Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Rules question : Team Asia - Drawing train cards.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Frencois
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
  Rules question : Team Asia - Drawing train cards. Thu, 01 March 2012 17:40
Hi DoW, I would like an official answer to that:

Rules says:

During the game, when a player chooses to draw Train cards, he must place one in his hand and the other in his team's cardholder.
When a player draws the first card, he must immediately decide whether to add it to his hand or share it with his teammate by placing it in the common cardholder.
The second card he draws must then go to his other location (hand or cardholder).
If the player chooses to draw a single face-up Locomotive, he must place it in the common cardholder.

Ok but...

If I draw a face-up train card, can I wait to the replacement card to be revealed BEFORE I choose to keep the card in my hand or place in on the cardholder ?

We play that you can wait because it allows for much more clever strategy (especially if you have followed the cards that are of interest for your teammate... which I'm sure you did - unless of course your teammate is just like my wife and doesn't care at all what you are doing since she is just playing her own destination tickets - just kidding honey!)

[Updated on: Thu, 01 March 2012 17:40]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Rules question : Team Asia - Drawing train cards. Fri, 02 March 2012 02:47
Frencois wrote on Thu, 01 March 2012 09:40

Hi DoW, I would like an official answer to that:

Rules says:

During the game, when a player chooses to draw Train cards, he must place one in his hand and the other in his team's cardholder. When a player draws the first card, he must immediately decide whether to add it to his hand or share it with his teammate by placing it in the common cardholder.
The second card he draws must then go to his other location (hand or cardholder). If the player chooses to draw a single face-up Locomotive, he must place it in the common cardholder.

Ok but...

If I draw a face-up train card, can I wait to the replacement card to be revealed BEFORE I choose to keep the card in my hand or place in on the cardholder ?

We play that you can wait because it allows for much more clever strategy (especially if you have followed the cards that are of interest for your teammate... which I'm sure you did - unless of course your teammate is just like my wife and doesn't care at all what you are doing since she is just playing her own destination tickets - just kidding honey!)



Yes you have to decide with the first card. HOWEVER, I do believe in the rules (TTR USA) that once a face up card is taken that a replacement card is drawn immediately! (Yep, confirmed via online rules for TTR US).

BUT per Team Asia rules, it does say the following as well :
(highlight added for emphasis)
"During the game, when a player chooses to draw Train cards, he must place one in his hand and the other in his team's cardholder. When a player draws the first card, he must immediately decide whether to add it to his hand or share it with his teammate by placing it in the common cardholder."

Hmm.. WHICH immediate takes precedence?? My gut tells me that it is the card drawn must be place either in the team holder or individual before the replacement card (if face up was taken) is drawn. Good catch! I'll try to see if we can get DoW or someone to clarify.

Cab

[Updated on: Fri, 02 March 2012 02:50]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3194
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules question : Team Asia - Drawing train cards. Fri, 02 March 2012 16:33
Frencois wrote on Thu, 01 March 2012 08:40



If I draw a face-up train card, can I wait to the replacement card to be revealed BEFORE I choose to keep the card in my hand or place in on the cardholder ?




Yes, you replace the face up card you just took with a new one from the blind draw, then, once the replacement card is visible you decide whether to keep the first card you drew in hand or not (assuming you didn't pick a locomotive, of course) BEFORE you pick/draw a new card.

eric
      
Frencois
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Rules question : Team Asia - Drawing train cards. Fri, 02 March 2012 21:15
eric wrote on Fri, 02 March 2012 16:33

Frencois wrote on Thu, 01 March 2012 08:40



If I draw a face-up train card, can I wait to the replacement card to be revealed BEFORE I choose to keep the card in my hand or place in on the cardholder ?




Yes, you replace the face up card you just took with a new one from the blind draw, then, once the replacement card is visible you decide whether to keep the first card you drew in hand or not (assuming you didn't pick a locomotive, of course) BEFORE you pick/draw a new card.

eric


Merci/Thanks Eric. You definitively should include that in some FAQ.

[Updated on: Fri, 02 March 2012 21:16]

      
    
Previous Topic:Rules question (draw additional tickets)
Next Topic:Question: Tracks with 2 Colo(u)rs
Goto Forum: