Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Close Assault-Ambush Cards
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 00:17
Just played a game with my (very understanding!) wife............
I played close assault card, she countered with ambush. She was in town hex, I was in open hex.
She attacked with 3 dice, killed 2 inf & on my retaliation throw she thought I should only use 2 dice instead of 3 as the ambush card states if you're not eliminated or retreat you may then attack normally.
She thought this meant that the bonus die I received with the close assault card shouldn't count after her ambush card, I thought I was still able to use the complete 3 dice to attack.
Who is correct? ( I think it's me!)
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 00:55
As long as you didn't have to retreat (she didn'r throw a Flag), you resume your attack with 3 dice as per the NORMAL rules on the Close Assault Card.

Town hex reduces dice to 2 but card says one extra dice, so back to 3.

[Updated on: Tue, 01 January 2013 00:55]

      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 13:07
My thoughts exactly!
Thank you & may I wish the Memoir brotherhood a very happy & prosperous 2013.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 13:41
Geeza Dude wrote on Tue, 01 January 2013 07:07

My thoughts exactly!
Thank you & may I wish the Memoir brotherhood a very happy & prosperous 2013.


If you want to keep a happy marriage, don't forget to thank the sisterhood too. Especially if you want your wife to continue to be a game partner.
Laughing
      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 13:52
Good point, I'm struggling for playing partners at the best of times.........
All my mates think I'm weird!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 14:07
You may be weird, but apart from that if you enjoy Memoir '44, which all of us do, then your still a good mate in our book.

The Memoir '44 community is a very diverse group in some ways. But most all of us enjoy military history and the challenge of gaming. We enjoy the opportunity of playing with an international team and I would think that most of have been considered 'weird" at sometime in our life. So move on and have fun.

[Updated on: Tue, 01 January 2013 15:16]

      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 14:29
Totally agree buddy, shame I can't get any of them interested in playing though!
My military history interest centres mainly on WWII architecture; bunkers, pillboxes etc......
Anyone in the Inverness area would like to meet & have a few maps get in touch please!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2071
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 15:50
Geeza Dude wrote on Tue, 01 January 2013 07:52

Good point, I'm struggling for playing partners at the best of times.........
All my mates think I'm weird!



Hello sir.

I may have an answer to your lack of opponents. I have sent you a PM about a Memoir '44 ladder group I run.

[Updated on: Tue, 01 January 2013 15:51]

      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Tue, 01 January 2013 23:28
Another question about close combat-ambush cards guys!
I played a close combat card, opponent played ambush. They rolled 1 flag, I retreated. Could I still fire at their unit as technically I was no longer in close combat?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2071
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 01:37
Geeza Dude wrote on Tue, 01 January 2013 17:28

Another question about close combat-ambush cards guys!
I played a close combat card, opponent played ambush. They rolled 1 flag, I retreated. Could I still fire at their unit as technically I was no longer in close combat?



Ok-the flag from the Ambush alone will not allow the ordered unit to attack.

There could be a case where a unit ordered by Close Assault suffers a flag from Ambush and is able to retreat to a hex that would still leave it adjacent to an enemy unit. But the flag would still prevert the order unit from firing.

As to Close Assault, an ordered unit may still be denied from firing if any prior attacks from other units flag an enemy unit so that it is no longer adjacent when it comes for that unit to fire.

At this point in time I would like to direct you to the official FAQ. I would recommend highly that you read through it and it will answer many questions you might have. Although you need not read every page, it does make a good read and it would not hurt to do so Smile

FAQ can be found here and downloaded:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/
      
5 star general
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 204
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 01:47
My wife is my chief t2t player. If you want to keep playing on a regular bases, keep in the good graces of you wife. Very Happy
The only other people I have to play against are my grandsons, some times.
      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 02:15
Cheers tank commander, I've printed off the book & keep it out for reference during games but somehow the questions I've asked don't seem to be covered in there.......Maybe I missed the answers?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 04:24
Geeza, if you cant find an answer to your question, post it online. It does us all good to refresh our memories and help out the new lads. Maybe someone else is struggling to. For some of us who have been at this 7 or more years still need a little brushing up from time to time.
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 05:56
FAQ

Q. Can a unit finish the attack after an Ambush, when a Flag is rolled during the Ambush?

A. Normally the answer is no, because when a unit moves out of the original hex on a retreat it may not
finish the attack, even if it would move back towards its baseline and is still adjacent to the enemy unit that
did the Ambush. However, if the unit being Ambushed must retreat but its retreat path is blocked, it must
lose one figure for each retreat move it cannot complete and because the unit did not move from the hex it
was in, it may attack normally.


Hope this clarifies the issue.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2071
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 11:34
stevens wrote on Tue, 01 January 2013 22:24

Geeza, if you cant find an answer to your question, post it online. It does us all good to refresh our memories and help out the new lads. Maybe someone else is struggling to. For some of us who have been at this 7 or more years still need a little brushing up from time to time.



Exactly right.

I was just pointing out the FAQ as I was not sure if you had it. We are all happy here to help out.
      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 13:44
Cheers guys, you've all been extremely helpful. The community spirit is alive & well!
      
Geeza Dude
Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 13:55
Ok guys, another question........(we've been playing a lot of maps this Christmas!)

I played a Behind Enemy Lines card. I moved 3 hexes & ended up next to an enemy unit which I didn't want to battle. The faqs say you don't have to battle but it was a close assault which, if in effect, has to be carried out as per the normal rules. Do I have to battle or not?
Thanks for your help & knowledge!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Close Assault-Ambush Cards Wed, 02 January 2013 14:11
You NEVER have to battle.
It is always your choice. And sometimes it is a very bad choice. Say the unit you were using with the BEL card has only 2 figures and decides to battle. Your opponent tosses out his AMBUSH card rolls 3 INF and you are dead without accomplishing your objective.
      
    
Previous Topic:new milestones
Next Topic:Six games in 54mm today and one special game yesterday
Goto Forum: