on the Home Islands! I'm so addicted to this one! Very Happy


And posts like this keep us working on more fun toys for Mem'44. Smile
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
March 2011
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 25 December 2011 20:37
Not a problam, but it's just a strange - in any of new scenario in CB2 isnt used a Jungle Fighters badge. And there are 5 of them.. Any logical explanation?
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Sun, 25 December 2011 20:59
The Jungle Fighter badge is a benefit that you get with a die roll in the EVENTS part of the scenarios.

So read up on those pages that list the extra events and you will find them.
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1033
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 08:02
Same story for the carpet bombing ?
      
Oros
Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 75
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 10:05
Erik Uitdebroeck wrote on Mon, 26 December 2011 15:02

Same story for the carpet bombing ?


Carpet bombing is used on Breakthrough Normandy and Air Aces campaign.

I just played one scenario of the Air Aces campaign that used this ability. I have to say, it's good to do this all the time, if you can keep your bomber alive as long as you can Very Happy
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1033
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 10:17
Thanks for the quick response.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
March 2011
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 11:51
Thank you as well. Must look better next time to every option.
      
BuddyHolly
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 39
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 18:02
Not Errata per se.

This is not something that bothers me but I am not sure that there are 46 new scenarios. I spend time keeping track of all the new scenarios. I am thinking that there is more like 42 new scenarios. Anybody wish to confirm?
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 289
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 18:17
Looks like 46 to me. Check out page 16.

47 'non-italicized' scenarios, but Iwo Jima landings is listed twice (Air campaign and Island Hoppers)
      
BuddyHolly
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 39
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 18:27
Well I would argue at least 3 or 4 are from other expanisions. Coldstream Hill, Tenaru and Bloddy Ridge for example.
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 289
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 18:57
maybe some slight difference? I suppose you could always give the book back?
      
BuddyHolly
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 39
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 26 December 2011 19:45
Maybe. Please dont misunderstand me. I would keep this book if there were only 30 scenarios or less. I am just anal and want to make sure that I am not missing anything. By the way I think this is one of the best expansions ever. Might even be better than the first campaign book.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2200
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 27 December 2011 11:45
BuddyHolly wrote on Mon, 26 December 2011 12:27

Well I would argue at least 3 or 4 are from other expanisions. Coldstream Hill, Tenaru and Bloddy Ridge for example.



Luga Bridges - pg 125 of CB Vol 2 is also in CB Vol 1.

By my count 41 of the 46 scenarios in the CB Vol 2 are new.

[Updated on: Tue, 27 December 2011 11:48]

      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 289
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 27 December 2011 23:19
Missing an airfield in the list of hexes needed for Singapore.

Also, I have found that my CB2 book has _much_ better binding than CB1.

Thanks for hearing us DoW!
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 02 January 2012 18:23
CB#2 Errata

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?reveal=&rev=:236185& amp; amp;mid=&&frm_id=35&th=24212&start=0&cou nt=40&unread=&reply_count=&date=#msg_236185
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3198
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 02 January 2012 18:37
--JP wrote on Tue, 27 December 2011 14:19

Missing an airfield in the list of hexes needed for Singapore.

Also, I have found that my CB2 book has _much_ better binding than CB1.

Thanks for hearing us DoW!


Putting the punchboard outside the book's cover, rather than inside, helped a lot. Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2200
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 02 January 2012 22:40
Are the special notes for Kota Bharu reversed?

If the Brits win they lose their sandbags in Breaking the Jitra Line.

If the Japanese win, the Brits get 1 free AP / AS Token in Slim River.

In each case the winning player gets hurt not rewarded - strange!

[Updated on: Mon, 02 January 2012 22:40]

      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 289
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 02 January 2012 22:59
Seems that the British commander did not think well of defenseworks. They were 'demoralizing'.

Perhaps the japanese note is a balancer for the continuing campaign?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7190
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Mon, 02 January 2012 23:30
tank commander wrote on Tue, 03 January 2012 01:40

Are the special notes for Kota Bharu reversed?

If the Brits win they lose their sandbags in Breaking the Jitra Line.

If the Japanese win, the Brits get 1 free AP / AS Token in Slim River.

In each case the winning player gets hurt not rewarded - strange!


I don't believe that's a mistake. Them's the rules. Cool
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 03 January 2012 17:43
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 02 January 2012 23:30

tank commander wrote on Tue, 03 January 2012 01:40

Are the special notes for Kota Bharu reversed?

If the Brits win they lose their sandbags in Breaking the Jitra Line.

If the Japanese win, the Brits get 1 free AP / AS Token in Slim River.

In each case the winning player gets hurt not rewarded - strange!


I don't believe that's a mistake. Them's the rules. Cool



Now i told John i did not want to win because of those negative conditions, so i won by losing Laughing
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 789
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 03 January 2012 19:40
--JP wrote on Tue, 27 December 2011 23:19

Missing an airfield in the list of hexes needed for Singapore.

Also, I have found that my CB2 book has _much_ better binding than CB1.

Thanks for hearing us DoW!


I have the correct number of airfields listed in my book. 1 of one type and 2 of the other type.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7190
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 03 January 2012 20:07
ad79 wrote on Tue, 03 January 2012 22:40

--JP wrote on Tue, 27 December 2011 23:19

Missing an airfield in the list of hexes needed for Singapore.

Also, I have found that my CB2 book has _much_ better binding than CB1.

Thanks for hearing us DoW!


I have the correct number of airfields listed in my book. 1 of one type and 2 of the other type.


Ah yes, that was confusing! I tried to check all of the tiles to make sure the setup was correct for each scenario. Of course I might have missed some, but I tried to check everything carefully! Very Happy
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2200
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Tue, 03 January 2012 22:27
For Slim River.

The setup order terrain list lacks a RR bridge.

The map does not show one but probably because the locomotive is in the same hex as where that bridge should be.
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Artillery Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1129
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 05 January 2012 01:18
stevens wrote on Fri, 23 December 2011 10:36

P. 36
"The special rule in the flowchart for Scenario #10 LANDINGS AT PELELIU references the Allies getting A SPECIAL bonus for exiting units off the board... but there are no exit rules in effect for the scenario? Is this an error or am I missing something... "

from Jedimusic on BGG

My guess is that they meant to state that "if you captured the Objective Medal on the Axis Baseline".


When the campaign was created, this scenario originally listed the hex as an Exit hex thus the confusion. I suppose the campaign effect could equally be applied if the hex is held at the end of the scenario.

As I have referenced in another thread, the campaign seems to have been altered since I wrote it so I can no longer provide accurate support for it.
      
Tuladin
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 16
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 05 January 2012 02:18
I don't know if this is errata, but i believe the plural of "landing craft" is "landing craft", not "landing crafts."

"Crafts" will not be caught by a spell checker because it is the correct plural of the kind of craft you would find in "arts and crafts." But when referring to more than one ship. or aircraft, or spacecraft, it should be craft - you never hear about an "aircrafts carrier," but they do carry more than one. Smile
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 600
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 06 January 2012 12:52
Not sure if this is errata, but it's got me ...

On the back cover, in the 'Contains' list there is reference made to the 6 Obstacle tiles. Three examples are given:
Broken Bridge
Landing Crafts
and 'Casemate'


Which tile is the casemate? Looking at my board of punchouts I can only assume its the variation of the Field Bunker? (of which there is one included).

Am i right? It's just that a Casemate to me is a concrete fortified bunker, which is not quite how the tile is represented. It's not a problem, I am more curious to know if a casemate has been represented/used/described in other ways within any of the previous mem44 scenarios.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Fri, 06 January 2012 13:38
I think "casemate" might be the French term for bunker.

I know you are thinking of a reinforced concrete structure, but I don'r believe this is what DOW meant.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 11 January 2012 13:18
Island Hoppers Campaign, clarification of Reserve Roll:

Antoine wrote on Wed, 11 January 2012 06:09

--JP écrit le Wed, 04 January 2012 00:38

I believe (and of course, it's an opinion), that the Jungle Fighters are a unit with the chit and that the Veteran Star is just that - you only get the chit to assign to an existing unit.

Of course, both of these cost 2 reserve tokens each

This is how it should be played.
Sorry if it was not clear.

Elite Infantry unit : +1 Elite Infantry Unit
Veteran Star: +1 Veteran Star that you may place on one of your units
Jungle Fighters: +1 Infantry Unit with a Jungle Fighters badge.

[Updated on: Wed, 11 January 2012 13:19]

      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1712
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 11 January 2012 13:36
Jaykay2010 écrit le Fri, 06 January 2012 12:52

Which tile is the casemate? Looking at my board of punchouts I can only assume its the variation of the Field Bunker? (of which there is one included).

Casemate is the French word (from Italian casamatta) for field bunker.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 25 January 2012 14:26
On p. 52 of the Campaign Book
The British are defending in the Malay Peninsula
and yet the medal placed next to their victories is the US Purple Heart
bearing the profile of US president and former General of the Army, George Washington. The same fellow who defeated the British at the Battle of Yorktown in 1781. Seems a bit too magnanimous for the Brits to being giving old George the honors.

 http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-8Uv2iU2TSSs/Tj6VRMDSpqI/AAAAAAAAD34/yf7xUDsh7us/s400/purple_heart.jpeg

Probably just a mistake, as in other setups the British victories are represented appropriately by the Victoria Cross.

http://www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/gallery/imageryofwar/images/iow076obv.alt.png
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Wed, 25 January 2012 17:20
Paradrop Questions:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24373&start=0

Antoine wrote on Wed, 25 January 2012 10:14

ad79 schrieb am Thu, 19 January 2012 23:25

1. What happens if reserve roll, paradrop and those 3 late arrivals doesn't add up to 10?

2. What happens if I don't bring on those late arrivals, and thereby keeping the British unit total at under 10?

In both cases the Axis player wins the game if he eliminates all enemy units.
If you play the campaign, the Axis player receives the maximum number of points anyway (10 points for this scenario, even if he 'only' eliminated 8 units).

      
Cheng
Member

User Pages
Posts: 79
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 02:49
The book isn't completely clear on whether Jungle Fighters can battle the turn they enter a jungle hex. On page 10, it says "they ignore Jungle movement and battle dice reductions." (Emphasis mine). From this I infer that they still cannot battle when moving into a jungle hex.

But on page 51, it says "this unit ignores terrain Movement and Battle restrictions." (Emphasis mine again). This implies that they can battle when moving into a jungle hex.

The second example is in the "what if" section, so maybe they meant it to be different, but it also refers to page 10, so I don't know.

Can anyone provide clarification?

(Also posted on BGG).

[Updated on: Thu, 26 January 2012 02:56]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7190
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 03:01
Cheng wrote on Thu, 26 January 2012 05:49

The book isn't completely clear on whether Jungle Fighters can battle the turn they enter a jungle hex. On page 10, it says "they ignore Jungle movement and battle dice reductions." (Emphasis mine). From this I infer that they still cannot battle when moving into a jungle hex.

But on page 51, it says "this unit ignores terrain Movement and Battle restrictions." (Emphasis mine again). This implies that they can battle when moving into a jungle hex.

The second example is in the "what if" section, so maybe they meant it to be different, but it also refers to page 10, so I don't know.

Can anyone provide clarification?

(Also posted on BGG).



Jungle Fighting troops can ignore Jungle movement and battle dice reductions...that means they can do things when entering a Jungle hex that other units can't, like battle. I believe that basically they can ignore the effect of Jungle Hexes. Smile

You'll find that Jungle Fighting Troops are only available in the battles through the "What if" sections, so those rules apply just as much as page 10.

[Updated on: Thu, 26 January 2012 06:52]

      
Cheng
Member

User Pages
Posts: 79
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 03:12
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 25 January 2012 21:01


Jungle Fighting troops can ignore Jungle movement and battle dice reductions...that means they can so things when entering a Jungle hex that other units can't, like battle. Basically they can ignore the effect of Jungle Hexes. Smile

You'll find that Jungle Fighting Troops are only available in the battles through the "What if" sections, so those rules apply just as much as page 10.


Thanks for the prompt reply Jesse.

I always thought not being able battle when moving in was a "terrain battle restriction." (Discussed ad nauseum regarding the different versions of Behind Enemy Lines).

Also, on page 18, you can get Jungle Fighters during your reinforcement roll instead of elite infantry. I guess, upon further reflection, that could be mean that you only get Jungle Fighters if you're playing with that "what if" rule, and you get elite infantry otherwise, but that's not how I interpreted it the first time I read it. I assumed it was a choice.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7190
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 03:38
Cheng wrote on Thu, 26 January 2012 06:12

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 25 January 2012 21:01


Jungle Fighting troops can ignore Jungle movement and battle dice reductions...that means they can so things when entering a Jungle hex that other units can't, like battle. Basically they can ignore the effect of Jungle Hexes. Smile

You'll find that Jungle Fighting Troops are only available in the battles through the "What if" sections, so those rules apply just as much as page 10.


Thanks for the prompt reply Jesse.

I always thought not being able battle when moving in was a "terrain battle restriction." (Discussed ad nauseum regarding the different versions of Behind Enemy Lines).


I agree...but like you said, the rules on page 51 allows the the Jungle Fighters to ignore the restrictions from Jungle Terrain.

Quote:

Also, on page 18, you can get Jungle Fighters during your reinforcement roll instead of elite infantry. I guess, upon further reflection, that could be mean that you only get Jungle Fighters if you're playing with that "what if" rule, and you get elite infantry otherwise, but that's not how I interpreted it the first time I read it. I assumed it was a choice.


I think you might be right here. I failed to look at the book before answering and I simply remembered that there are no Jungle Troops that start on the map...I would have to look more closely at the Campaign to see if the Jungle Troops are always available or if they are only available with the "What If?" roll.
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3107
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 04:02
So what you are saying Jesse is that to a JUNGLE FIGHTER, Jungle Terrain is treated as if it was an open Terrain Hex.

Is this correct?

Hence:
No movement restriction.
No battle restriction on entry
No dice reduction when attacking a unit on a Jungle Hex.

Just as if was an open Terrain hex.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7190
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Campaign Book #2 Errata Thu, 26 January 2012 05:05
stevens wrote on Thu, 26 January 2012 07:02

So what you are saying Jesse is that to a JUNGLE FIGHTER, Jungle Terrain is treated as if it was an open Terrain Hex.

Is this correct?

Hence:
No movement restriction.
No battle restriction on entry
No dice reduction when attacking a unit on a Jungle Hex.

Just as if was an open Terrain hex.


I would have to look at my copy of the book and read through the Jungle Fighter rules carefully before saying for sure. Is that not the rules you understand for those troops? Rolling Eyes

EDIT: I'm at a bit of a disadvantage here because I'm at work and can't access my Player Aid or my copy of the Campaign Book. Can someone post the Rules we have for Jungle Fighters? Otherwise I'll just look them up when I get home and post my thoughts! Cool

[Updated on: Thu, 26 January 2012 06:56]

      
Pages (5): [1  2  3  4  5  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:10th anniversary of Memoir'44, November
Next Topic:Sword beach - differences in breakthrough /d-day landings versions?
Goto Forum: