Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » CB#2 Air Aces Campaign
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Tue, 03 April 2012 17:27
On p. 123 of the CB#2 it states that if the Axis wins the OROTE PENINSULA scenario they may receive the AirPower card and both Air Sortie cards before the next scenario.

Does this mean that the Axis has 8 cards to start or is the Air Power card considered one of the 5 first cards drawn?
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 226
Registered:
March 2010
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 07:00
The air power card is considered to be an air sortie card when using air rules, so it would be placed face up on the table with the other 2 air sortie cards, the air sortie cards (air power aswell in this case) are not considered part of your hand so you would then draw 5 command cards.
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 226
Registered:
March 2010
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 07:08
Sorry my mistake, the air power is trated as an air sortie when played but is still held in your hand. the 2 air sortie cards would be placed on the table. I would play that the airpower card is one of the five cards that are in your hand but this just makes sure you start the game with it.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 16:47
Aussie_Digger wrote on Wed, 04 April 2012 09:08

Sorry my mistake, the air power is trated as an air sortie when played but is still held in your hand. the 2 air sortie cards would be placed on the table. I would play that the airpower card is one of the five cards that are in your hand but this just makes sure you start the game with it.


I would agree...It says that the player starts with the card but doesn't specify any other special rules about the card. So in that case we add the Air Power card to the hand and play everything else according to the rules. Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 16:56
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 04 April 2012 10:47

Aussie_Digger wrote on Wed, 04 April 2012 09:08

Sorry my mistake, the air power is trated as an air sortie when played but is still held in your hand. the 2 air sortie cards would be placed on the table. I would play that the airpower card is one of the five cards that are in your hand but this just makes sure you start the game with it.


I would agree...It says that the player starts with the card but doesn't specify any other special rules about the card. So in that case we add the Air Power card to the hand and play everything else according to the rules. Smile


So are you saying 8 cards or 7 cards? I understand about how the card is played, the question is to how many cards in the opening hand for the Axis.
Is the Airpower card considerred one of the 5 cards in the hand + 2 Air Sortie OR since the card is given out in advance of beginning the scenario is it 5 cards + 2 Air Sortie + 1 AIRPOWER.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 April 2012 16:57]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 17:57
stevens wrote on Wed, 04 April 2012 18:56

So are you saying 8 cards or 7 cards? I understand about how the card is played, the question is to how many cards in the opening hand for the Axis.
Is the Airpower card considerred one of the 5 cards in the hand + 2 Air Sortie OR since the card is given out in advance of beginning the scenario is it 5 cards + 2 Air Sortie + 1 AIRPOWER.


Seven (7) cards...5 cards (including the Air Power) +2 Air Sortie.

The rules don't say anything special about the Air Power card except that the Axis get the Air Power card in their hand. Since we can only follow the rules that are written, we can't add any extra cards to the Axis hand. I agree that it could have spelled out that the player only gets 5 cards total, but the author doesn't always see the questions that might come up.

The special rule gives the Axis player an extra chance to bring in a Plane or keep one in the air but not hold an extra card. Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 04 April 2012 18:13
Thanks Ras!
That is what I thought at first, but the instructions on p.123 were not clear on this point.
      
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 326
Registered:
February 2005
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Mon, 09 April 2012 22:57
I thought that Air sortie cards did not count for cards in hand?
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Mon, 09 April 2012 23:02
red_zebra wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 22:57

I thought that Air sortie cards did not count for cards in hand?


That is correct, but as I won the previous scenario my bonus was to get the Air Power card, and that one counts as a card in your hand. The bonus just states that I get it at the start of the scenario.
It helped me sink stevens carrier to get the win, even though the action is not over as the scenario doesn't end untill victory medal count is met.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Tue, 10 April 2012 00:01
ad79 wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 17:02

red_zebra wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 22:57

I thought that Air sortie cards did not count for cards in hand?


That is correct, but as I won the previous scenario my bonus was to get the Air Power card, and that one counts as a card in your hand. The bonus just states that I get it at the start of the scenario.
It helped me sink stevens carrier to get the win, even though the action is not over as the scenario doesn't end untill victory medal count is met.



Yes, it is not over until the FAT LADY SINGS. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

[Updated on: Tue, 10 April 2012 00:02]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 11 April 2012 21:38
stevens wrote on Tue, 10 April 2012 00:01

ad79 wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 17:02

red_zebra wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 22:57

I thought that Air sortie cards did not count for cards in hand?


That is correct, but as I won the previous scenario my bonus was to get the Air Power card, and that one counts as a card in your hand. The bonus just states that I get it at the start of the scenario.
It helped me sink stevens carrier to get the win, even though the action is not over as the scenario doesn't end untill victory medal count is met.



Yes, it is not over until the FAT LADY SINGS. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing


Stevens, please, no singing. Let's keep it civil and pleasant. Laughing
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:CB#2 Air Aces Campaign Wed, 11 April 2012 21:46
ad79 wrote on Wed, 11 April 2012 15:38

stevens wrote on Tue, 10 April 2012 00:01

ad79 wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 17:02

red_zebra wrote on Mon, 09 April 2012 22:57

I thought that Air sortie cards did not count for cards in hand?


That is correct, but as I won the previous scenario my bonus was to get the Air Power card, and that one counts as a card in your hand. The bonus just states that I get it at the start of the scenario.
It helped me sink stevens carrier to get the win, even though the action is not over as the scenario doesn't end untill victory medal count is met.



Yes, it is not over until the FAT LADY SINGS. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing


Stevens, please, no singing. Let's keep it civil and pleasant. Laughing


Sorry bud.... Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

This game is close and the Kamikaze attack was painful.
I will not sing until we get to the 6 medals... promise. Rolling Eyes

http://www.snydertalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Take-Fat-Lady-Singing-300x195.jpg

[Updated on: Wed, 11 April 2012 21:49]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Tue, 24 April 2012 23:21
Me and Stevens are playing the Red Barricades scenario now and we ran into an issue.

Since this scenario isn't printed in CB#2 it is referenced back to both the Eastern Front and Air Pack rulebooks. (P.123 in Cb#2)

BUT, and it is a big BUT,
In the Eastern Front version Blitz Rules are IN effect.

In the Air Pack version there are NO Blitz Rulesmentioned.

It has a big impact since the Axis can order his Junkers with Recon-1 cards if Blitz Rules are in effect.

So, BLitz or not, that is the question?
      
hdescavernes
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 733
Registered:
October 2003
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Tue, 24 April 2012 23:54
To blitz or not to blitz, you say?

I was under the impression that air pack scenarios were revised versions (sometimes improved) of previously released ones, right?

Following that line of thinking I'd say the improved version comes without the rule.

Then again it might be an omission when they retyped it?

Not that helpful I know Very Happy
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Wed, 25 April 2012 03:20
ad79 wrote on Tue, 24 April 2012 17:21

Me and Stevens are playing the Red Barricades scenario now and we ran into an issue.

Since this scenario isn't printed in CB#2 it is referenced back to both the Eastern Front and Air Pack rulebooks. (P.123 in Cb#2)

BUT, and it is a big BUT,
In the Eastern Front version Blitz Rules are IN effect.

In the Air Pack version there are NO Blitz Rulesmentioned.

It has a big impact since the Axis can order his Junkers with Recon-1 cards if Blitz Rules are in effect.

So, BLitz or not, that is the question?


AIR RULES p. 4:

Quote:

Playing an Air Sortie equivalent

In addition, when Air Rules are in effect, Air Power cards
must be played as if they were Air Sortie cards instead;

And cards that are deemed equivalent by the Scenario's Special
rules - such as a Recon 1 card when Air Strikes & Blitz rules are
in effect
-, may be played, at the player's option, as indicated
on the card (e.g. a Recon 1) OR as an Air Sortie card instead
.

Unlike true Air Sortie cards, these cards are never placed
face up nor shown to the other player beforehand; they can
never be played in combination with a Section card; and
they are replaced as normal, once played, at the end of the
player's turn.
If the card played as an Air Sortie is a Recon 1 card (as might
be the case for an Axis player under Air Strikes & Blitz rules,
for instance), the player is still subject to the initial card's
Section limitation when playing it; i.e., the card can only be
played to start an Air Sortie from an edge hex of the matching
board's section; and if the Airplane is already airborne, the
card's Recon section must match the section of the board over
which the Airplane is currently loitering.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 902
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Fri, 27 April 2012 20:11
ad79 wrote on Tue, 24 April 2012 17:21

Me and Stevens are playing the Red Barricades scenario now and we ran into an issue.

Since this scenario isn't printed in CB#2 it is referenced back to both the Eastern Front and Air Pack rulebooks. (P.123 in Cb#2)

BUT, and it is a big BUT,
In the Eastern Front version Blitz Rules are IN effect.

In the Air Pack version there are NO Blitz Rulesmentioned.

It has a big impact since the Axis can order his Junkers with Recon-1 cards if Blitz Rules are in effect.

So, BLitz or not, that is the question?


According to yangtze, "the powerful carpet bombing ability of the JU-88 in this scenario may only be used once", so not sure the blitz rules in effect would really matter that much, would it?

See CB #2 Errata http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24154&start=40
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Fri, 27 April 2012 21:06
Sgt Storm wrote on Fri, 27 April 2012 20:11

ad79 wrote on Tue, 24 April 2012 17:21

Me and Stevens are playing the Red Barricades scenario now and we ran into an issue.

Since this scenario isn't printed in CB#2 it is referenced back to both the Eastern Front and Air Pack rulebooks. (P.123 in Cb#2)

BUT, and it is a big BUT,
In the Eastern Front version Blitz Rules are IN effect.

In the Air Pack version there are NO Blitz Rulesmentioned.

It has a big impact since the Axis can order his Junkers with Recon-1 cards if Blitz Rules are in effect.

So, BLitz or not, that is the question?


According to yangtze, "the powerful carpet bombing ability of the JU-88 in this scenario may only be used once", so not sure the blitz rules in effect would really matter that much, would it?

See CB #2 Errata http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24154&start=40

It matters as the axis player can use region-1's to avoid Air checks on it's way across the board. Stevens used 2 of them against me.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Tue, 08 May 2012 21:04
Got a reply from Don, and he said Blitz Rules should be used in Red Barricades when playing it as part of the Air Aces campaign.

So the Junkers can indeed be ordered by Recon-1 cards to avoid Airchecks enroute to the bombdrop.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Blitz Rules or not in Red Barricades? Tue, 08 May 2012 21:14
ad79 wrote on Tue, 08 May 2012 15:04

Got a reply from Don, and he said Blitz Rules should be used in Red Barricades when playing it as part of the Air Aces campaign.

So the Junkers can indeed be ordered by Recon-1 cards to avoid Airchecks enroute to the bombdrop.


I stand redeemed,

Thanks for the games Stig!
Very Happy
      
    
Previous Topic:Advice for Visiting England
Next Topic:Bridge questions
Goto Forum: