Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Activating a plane
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
marcosten
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 64
Registered:
April 2009
Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 03:14
Do you need a command card in addition to the air sortie card to activate a plane.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7079
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 03:20
marcosten wrote on Sat, 19 January 2013 06:14

Do you need a command card in addition to the air sortie card to activate a plane.


No. If you want to just play an Air Sortie card, you can, but you won't draw a new card (since you didn't play one from your hand) and you will only be able to activate your Plane. Also, if your opponent has a Counter Attack, he can use it to counter your Air Sortie.

If you play Air Sortie with a section card (or certain Tactic cards) then you can order other units as well, and your opponent would only be able to counter the section (or Tactic) card. In either case, if you play an Air Sortie card, you don't have to roll for Air Check.

I hope that helps. Cool
      
marcosten
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 64
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 14:29
R - That's what I thought.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 579
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 14:55
With just an Air Sortie card, you can fully 'order' the aircraft, not just 'activate' it ... correct?

ie Introduce it to the board, move it and select the eligible battle action?

Just checking this as i'm starting to play with Air Rules after a long time, cheers

Jim
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7079
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 14:57
Jaykay2010 wrote on Sat, 19 January 2013 17:55

With just an Air Sortie card, you can fully 'order' the aircraft, not just 'activate' it ... correct?

ie Introduce it to the board, move it and select the eligible battle action?

Just checking this as i'm starting to play with Air Rules after a long time, cheers

Jim


Correct. With the Air Sortie card, you can do everything a plane can do and you get the added bonus of not having to roll an Air Check for that turn.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 579
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 15:01
Cheers buddy Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7079
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Activating a plane Sat, 19 January 2013 18:07
Jaykay2010 wrote on Sat, 19 January 2013 18:01

Cheers buddy Smile


My pleasure. Have fun with the Air Pack added in! I know that some people don't like the Air Rules as they are written but I really like them; they add an exciting new element to think about and watch out for. I always enjoy when they are added into the game.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 579
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Activating a plane Sun, 20 January 2013 13:42
I've found it's breathed new life into many of the 'original' scenarios, really enjoying getting to grips with the added strategical nuances the arrival of airplanes onto the board provides.

Jim
      
    
Previous Topic:Anyone created a home-made winter station hex?
Next Topic:printing a scenario ready to play
Goto Forum: