Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
grom358
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
September 2012
  Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers Mon, 17 September 2012 05:56
The rules for Hills, Forest, Swamp, Merchant, Heroic all use the words you occupy. Therefore do the regions occupied by your in decline race count for these special powers?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7189
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers Mon, 17 September 2012 07:49
grom358 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 07:56

The rules for Hills, Forest, Swamp, Merchant, Heroic all use the words you occupy. Therefore do the regions occupied by your in decline race count for these special powers?




Unless it is stated in the rules, or there is an image on the "In Decline" side of the token, powers don't apply when a race is in decline.

None of the powers you list continue In Decline. Smile
      
grom358
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
September 2012
Re:Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers Mon, 17 September 2012 08:50
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 15:49

grom358 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 07:56

The rules for Hills, Forest, Swamp, Merchant, Heroic all use the words you occupy. Therefore do the regions occupied by your in decline race count for these special powers?




Unless it is stated in the rules, or there is an image on the "In Decline" side of the token, powers don't apply when a race is in decline.

None of the powers you list continue In Decline. Smile


No I meant say you select a new race with that special power. Does you in-decline race occupied regions count towards the bonus? I realise that when you go in-decline that special power is lost.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7189
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers Mon, 17 September 2012 09:59
grom358 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 10:50

rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 15:49

grom358 wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 07:56

The rules for Hills, Forest, Swamp, Merchant, Heroic all use the words you occupy. Therefore do the regions occupied by your in decline race count for these special powers?




Unless it is stated in the rules, or there is an image on the "In Decline" side of the token, powers don't apply when a race is in decline.

None of the powers you list continue In Decline. Smile


No I meant say you select a new race with that special power. Does you in-decline race occupied regions count towards the bonus? I realise that when you go in-decline that special power is lost.


Ah, I see what you're asking. Smile

Only your active race benefits from your Special Power. So if you have Hill Giants, but all of the hills are occupied by your In Decline Orcs, you would have to defeat your own In Decline race to get the benefit. Confused

It's a good idea to check the board before taking a new race to make sure you can use the Special Power that comes with it! Very Happy
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Rule Clarification for you occupy special powers Mon, 24 September 2012 23:21
grom358 wrote on Sun, 16 September 2012 19:56

The rules for Hills, Forest, Swamp, Merchant, Heroic all use the words you occupy. Therefore do the regions occupied by your in decline race count for these special powers?



A special power only applies to the race which has that power, never to the other race (or two) which the player may have.

Even when a special power applies in decline, that power only applies to that one race.

EG:
I have in decline swimming trolls and active forest fairies...
Only the trolls get to be in water and only the trolls get troll holes.
Only the fairies get the bonus coins for being in forests.
      
    
Previous Topic:Rule Clarification for redeployment
Next Topic:SWU - Scepter of Avarice/Mine of Lost Dwarf Interaction
Goto Forum: