Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » In preperation of our overlord game tonight
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sat, 04 February 2012 01:37
Playing Sword of Stalingrad tonight with 8 players
Just would like to clear up the Blitz rule with recon 1's in OL.
When playing the recon1 as part of the blitz rule, dose this in effect turn the card into a air power card (in the section listed) so that the CiC plays it not the FG? So the CiC could play the recon1 and give the FG in that section other cards.
Also by playing that recon1 as a blitz dose this mean the CiC can not draw 3 cards at the end of his turn? only 2
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2246
Registered:
August 2006
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sat, 04 February 2012 05:50
Yes, that's how I'd play it.

As has been well established in standard Blitz games, the Recon-1 "becomes" an Air Power for purposes of that player's turn, so it would be played by the CinC. (Otherwise, you'd be able to play 3 air strikes in a turn. Or potentially even 2 overlapping Recon-1 air strikes plus an Air Power. Shocked )

When you use a Recon-1 as Air Power in a regular game, you don't get the card choice, so if you do it in a Blitz game, you shouldn't get the extra card and Combat card.

But if the opponent chooses to Counter-Attack a Recon-1 that was used as Air Power, it would still be a normal Recon-1 for him.

(The Germans can Counter-Attack a Russian Recon-1 and use it as an air strike.)

Have fun!
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sat, 04 February 2012 06:11
cool thanks,

will be a good night, memoir 44, beers and BBQ how can you go wrong
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7080
Registered:
July 2007
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sat, 04 February 2012 06:40
Aussie_Digger wrote on Sat, 04 February 2012 09:11

cool thanks,

will be a good night, memoir 44, beers and BBQ how can you go wrong


I don't think it's possible to go wrong with that combination!! Sounds like fun. Cool
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 06:38
great game was had by all, I was the German CiC and the other most experinaced player was the Russian CiC (we managed to have 8 players too)

Germans won Sword Of Stalingrad 17 to the Russians 15 was a very tence game.

One thing did come up, how can the Russians counter attack a their finest hour card, since the russians have to play the cards that are under their command chip for their turn and when playing TFH that is the only card that can be played for your turn.

So it seems the only way they can is if they just guess that one will come up and they place 1 counter attack under their chip for that turn (almost impossible to guess)
I guess the Russians can only play it if they hold the card themselves.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2246
Registered:
August 2006
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 06:47
This is discussed in the Overlord rule book.

The Russians can counter-attack TFH by playing a Counter-Attack from their hand, instead of the chip cards.

Glad you had a great game!
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 07:37
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 05 February 2012 15:17

This is discussed in the Overlord rule book.

The Russians can counter-attack TFH by playing a Counter-Attack from their hand, instead of the chip cards.

Glad you had a great game!


I did read that in the rules but in the section talking about the commisar rule it states ".....These are the cards he must play or hand out during his turn" refering to the cards placed under the chip in preperation for the turn. I did already see from the rules that you can play a counter attack from your hand providing that there are not 3 cards under the chip (as the cic can only play a max of and he must play the cards under the chip.
The problem occurs when for example, the russian player has 2 cards under the chip, the germans played a TFH and the russians hold a counter attack they can not play the counter attack as on the bottom of the TFH its says No other card may be played this turn, but there are already 2 cards that are under the chip to be played.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1063
Registered:
December 2007
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 09:32
I might be wrong(!) but if you have Counter Attck in your Soviet hand, and not under your chip, then you can play the card as the only card to counter-attack TFH.

So the advice for the Soviet C-i-C is to keep Counter Attack in your hand and never under the chip.

The "no other card my be played" applies to the side paying TFH for the turn in which it is played.

Does this help?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7080
Registered:
July 2007
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 09:43
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sun, 05 February 2012 12:32

I might be wrong(!) but if you have Counter Attck in your Soviet hand, and not under your chip, then you can play the card as the only card to counter-attack TFH.

So the advice for the Soviet C-i-C is to keep Counter Attack in your hand and never under the chip.

The "no other card my be played" applies to the side paying TFH for the turn in which it is played.

Does this help?


I'm pretty sure this is the case. I don't have access to the FAQ here at work but I believe this is outlined in the section about Overlord because people have been confused about it before. If you play Counter-Attack on TFH, the two cards would just wait under the Chip until the next turn. Cool
      
Chefhörer
Junior Member
Tovarich

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
December 2007
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 11:28
faq page 43 says:
The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may
choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand. The Command cards under the Commissar chip are
not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2077
Registered:
October 2004
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 12:12
This is the info I have put on my Commissar OL Player aid sheet I have made up - hope this helps.

COMMISSAR OL Rules Summery

(Play AMBUSH from hand and AIR SORTIES as per regular OL rules – NOTE: AIR SORTIES equivalents can only be played from under the chip -- this also apples to RECON 1s)

1) Must place 1 to 3 cards under chip to start a game if moving second in a given scenario or play up to 3 cards and place 3 up to 3 cards under the chip for use on the following Soviet Turn if moving first in a given scenario

2) In a turn the Soviet CinC must do one of the following:

a) Play all chip cards
NOTE: Any COUNTERATTACK card (s) are discarded and wasted if the opposing
CinC plays TFH or BARRAGE as the chip cards can only CA cards given to an
opposing FG

b) Play a CA card(s) from hand in conjunction w/ ALL chip cards. In this case the max of
3 cards played MUST not be exceeded. So the only way for this to happen is there
must be 2 or less chip cards.

c) Play an AIR SORTIE(S) (which are placed face up on the Soviet side of the table) in
conjunction w/ any other cards played that turn but such that the total number of cards
played does not exceed 3.

NOTE: In a,b & c above, chip cards that are used are replaced w/ up to 3 new chip cards from the Soviet CinCs hand.

d) Play a COUNTERATTACK card from hand in lieu of the chip cards -- this allow a CA of a TFH

e) Play two or more COUNTERATTACK cards from hand in lieu of the chip cards.

NOTE: In both c & d above, the chip cards in question are played normally on the following Soviet player turn.

[Updated on: Sun, 05 February 2012 12:13]

      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 13:08
I do see that part in the FAQ now, i must have missed it as I was reading all the rules from the rule book and sheet that came with the map which when reading and using them as written made it impossible for TFH to be countered by the Russians, Also i did read the FAQ but I think the Pharagraph before the one you outlined help me decide that it could not be done and i must not have taken to much notice of the next part.

"A Counter-Attack may be played directly from the Soviet Command-in-Chief hand along with 1 or 2 Command
cards from under the Commissar chip. A Counter-Attack card played from the Soviet Command-in-Chiefʼs hand
may be used to issue the same order just played by an opposing Field General or counter a card played by the opposing
Commander-in-Chief. It is important to note that the Counter-Attack card may only be played from the hand along with 1 or 2
cards under the Commissar chip. If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may
not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit. Also note that all the Command cards
under the Commissar chip must be played"
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7080
Registered:
July 2007
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Sun, 05 February 2012 14:50
Aussie_Digger wrote on Sun, 05 February 2012 16:08

I do see that part in the FAQ now, i must have missed it as I was reading all the rules from the rule book and sheet that came with the map which when reading and using them as written made it impossible for TFH to be countered by the Russians, Also i did read the FAQ but I think the Pharagraph before the one you outlined help me decide that it could not be done and i must not have taken to much notice of the next part.

"A Counter-Attack may be played directly from the Soviet Command-in-Chief hand along with 1 or 2 Command
cards from under the Commissar chip. A Counter-Attack card played from the Soviet Command-in-Chiefʼs hand
may be used to issue the same order just played by an opposing Field General or counter a card played by the opposing
Commander-in-Chief. It is important to note that the Counter-Attack card may only be played from the hand along with 1 or 2
cards under the Commissar chip. If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may
not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit. Also note that all the Command cards
under the Commissar chip must be played"


Yep, that makes it sound like you couldn't counter the TFH card, but Overlord rules are so complicated (and made even more complex with the Commissar rules, that you have to read through the whole section to catch everything.

I'm glad we got it all figured out so you know what you can (and can't) do for next time you play! Cool
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 211
Registered:
March 2010
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Mon, 06 February 2012 11:31
Thanks all, the good thing is that it didnt effect the game as the Russians didn't have a CA when TFH was played but the question did come up during the game.

So my victory as CiC with my german generals was not tanted
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:In preperation of our overlord game tonight Tue, 04 December 2012 22:30
I read that too and found it a bit confusing.

Quote:

A Counter-Attack may be played directly from the Soviet Command-in-Chief hand along with 1 or 2 Command
cards from under the Commissar chip....

If there are 3 Command cards under the Commissar chip the Soviet Command-in-Chief may not play a Counter-Attack card from his hand because it would exceed the 3 card limit.

Also note that all the Command cards under the Commissar chip must be played. The Soviet Command-in-Chief may not choose to play only 1 card from under the Commissar chip and leave 1 card under the chip.


The first sentence is the CiC's option, the next describe it for this circumstance, not the following:
Quote:

The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand.

The Command cards under the Commissar chip are not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn.


So the 2nd is the circumstance where you would counter TFH (or Barrage, Air Power, or their Counter) when there's already 3 cards under the chip. Perhaps the first sentence of each could be in bold or the start of separate bullet points?

[Updated on: Wed, 05 December 2012 04:43]

      
    
Previous Topic:New Overlord Scenario
Next Topic:New overlord scenario - US 1st army landings in Normandy
Goto Forum: