Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1075
Registered:
December 2007
Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 12:00
I know that you have to play a section card to attempt to blow bridges, but wondered how the "on the move" rule works when using the Breakthrough deck as the units can be ordered anywhere on the board.

Obvioulsy the Blow Up Bridges rule re-dates the Breakthrough deck, so I guess that any "on the move" orders are lost with the card?
      
magick
Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 51
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 14:31
It is stated on page 6 of The winter wars expansion,under the breakthrough command cards section,that units on the move may be ordered in any section of the battlefield.They move as normal,but may not battle on this turn.My interpretation of this would suggest that a unit on the move is not eligible to blow up bridges.The unit would have to be an ordered unit corresponding to the relevant section of the command card.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 15:05
magick wrote on Tue, 07 February 2012 17:31

It is stated on page 6 of The winter wars expansion,under the breakthrough command cards section,that units on the move may be ordered in any section of the battlefield.They move as normal,but may not battle on this turn.My interpretation of this would suggest that a unit on the move is not eligible to blow up bridges.The unit would have to be an ordered unit corresponding to the relevant section of the command card.


I might be wrong here, but I think Panzer was talking about the rule for blowing up bridges where you 'use up' a card to blow up a bridge. If the card you 'use up' is an On the Move card, can the 'On the Move' orders still be used or are they lost with the card?

I would say that the card is completely dedicated to blowing up the bridge and all orders (including 'On the Move' orders) are lost. But that's just my answer and isn't official! (yet) Very Happy Razz
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 15:06
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_2.jpg

In both Options of BLOWING UP BRIDGES, you must play a section card corresponding to the section in which the bridge is located.

In NEITHER option do you get to perform any other action other than the destruction of the bridge.
The "On the Move" function is irrelevant.
The card is not played to order units, the card is played to destroy a bridge.
No units are ordered, no units are moved.
That is the way I read it. Smile

[Updated on: Tue, 07 February 2012 15:08]

      
JJs Juggernaut
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 104
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 15:13
magick wrote on Tue, 07 February 2012 08:31

It is stated on page 6 of The winter wars expansion,under the breakthrough command cards section,that units on the move may be ordered in any section of the battlefield.They move as normal,but may not battle on this turn.My interpretation of this would suggest that a unit on the move is not eligible to blow up bridges.The unit would have to be an ordered unit corresponding to the relevant section of the command card.



However, units on-the-move are ordered additionally to other units. In order to blow up bridges, you must play an attack (a section card that orders 3 units) card in a section of the battlefield and instead of ordering any units you may destroy a bridge in that section of the battlefield if the blowing up bridges rules are in effect.

I believe Achtung Panzer is asking if you played a, lets say, attack on the left flank with 2 units on-the-move, would you still be able to move the 2 units that are On-the-move, or would you lose those orders as well as the other 3? In my personal opinion I would say that you are still able to move the 2 on-the-move units. Before the breakthrough deck it took three orders (an attack card) to destroy a bridge. With an attack card with on-the-move you have five orders. As such I believe that you should be able to move the two units.

Now I'm not saying that you could play a recon with on-the-move (1 order plus the two on-the-move) to destroy a bridge. I'm saying this because in order to destroy a bridge you need three orders that if units were ordered those units would be able to battle, which on-the-move doesn't allow.

I hope this makes some sense and helps, but remember this just my opinion, so it might be nice for someone more knowlageable about the game to shed some light on this issue.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 15:23
What you guys are suggesting, is that you get to SPLIT the function of the card.

Use the Order and Battle aspect of the card to blow up bridges and the On The Move aspect to move units. I don't think you ever have the luxury in Memoir '44 for using a cards function in a split manner.

In other options, say AIR RULES, you may use a Recon-1 or an Air Power Card as an AIR SORTIE card, but you NEVER get to use both the function of a Recon-1 card and ALSO use it as an Air Sortie.

To date, you ONLY choose one function for the card. You get the option of ONE function,
but you don't get to have your cake and eat it too.

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_komqhmrKnx1qzlkm5o1_400.jpg

I am confident this will be the conclusion of this issue. Smile

[Updated on: Tue, 07 February 2012 15:57]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1075
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 15:25
Yes, I am asking about the additional "On the Move" units. If the On the Move units are lost because the whole card is used to try to blow the bridge, that's a very high price for a risky option if using Option 2, as the Normandy Breakthrough Campaign (CB#2) states.

BTW - you can play any section card to try and blow a bridge using Option 2 shown on the Action Card. The Attack / 3 Units requirement is for building pontoon bridges.
      
JJs Juggernaut
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 104
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 16:13
Achtung Panzer wrote on Tue, 07 February 2012 09:25

Yes, I am asking about the additional "On the Move" units. If the On the Move units are lost because the whole card is used to try to blow the bridge, that's a very high price for a risky option if using Option 2, as the Normandy Breakthrough Campaign (CB#2) states.

BTW - you can play any section card to try and blow a bridge using Option 2 shown on the Action Card. The Attack / 3 Units requirement is for building pontoon bridges.



Yes you are right. I just played a battle with pontoons, so they were in my head. The blowing bridges summary card does say that you can play any card and have the two options. I was composing my response while Jesse and Stevens posted theirs, so I didn't see stevens post of the actual summary card. I agree with what stevens said, it makes sense. Smile So I suppose it would be the same for bulding pontoons; no splitting the orders for on-the-moves?

[Updated on: Tue, 07 February 2012 16:14]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 19:02
JJs Juggernaut wrote on Tue, 07 February 2012 19:13

So I suppose it would be the same for bulding pontoons; no splitting the orders for on-the-moves?


Correct. Smile You have to use the whole card for whatever purpose you pick...and I think stevens' example of using Recon-1 cards as Air Power is a great one to help remember this rule!

Don't forget that Blowing Up Bridges is a bit of a risk, so you have to pick your card wisely and the turn when you can blow up the bridge without leaving your forces exposed. But like most things, something can go wrong and it might not work on the first attempt, so you might not want to move an "On the Move" card that would normally let you order 5 units! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Blowing up bridges with Breakthrough deck Tue, 07 February 2012 20:33
stevens wrote on Tue, 07 February 2012 15:23

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_komqhmrKnx1qzlkm5o1_400.jpg

I am confident this will be the conclusion of this issue. Razz


I just love it when people quote the actual rules. Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:Vassal Engine - looking for opponents
Next Topic:Richard Borg - BGG Wargame Designer Of The Month (Jan)
Goto Forum: