Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 287
Registered:
December 2004
New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 29 July 2012 23:49
Ok, taking a page from Mr Stevens' book.


The rules state that it:

"battles at +1 die when in Close Assault against a unit
in a Bunker. If a Star is rolled, damageis applied to the
unit normally and the Bunker is removed from the hex.
If the unit was eliminated and the Bunker destroyed, the Hobart's Funnies
unit may Take Ground and conduct an Armor Overrun. Note that a Bunker
may be targeted in Close Assault (usually with 2 dice) even if it contains
no unit! In this case, if a Star is rolled and the Bunker is removed; other
dice results have no effect.
Note: these rules also apply to Field Bunkers."

OK, so if a unit is in the bunker and you destroy the unit and bunker, you can Take Ground and conduct an Armor Overrun.

Then it goes on to say you can target an empty Bunker with Close Assault. If you roll a Star, the bunker is destroyed.

Maybe picking nits, but you would get to Take Ground and Armor Overrun, wouldn't you?

Enemy unit and destroyed bunker leads to Overrun. An empty bunker destroyed should give you the same opportunity, yes?

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 00:32
From the original rule book, "On a successful Close Assault Combat, an ordered Armor unit may move into the vacated hex and may then battle again."

I would consider destruction of an empty bunker to be a successful Close Assault.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 00:51
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 29 July 2012 18:32

From the original rule book, "On a successful Close Assault Combat, an ordered Armor unit may move into the vacated hex and may then battle again."

I would consider destruction of an empty bunker to be a successful Close Assault.


Sounds good to me. Let's hope DOW concurs.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 01:33
stevens wrote on Mon, 30 July 2012 02:51

sam1812 wrote on Sun, 29 July 2012 18:32

From the original rule book, "On a successful Close Assault Combat, an ordered Armor unit may move into the vacated hex and may then battle again."

I would consider destruction of an empty bunker to be a successful Close Assault.


Sounds good to me. Let's hope DOW concurs.



I don't think that's what the rules are saying (though I could be wrong). Razz

If you look back, it says that "If the Unit was eliminated and the bunker was destroyed"...so eliminating a unit is still required to Take Ground or do Armor Overrun. It's not just the act of destroying the Bunker, I don't believe.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 03:56
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 29 July 2012 19:33

I don't think that's what the rules are saying (though I could be wrong). Razz

If you look back, it says that "If the Unit was eliminated and the bunker was destroyed"...so eliminating a unit is still required to Take Ground or do Armor Overrun. It's not just the act of destroying the Bunker, I don't believe.


You may be right. I can see how the rule could be interpreted that way, too. The definitions of Taking Ground and Armor Overrun both specify an enemy unit being eliminated or retreated -- but, of course, the possibility of eliminating an enemy bunker via Close Assault wasn't envisioned at that time.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 04:01
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 30 July 2012 05:56

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 29 July 2012 19:33

I don't think that's what the rules are saying (though I could be wrong). Razz

If you look back, it says that "If the Unit was eliminated and the bunker was destroyed"...so eliminating a unit is still required to Take Ground or do Armor Overrun. It's not just the act of destroying the Bunker, I don't believe.


You may be right. I can see how the rule could be interpreted that way, too. The definitions of Taking Ground and Armor Overrun both specify an enemy unit being eliminated or retreated -- but, of course, the possibility of eliminating an enemy bunker via Close Assault wasn't envisioned at that time.


No, it wasn't envisioned, but these rules were written specifically about destroying Bunkers and they don't say anything about doing an Overrun unless there is a unit eliminated in the attack.
      
Lujo
Senior Member
Oberst

User Pages
Posts: 121
Registered:
December 2005
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 30 July 2012 23:28
Yep. I would agree on "no unit eliminated, no overrun". That's for the rules.

As for the logic (although we all know rules often don't see much of it), I see the first attack of the armor and the following overrun as the double action made possible by its swiftness and uniformity. They together take the same amount of time as any other non-doubled armor action. You don't get to do the first attack and then follow by drilling for oil or playing Monopoly (or vice versa), you drive and shoot and then you just get to drive and shoot a bit more. That's why I wouldn't agree on demolition followed by some Formula One start on some enemy unit.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Tue, 31 July 2012 01:10
On the otherhand isn't destroying the bunker a successful combat reault?
It elimates the bunker - removing terrain impassable for armour. Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation
Why shouldn't an armour unit do an overrun after eliminating its target Question Question Question
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Tue, 31 July 2012 02:09
Phread wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 03:10

On the otherhand isn't destroying the bunker a successful combat reault?
It elimates the bunker - removing terrain impassable for armour. Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation
Why shouldn't an armour unit do an overrun after eliminating its target Question Question Question


Well, probably because it doesn't say that's a possibility in the rules. It says, "If the unit was eliminated and the Bunker destroyed, the Hobart's Funnies unit may Take Ground and conduct an Armor Overrun."

Granted, DoW might say I'm wrong on this, but the rules seem pretty clear to me. Cool
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Tue, 31 July 2012 20:21
What if the unit was forced to retreat and the bunker destroyed (2 flags, one star), can you do an overrun then? If you apply the rules to the letter, it would be no, but logic would say yes ...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Tue, 31 July 2012 23:28
Quit2 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 22:21

What if the unit was forced to retreat and the bunker destroyed (2 flags, one star), can you do an overrun then? If you apply the rules to the letter, it would be no, but logic would say yes ...


Yes...in my mind, the point is that a Unit was involved and was eliminated or forced to retreat. Smile
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 19:35
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 23:28

Quit2 wrote on Tue, 31 July 2012 22:21

What if the unit was forced to retreat and the bunker destroyed (2 flags, one star), can you do an overrun then? If you apply the rules to the letter, it would be no, but logic would say yes ...


Yes...in my mind, the point is that a Unit was involved and was eliminated or forced to retreat. Smile

Ah, but it doesn't say that. It says a unit was destroyed. So if you can assume that forced to retreat counts too but was forgotten, why can't others assume that the empty bunker attack was forgotten too?
      
Kelly's Hero
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 303
Registered:
April 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 20:44
What if a flag and star is rolled? Can the flag be ignored or is the bunker destroyed first?
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 113
Registered:
June 2010
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 20:59
Kelly's Hero wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 21:44

What if a flag and star is rolled? Can the flag be ignored or is the bunker destroyed first?

The rules say damage is applied to the unit normally; this probably includes flags and the ignoring of them. It is very strange that the bunker is removed even if the unit inside is still intact. Will artillery suddenly gain mobility if the concrete collapses around it?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 22:10
Zalamence wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 14:59

Kelly's Hero wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 21:44

What if a flag and star is rolled? Can the flag be ignored or is the bunker destroyed first?

The rules say damage is applied to the unit normally; this probably includes flags and the ignoring of them. It is very strange that the bunker is removed even if the unit inside is still intact. Will artillery suddenly gain mobility if the concrete collapses around it?



GOOD QUESTION!
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 22:30
stevens wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 22:10

Zalamence wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 14:59

Kelly's Hero wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 21:44

What if a flag and star is rolled? Can the flag be ignored or is the bunker destroyed first?

The rules say damage is applied to the unit normally; this probably includes flags and the ignoring of them. It is very strange that the bunker is removed even if the unit inside is still intact. Will artillery suddenly gain mobility if the concrete collapses around it?



GOOD QUESTION!


According to the manual, when we resolve a battle roll, STARS go first and the last ones are FLAGS.

Because of this, I'd say the unit is then forced to retreat because the bunker has been already destroyed and can't give any protection anymore, and thus a unit can't ignore any flag.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 22:36
Almilcar wrote on Thu, 02 August 2012 08:30


According to the manual, when we resolve a battle roll, STARS go first and the last ones are FLAGS.

Because of this, I'd say the unit is then forced to retreat because the bunker has been already destroyed and can't give any protection anymore, and thus a unit can't ignore any flag.



Retreat make no sense for an artillery unit in a bunker.

The artillery unit in a bunker represents a fixed gun emplacement.
In real life there is/was no retreat available, imho an artillery unit in a bunker is destroyed if the bunker is destroyed.

Think about it in the real life scenario, the petard mortar equiped Churchill tank destroys the bunker. Any artillery in the bunker must be destroyed.

Infantry can run from the bunker, artillery cannot.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 22:41
Then artillery might be end up disabled because of the destruction of the bunker. There won't be overrun though.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 22:50
To me, blowing up a bunker with a unit in the bunker is similar to blowing up a bridge with a unit on the bridge.

From the cards database
Actions Card #2 Blowing Up Bridges

Q. If a unit is on a bridge when it is blown up, is the unit destroyed?
A. Yes. The whole unit is destroyed along with the bridge. The unit counts as a Medal.


I reiterate, a unit in a bunker that cannot retreat should be destroyed when the bunker is destroyed - and a medal awarded to the attacking player.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Wed, 01 August 2012 23:03
Phread wrote on Wed, 01 August 2012 22:50

To me, blowing up a bunker with a unit in the bunker is similar to blowing up a bridge with a unit on the bridge.

From the cards database
Actions Card #2 Blowing Up Bridges

Q. If a unit is on a bridge when it is blown up, is the unit destroyed?
A. Yes. The whole unit is destroyed along with the bridge. The unit counts as a Medal.


I reiterate, a unit in a bunker that cannot retreat should be destroyed when the bunker is destroyed - and a medal awarded to the attacking player.


Your reasoning makes sense to me Phread and gives consistency to the game. (edited)

Another possibility may be adding a new Action card for the neutralization of fixed firing positions (artillery in a bunker) either using a Petard Mortar or a Combat Engineers unit, similar to blowing bridges or sabotage actions.

Cheers

[Updated on: Thu, 02 August 2012 10:28]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sat, 04 August 2012 09:43
I asked Richard about the Petard Mortars here at WBC this morning. He said that he would consider destruction of a vacant bunker to be a successful close assault, and therefore, the Hobart would be able to take ground and overrun.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sat, 04 August 2012 12:56
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 09:43

I asked Richard about the Petard Mortars here at WBC this morning. He said that he would consider destruction of a vacant bunker to be a successful close assault, and therefore, the Hobart would be able to take ground and overrun.


Sam, thanks for asking Richard. If you have the chance, what about a destroyed bunker with units inside? Does he apply the same rules as per bridges with units on it?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sat, 04 August 2012 15:04
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 03:43

I asked Richard about the Petard Mortars here at WBC this morning. He said that he would consider destruction of a vacant bunker to be a successful close assault, and therefore, the Hobart would be able to take ground and overrun.


Sam you will be the walking FAQ after all your time with Richard. Thanks for thinking of us by getting these questions answerred.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sat, 04 August 2012 22:53
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 19:43

I asked Richard about the Petard Mortars here at WBC this morning. He said that he would consider destruction of a vacant bunker to be a successful close assault, and therefore, the Hobart would be able to take ground and overrun.


Just like some wise player suggested earlier. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 14:01
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 06:56

Sam, thanks for asking Richard. If you have the chance, what about a destroyed bunker with units inside? Does he apply the same rules as per bridges with units on it?

The rules specify that if there is a unit in the bunker and both are destroyed, the Hobart can overrun.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 15:29
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 14:01

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 04 August 2012 06:56

Sam, thanks for asking Richard. If you have the chance, what about a destroyed bunker with units inside? Does he apply the same rules as per bridges with units on it?

The rules specify that if there is a unit in the bunker and both are destroyed, the Hobart can overrun.


Sam, I think I didn't word the question properly.

what if the unit is only weakened and the bunker is destroyed? Is the unit automatically destroyed - giving a medal - as if on a bridge?

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 16:01
You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 16:18
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 18:01

You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.


And I assume that comes straight from Richard? I'll put it into my documentation for the next FAQ update.

Nice work organizing the tournament and being a field reporter at the same time! Or maybe you were more of a BEL hero! Very Happy

Either way, thanks for the info. Cool
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 22:06
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 02:01

You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.


I am saddened by this answer, because I think it makes no sense (for artillery in a bunker).

If an artillery unit is in a bunker and the bunker is destroyed then the artillery unit should be destroyed as well (remember this is a fixed gun emplacement).

I accept an infantry unit in a bunker could set up next to the destroyed bunker and therefore survive destruction.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 22:20
Phread wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 22:06

sam1812 wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 02:01

You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.


I am saddened by this answer, because I think it makes no sense (for artillery in a bunker).

If an artillery unit is in a bunker and the bunker is destroyed then the artillery unit should be destroyed as well (remember this is a fixed gun emplacement).

I accept an infantry unit in a bunker could set up next to the destroyed bunker and therefore survive destruction.



Yea, I do agree Phread. That's the rule that make more sense to me.

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Sun, 05 August 2012 23:34
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 10:18

sam1812 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 18:01

You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.


And I assume that comes straight from Richard? I'll put it into my documentation for the next FAQ update.

Nice work organizing the tournament and being a field reporter at the same time! Or maybe you were more of a BEL hero! Very Happy

Either way, thanks for the info. Cool

I believe Richard said the star can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit. You or I can confirm that with him.

While it may not seem right for the bunker to be blown without its occupants being killed, I suppose that it would make even less sense for a single star to destroy a 4-figure infantry.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 00:03
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 01:34

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 10:18

sam1812 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 18:01

You can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit.


And I assume that comes straight from Richard? I'll put it into my documentation for the next FAQ update.

Nice work organizing the tournament and being a field reporter at the same time! Or maybe you were more of a BEL hero! Very Happy

Either way, thanks for the info. Cool

I believe Richard said the star can destroy the bunker without eliminating the unit. You or I can confirm that with him.


I'll confirm with him before I put it in the FAQ, but at least it's pointing me in the right direction.

Quote:

While it may not seem right for the bunker to be blown without its occupants being killed, I suppose that it would make even less sense for a single star to destroy a 4-figure infantry.


Great point! Or even a single Star destroying a full strength Artillery unit in a Bunker. I'll ask in the FAQ if the newly 'naked' Artillery can begin retreating, or if it still gets hit by Retreat Flags. Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 02:46
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 05 August 2012 18:03

Or even a single Star destroying a full strength Artillery unit in a Bunker. I'll ask in the FAQ if the newly 'naked' Artillery can begin retreating, or if it still gets hit by Retreat Flags. Smile

Ya know, I was wondering about the same thing during my drive home today. If the bunker blows up, I would assume that the flag is processed after the star, in which case it can't protect its occupants from retreat.

So, if an Armor-Assaulting petard rolls 3d against an arty in a bunker, and rolls flag, flag, star, does it

A - Destroy the bunker, and kill one figure, because the second flag is a hit?

B - Destroy the bunker, and retreat the arty 1 hex, because the first flag was ignored?

C - Destroy the bunker, and retreat the arty 2 hexes, because there's no more terrain protection against hits or flags.

I'm betting on C, which assumes that the bunker stops protecting the unit.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 08:01
Sam you need an option D.

D. A unit in a bunker that cannot retreat is destroyed if the bunker is destroyed.

As have previously stated, a unit that can retreat from a bunker should not be destroyed if the bunker is destroyed. A unit that cannot retreat from a bunker (typically an artillery unit) is destroyed if the bunker is destroyed.

Under the current rules if I roll 3 flags on an artillery unit in a bunker the unit is destroyed because it cannot retreat.
Why, then, should the unit that cannot retreat suddenly be able to retreat if the bunker is destroyed?

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 08:35
Sam & Phread,

what if units in this case can not ignore FLAGS rolled against them just as with the Barrage and Air Power cards? According to the FAQ, artillery units may retreat in this case.

If a Petard Mortar successfully destroys a bunker with a STAR rolled, then the unit cannot ignore any of the FLAGS, thus the bunker is removed off the board and the Armor unit may take ground & overrun if in close assault.

[Updated on: Mon, 06 August 2012 08:55]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 08:57
Almilcar wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 18:35

Sam & Phread,

what if units in this case can not ignore FLAGS rolled against them just as with the Barrage and Air Power cards? According to the FAQ, artillery units may retreat in this case.

If a Petard Mortar successfully destroys a bunker with a STAR rolled, then the unit cannot ignore any of the FLAGS, thus the bunker is removed off the board and the Armor unit may take ground & overrun if in close assault.




I think I answered this.
In my view if a unit can retreat then it is not automatically destroyed when the bunker is destroyed. A unit that cannot retreat dies in the bunker.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 17:55
I had this thiought when I awoke this morning - scary.

If the unit in the bunker is a sniper, do you have a choice of which is killed by the star, the bunker or the sniper?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 18:26
stevens wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 17:55

I had this thiought when I awoke this morning - scary.

If the unit in the bunker is a sniper, do you have a choice of which is killed by the star, the bunker or the sniper?


Disregard my question. I've checked the FAQ and I've seen the sniper may be hit by a STAR in some special cases.

However, I'd say that the STAR rolled by a Petard Mortar may destroy the bunker as it is his primary role.


[Updated on: Mon, 06 August 2012 18:39]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 20:18
stevens wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 17:55

I had this thiought when I awoke this morning - scary.

If the unit in the bunker is a sniper, do you have a choice of which is killed by the star, the bunker or the sniper?

the petard mortar rules say that a star hits the unit and removes the bunker. So you don't have to choose.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re: New Equipment Pack - Petard Mortar Mon, 06 August 2012 21:08
Quit2 wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 22:18

stevens wrote on Mon, 06 August 2012 17:55

I had this thiought when I awoke this morning - scary.

If the unit in the bunker is a sniper, do you have a choice of which is killed by the star, the bunker or the sniper?

the petard mortar rules say that a star hits the unit and removes the bunker. So you don't have to choose.


I was going to say the exat same thing...Only certain units hit on Star rolls, and therefore kill Snipers on Stars. The Petard Mortar unit does not hit on Stars (except for destroying Bunkers) so Snipers would be safe.

Well, as safe as one can be when a Bunker is destroyed around you by an attacking tank! Laughing
      
Pages (2): [1  2  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Fall of Poland - Scenario 25 - Hel
Next Topic:M44 Editor - Print Preview Questions
Goto Forum: