Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Sorcerers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
SnipeHunt
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
June 2012
  Sorcerers Sun, 24 June 2012 05:23
Yes, I'm new to the game. I saw the Geek and Sundry game play example and liked it so I bought a copy. I think we are doing something wrong though since both our initial games went very unbalanced. Sorcerers dominated everything in both. (Bivouacking Sorcerers, and Flying Sorcerers)

So here it is - Sorcerers can use their race power to swap one (new from the tray) piece with one of their opponent pieces and they can do that once per turn per opponent. Kind of a mind control power as I read it, continuing to increase their active forces.

Questions:
1. If the defending territory has only one token on it and the Sorcerer attacks, do they get to just replace that one token and immediately they've won? Or, do they still need to spend one more active token in order to take the territory as though it were empty and needed at least two active tokens to win it?

2.If there is a stack of lets say 3 tokens defending a territory. Do the sorcerers still get to use their power on one of these 3, leaving 2 remaining which would then require 3 more active tokens (total of 4, with the one new token) investment from the sorcerers in order to win the engagement? Or, are you only allowed to use this power on territories where a single defender token is present? And if the first is the answer then what if I had to roll the reinforcement dice and lost, what happens to that newly taken over unit then?

3. "Once per turn per opponent" Does this refer to each race, or each player? and Does it include Lost Tribe units? So, in a game where two other players both have one active race, both have one in decline, and a Lost Tribe is still present, can my Sorcerers (if bordering) use their power once on the Lost Tribe, once on the active race of player 2, once on the race in decline of player 2, once on the active race of player 3, and once on the race in decline of player 3, thus providing me with 5 additional units in just one turn? (potentially to be repeated the next turn as well?)

Embarassed Okay so i see now that we had the conquered defenders part wrong. we were running with the first unit goes back into the defenders hands and all the others were put back into the case rather than the other way around... so vast territories with only single defenses were just reinforcing the rest of the territories rather than going away as they should have. my bad.

thanks for answers in advance.

      
Thorjin
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 43
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Sorcerers Sun, 24 June 2012 05:45
1. Yes, that's how it works. You "attack" a territory with a single defender and simply replace that token with a fresh Sorcerer token from your supply.

2. You can only use their power if there's a single defender. None of the other situations you describe would be legal.

3. The rules say you can use their power once per turn, per opponent, but only against active races. Active races are the ones on the board that are not in decline. So if one opponent has Humans as their active race, but also has some in-decline Trolls on the board... you can't use the Sorcerer power against the Trolls. Lost Tribes are considered as "in decline" as well... the little broken column icon on their tokens (and on the backside of other races) are a nice little reminder of who's in decline.

Get used to the "Active race" rule. Some race/special powers are limited to active races only.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Sorcerers Sun, 24 June 2012 07:18
Thorjin wrote on Sun, 24 June 2012 07:45

1. Yes, that's how it works. You "attack" a territory with a single defender and simply replace that token with a fresh Sorcerer token from your supply.


Close...Cool You attack a territory that has a single Active enemy token in it and you simply replace their token with a Sorcerer token from the tray, not from your supply. This means that your army is growing each time you use the Sorcerer's special power!

Have fun...Sorcerers can be a great race to have! Very Happy
      
Thorjin
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 43
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Sorcerers Mon, 25 June 2012 04:15
From his post I knew he knew that the Sorcerer power added to your number of tokens, "fresh token from your supply" was my way of putting it Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Sorcerers Mon, 25 June 2012 07:05
Thorjin wrote on Mon, 25 June 2012 06:15

From his post I knew he knew that the Sorcerer power added to your number of tokens, "fresh token from your supply" was my way of putting it Smile


Ah, OK. Very Happy The "your supply" threw me off, but just so long as we're all on the same page. Razz Enjoy the game!! Cool
      
Brf123
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
August 2011
Re:Sorcerers Mon, 25 June 2012 20:03
To add to the question... We had this one come up in yesterday's game. Does the "one active enemy token" mean that the Sorcerer cannot take an enemy territory using this power if there is another defensive token there too, like a Bivouac? Troll lair? Mountain?
      
Jack Spirio
Junior Member
Advanced Combat Training

Posts: 10
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Sorcerers Tue, 26 June 2012 22:33
Bivouac helps, all others don't
see FaQ
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Sorcerers Wed, 27 June 2012 11:41
If you read through the extended rules for Bivouacking (in the main rule book) and you'll see that those tokens count as 'extra race tokens' and therefore help against the Sorcerer. All other protection is useless against their magic...MUAH HA HA HA!! Very Happy
      
    
Previous Topic:Announcing Necromancer Island - a Free Small World scenario
Next Topic:Tales and Legends question
Goto Forum: