Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Tue, 29 May 2012 21:42
Hello,

My playmates and I are planning our next Overlord game for next friday Prokhorovka Overlord - July 12, 1943 .

Reading the Special Rules, some concerns came to my mind:

- I'd like to know whether the Russian Political Commissar (Nations 2B) is in force for this scenario. I do understand it is not, since it's not said anywhere and we know other scenarios like Ponyri doesn't use this special rule either.

- I do understand that the term "Fordable River" refers to the card Terrain 41, despite is not listed there.

Thanks.

[Updated on: Tue, 29 May 2012 21:47]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Wed, 30 May 2012 03:51
Almilcar wrote on Tue, 29 May 2012 23:42

Hello,

My playmates and I are planning our next Overlord game for next friday Prokhorovka Overlord - July 12, 1943 .

Reading the Special Rules, some concerns came to my mind:

- I'd like to know whether the Russian Political Commissar (Nations 2B) is in force for this scenario. I do understand it is not, since it's not said anywhere and we know other scenarios like Ponyri doesn't use this special rule either.


Unless it says so, the Commissar Rules are not in effect. This battle actually took place right around the same time as Ponyri (they are both part of the Battle of Kursk, the largest tank battle in history), so the rules in effect are going to be very similar.

Quote:

- I do understand that the term "Fordable River" refers to the card Terrain 41, despite is not listed there.

Thanks.


Yes, the Fordable River would be talking about Terrain 41. Before the Summary Cards were created, the old way of listing the rules was to say the rule and then explain it within the Special Rules section (which you'll notice they did for the Fordable River hex). The new system just lists the card and lets us look it up.

Have fun!! Cool

[Updated on: Wed, 30 May 2012 08:04]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Wed, 30 May 2012 07:54
Thanks Jesse. Smile
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 666
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Wed, 30 May 2012 09:20
in this topic:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=165814#msg_165814

you see that the Political Commissar rule was abandoned around stalingrad. So after stalingrad you can loose the Political Commissar rule.

........ I think Rolling Eyes
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Thu, 31 May 2012 22:20
Yea, you may be right.

According to some sources, this figure existed until 1942.

Wikipedia said

[...]In the event, after the October Revolution, the political commissar remained in the Red Army until 1942.


Not 100% reliable, but...

You learn something new every day! Smile

[Updated on: Thu, 31 May 2012 22:23]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Prokhorovka Overlord - A few questions Thu, 07 June 2012 23:00
Russian army commanders got a lot more freedom to do as they wanted after Stalingrad. They didn't have to run their plans by the Commisar before they could execute them, but the Political Commisar wasen't entirely abandoned. Their role wasen't big enough to use the Russian Command Rule after Stalingrad.
      
    
Previous Topic:Remembering D-Day
Next Topic:M44 Equipment Pack - New Nations
Goto Forum: