Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Recon card and command cars
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Recon card and command cars Mon, 07 January 2013 23:19
Ok - the rules state what happens when you play a Recon Card and use one order to order the CC. You get to draw one card from the discard pile.

How aobut this:

Play a Recon card in the same section as a CC (the +1 order still applies). The CC is NOT ordered (two other units are). I assume that the Recon standard still applies here: draw 2 cards and keep one.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2266
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 02:32
That's how I would interpret it. The Command Car's normal rule of ordering an extra unit would apply, and so would the standard Recon choice rule.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 02:51
P.8 Equipment Pack Rules
Quote:

In addition, when a Command Car is ordered by the play of a Recon 1 card, its player may choose 1 Command card of his choice from those already in the discard pile, instead of drawing 2 Command cards from the draw pile. The selection of this card remains secret from your opponent.


I agree with you and Sam. Since you are not ordering the Command Car it only follows that you get the section card benefit of one additional order and apply the standard Recon-1 benefit. Additionly the rules say "may choose" so if you did order the Command Car, you are not REQUIRED to draw a card from the discard stack, but you may chose that option versus the traditional draw of two new cards and discard one.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 11:49
stevens wrote on Mon, 07 January 2013 20:51

P.8 Equipment Pack Rules
Quote:

In addition, when a Command Car is ordered by the play of a Recon 1 card, its player may choose 1 Command card of his choice from those already in the discard pile, instead of drawing 2 Command cards from the draw pile. The selection of this card remains secret from your opponent.


I agree with you and Sam. Since you are not ordering the Command Car it only follows that you get the section card benefit of one additional order and apply the standard Recon-1 benefit. Additionly the rules say "may choose" so if you did order the Command Car, you are not REQUIRED to draw a card from the discard stack, but you may chose that option versus the traditional draw of two new cards and discard one.



Good catch there (may choose). I was in the middle of a game when I looked at the rule to make sure, so missed that.

On a side note, drawing 1 from the discard pile on Vassal when using that rule can be pose a bit of a problem. As all those cards are face up your opponent would know which one you took.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 15:13
tank commander wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 05:49


On a side note, drawing 1 from the discard pile on Vassal when using that rule can be pose a bit of a problem. As all those cards are face up your opponent would know which one you took.


I think Bart is working on a way to handle this in the Vassal Module. It might do to send him a PM to see if this work around is in the new downloads.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 892
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 17:30
stevens wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 15:13

tank commander wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 05:49


On a side note, drawing 1 from the discard pile on Vassal when using that rule can be pose a bit of a problem. As all those cards are face up your opponent would know which one you took.


I think Bart is working on a way to handle this in the Vassal Module. It might do to send him a PM to see if this work around is in the new downloads.


The feature is already implemented in the latest module for Vassal. There are two new buttons "CC Axis" or "CC Allies" in which any of the players may draw a card from the discard pile without being seen.

http://i45.tinypic.com/mjlqip.png

Cheers
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 21:04
Great Job Bart! Thanks!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2133
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Recon card and command cars Tue, 08 January 2013 22:10
Almilcar wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 11:30

stevens wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 15:13

tank commander wrote on Tue, 08 January 2013 05:49


On a side note, drawing 1 from the discard pile on Vassal when using that rule can be pose a bit of a problem. As all those cards are face up your opponent would know which one you took.


I think Bart is working on a way to handle this in the Vassal Module. It might do to send him a PM to see if this work around is in the new downloads.


The feature is already implemented in the latest module for Vassal. There are two new buttons "CC Axis" or "CC Allies" in which any of the players may draw a card from the discard pile without being seen.

http://i45.tinypic.com/mjlqip.png

Cheers



That is way cool - lol.

[Updated on: Tue, 08 January 2013 22:11]

      
    
Previous Topic:Selling AIR PACK and CAMPAIGN BOOK VOL. 1
Next Topic:Snipers vs. Tanks
Goto Forum: