Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » General stevens Rules Quiz No.4
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:10
It sounds to me like you guys are getting revved up on this quiz idea. I don't think I can keep up the writing as fast and furious as I have been, so I think I may step back to one quiz a week instead of the one a day joy you have now been experiencing.

A few guys mentioned "prices". I believe what they meant was PRIZES!!!
All I can say is good luck with that idea. Laughing
I am needing all my resources just keeping up with thinking of questions.

Nevertheless, I did want to change things up a bit for this next quiz. So on this next quiz I have found about 28-29, or possibly even more answers. I will give an example that counts as one of the answers and then each person guessing afterward may give up to 4 distinct answers (in other words, you can't put the same answer someone else has already given).
I think it is going to take a while to answer all these possibilities. In this way, more folks get to play and enjoy. So here is my quiz:

http://cdn.theatlantic.com/static/infocus/ww2_14/s_w39_ba000007.jpg

The attack ability of Armor is an awesome thing. Not only do they fire 3 dice at full range when attacking another unit on open ground, but they may Close Assault and if they successfully eliminate the unit they are attacking or force it to retreat, they may battle again. The new players who see or experience this display of might soon become enamored with the Armor ability. They often lead off with Armor in every battle only to be dissapointed with the results. The begin claiming there are bugs in the Memoir '44 Online Game because their Armor failed to live up to expectations. They also usually lose those Armor units quickly to well entrenched infantry and so the real education begins.

Seasoned and more informed players (basically those who read the rules) know that there are limitations to those bohemoths and so we are more guarded and precise in our utilization of their abilities. Armor Units don't always get that full complement of dice in attacking and more often than you would first think, they also don't always get to ARMOR OVERRUN. And herein lies the question.

I can think of many different situations where an Armor Unit after an initial successful CLOSE ASSAULT does NOT get to TAKE GROUND and attack again. Almost ALL of these situations are due to Terrain restrictions. So list up to four distinct situations where this occurs in battle and be sure to mention the Terrain that caused the problem.

http://www.45thdivision.org/Veterans/Mauldin_Cartoons/_maul05.jpg

EXAMPLE:
Quote:

#1. An Armor unit moved two hexes adjacent to a HEDGEROW. It successfully Close Assaulted and eliminated the 1-fig enemy unit in the HEDGEROW... But it could not Take Ground because it didn't begin its turn adjacent to the HEDGEROW. ... And even if it could Take Ground, it could not battle again because entering a HEDGEROW. restricts the ability to battle. So NO OVERRUN!


So only about 28 more to go. Have at it guys and gals. I will make note in the Forum of incorrect answers and either you get them ALL in a weeks time or I let you off the hook with the unguessed ones.

[Updated on: Fri, 01 February 2013 19:49]

      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1384
Registered:
October 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:33
1. Woods hex (can move in but not overrun)
2. City hex (can move in but not overrun)
3. Hedgerow
4. flooded fields
5. marshes (can move in, if from adjacent hex, but not overrun)
6. ravine
7. Trenches (can move in but not overrun)
8. fish ponds (can move in but not overrun)
9. rice patties (can move in but not overrun)
10. wadi's and gullies (armor can only overrun from open ends)
all keep armor from making armor overrun

[Updated on: Fri, 01 February 2013 17:39]

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:36
If they moved into WIRE they wouldn't be allowed to Take Ground or Armor Overrun. UNIT moving in must stop and may move no further on that turn.

IF they attack someone on top of a CLIFFS OR SEA BLUFFS from the beachside they can't Armor Overrun. ARMOR and Arty can't move up from the beach side.

I'll leave the rest up for other players.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:40
Just came up with a good one. or two.

If Armor moves into a Balka and attacks, it can't take ground and armor overrun.

If Armor exits a Balka hex and attacks it can't take ground and armor overrun.

Rule: Unit moving in, or exiting a Balka hex, must stop and may move no further on that turn.

That was my 4 answers.

I wonder how many we can find.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:44
50th wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 17:33

1. Woods hex (can move in but not overrun)
2. City hex (can move in but not overrun)
3. Hedgerow
4. flooded fields
5. marshes (can move in, if from adjacent hex, but not overrun)
6. ravine
7. Trenches (can move in but not overrun)
8. fish ponds (can move in but not overrun)
9. rice patties (can move in but not overrun)
10. wadi's and gullies (armor can only overrun from open ends)
all keep armor from making armor overrun


Most of these allow the Armor to Take Gorund.
Stevens asked about situations where Armor COULD NOT take ground and armor overrun.

ANd the Hedgerow part can be more specific. If you start adjacent and attack a unit in Hedgerow you can take ground, but not Armor Overrun.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1384
Registered:
October 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 17:54
I was trying to be quick and recall from memory. Last time I was typing the answer at the same time as someone else and they finished before me! You are right, of course, about the hedgerows and I included the others because they do restrict AO in some way. (And my memory isn't what it used to be!)

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:03
50th wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 20:33

1. Woods hex (can move in but not overrun)
2. City hex (can move in but not overrun)
3. Hedgerow
4. flooded fields
5. marshes (can move in, if from adjacent hex, but not overrun)
6. ravine
7. Trenches (can move in but not overrun)
8. fish ponds (can move in but not overrun)
9. rice patties (can move in but not overrun)
10. wadi's and gullies (armor can only overrun from open ends)
all keep armor from making armor overrun


Laughing Your excitement is contagious, but what happened to the 4 answer limit per person?! Very Happy Laughing

[Updated on: Fri, 01 February 2013 18:03]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:13
50th wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 11:33

1. Woods hex (can move in but not overrun)
2. City hex (can move in but not overrun)
3. Hedgerow
4. flooded fields
5. marshes (can move in, if from adjacent hex, but not overrun)
6. ravine
7. Trenches (can move in but not overrun)
8. fish ponds (can move in but not overrun)
9. rice patties (can move in but not overrun)
10. wadi's and gullies (armor can only overrun from open ends)
all keep armor from making armor overrun


50th you have great enthusiasm but didn't read the instructions or the question I am afraid.
The limit is 4 responses.
The question has to do with TAKING GROUND
1. And 2 unit can take ground so incorrect
3. This was my answer so NOT Distinct -Sorry!
4. Armor unit may take ground - incorrect
5. Can take ground incorrect
6. RAVINE is correct, but you need to say why to get credit.
7,8,9 again all incorrect
10 . WADIS /GULLIES - Yes, because the impassable side may not let you TAKE GROUND

So I give you one out of ten, two if you give an explanation for RAVINES.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:17
ad79 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 11:40

Just came up with a good one. or two.

If Armor moves into a Balka and attacks, it can't take ground and armor overrun.

If Armor exits a Balka hex and attacks it can't take ground and armor overrun.

Rule: Unit moving in, or exiting a Balka hex, must stop and may move no further on that turn.

That was my 4 answers.

I wonder how many we can find.


Stig 4 points for you.
WIRE (thanks for the heads up QUIT2)
CLIFFS & SEA BLUFFS
And a double whammy for BALKAS - yes some nasty terrain

[Updated on: Fri, 01 February 2013 18:40]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:30
whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

and just to be safe, if I get one wrong, I can think of a few more.
When attacking a unit on a city ruin, in a bunker, in a fortress.
When attacking from a bunker, a fortress, ...

That should be enough ... too much

So in general, the 4 answers are:
when the armor moved into terrain that stops all movement for the rest of the turn
when the armor moved out of terrain that forces it to stop
when it attacks a unit on terrain that is impassible for armor
when it attacks from terrain where it cannot move out of.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:31
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:17

ad79 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 11:40

Just came up with a good one. or two.

If Armor moves into a Balka and attacks, it can't take ground and armor overrun.

If Armor exits a Balka hex and attacks it can't take ground and armor overrun.

Rule: Unit moving in, or exiting a Balka hex, must stop and may move no further on that turn.

That was my 4 answers.

I wonder how many we can find.


Stig 4 points for you.
MINEFIELDS
CLIFFS & SEA BLUFFS
And a double whammy for BALKAS - yes some nasty terrain

he said wire, not minefield
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 582
Registered:
November 2009
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:35
Clearly, any hexes with impassable terrain halts all armor overrun, such as:

Hedgehogs, Bunkers, Ruins, and Roadblocks !
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:42
Jaykay2010 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:35

Clearly, any hexes with impassable terrain halts all armor overrun, such as:

Hedgehogs, Bunkers, Ruins, and Roadblocks !

I am guessing that you mean IMPASSABLE
To Armor units. In that case, yes 4 more
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:50
I found 29 instances where this applies.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:57
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:30

whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

.


Guys I know you can't help yourselves,but I am only taking the first four answers. And I want to know why it cannot take ground. I see this as a learning experience
For those who need to read the rules a little more. Don't just give them a fish give the explanation.


1. onto a mine - yes, but why
2. or out of a hedgerow - incorrect, Armor unit attacking out of a hedgerow may take ground
3. or onto railroad - incorrect, unit must STOP when moving ONTO a Railroad hex, but may still battle and Take Ground
4. or onto an erg during movement - again Yes, but tell me why

So a possible 2 out of 4 if I get the explanations
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 18:59
ad79 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:50

I found 29 instances where this applies.

Yes, so did I but I am sure somebody will think of one or more that I did not,
hence, I am looking to see what you guys come up with as well.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 19:26
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:57

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:30

whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

.


Guys I know you can't help yourselves,but I am only taking the first four answers. And I want to know why it cannot take ground. I see this as a learning experience
For those who need to read the rules a little more. Don't just give them a fish give the explanation.


1. onto a mine - yes, but why
2. or out of a hedgerow - incorrect, Armor unit attacking out of a hedgerow may take ground
3. or onto railroad - incorrect, unit must STOP when moving ONTO a Railroad hex, but may still battle and Take Ground
4. or onto an erg during movement - again Yes, but tell me why

So a possible 2 out of 4 if I get the explanations

i said when it moved out of an hedgerow, then attacks, then it cannot gain ground.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 19:39
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 13:26

stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:57

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:30

whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

.


Guys I know you can't help yourselves,but I am only taking the first four answers. And I want to know why it cannot take ground. I see this as a learning experience
For those who need to read the rules a little more. Don't just give them a fish give the explanation.


1. onto a mine - yes, but why
2. or out of a hedgerow - incorrect, Armor unit attacking out of a hedgerow may take ground
3. or onto railroad - incorrect, unit must STOP when moving ONTO a Railroad hex, but may still battle and Take Ground
4. or onto an erg during movement - again Yes, but tell me why

So a possible 2 out of 4 if I get the explanations

i said when it moved out of an hedgerow, then attacks, then it cannot gain ground.



Actually this is still incorrect. Even though a unit in a HEDGEROW may only advance to the adjacent hex on exiting, this limitation does not prevent it from battling and taking ground after that successful battle. Sorry!
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 582
Registered:
November 2009
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 23:15
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:39

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 13:26

stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:57

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:30

whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

.


Guys I know you can't help yourselves,but I am only taking the first four answers. And I want to know why it cannot take ground. I see this as a learning experience
For those who need to read the rules a little more. Don't just give them a fish give the explanation.


1. onto a mine - yes, but why
2. or out of a hedgerow - incorrect, Armor unit attacking out of a hedgerow may take ground
3. or onto railroad - incorrect, unit must STOP when moving ONTO a Railroad hex, but may still battle and Take Ground
4. or onto an erg during movement - again Yes, but tell me why

So a possible 2 out of 4 if I get the explanations

i said when it moved out of an hedgerow, then attacks, then it cannot gain ground.



Actually this is still incorrect. Even though a unit in a HEDGEROW may only advance to the adjacent hex on exiting, this limitation does not prevent it from battling and taking ground after that successful battle. Sorry!




Wow - I never actually knew that !
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 23:36
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 19:39

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 13:26

stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 18:57

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 12:30

whenthe armor moved
onto a mine
or out of a hedgerow
or onto railroad
or onto an erg during movement

.


Guys I know you can't help yourselves,but I am only taking the first four answers. And I want to know why it cannot take ground. I see this as a learning experience
For those who need to read the rules a little more. Don't just give them a fish give the explanation.


1. onto a mine - yes, but why
2. or out of a hedgerow - incorrect, Armor unit attacking out of a hedgerow may take ground
3. or onto railroad - incorrect, unit must STOP when moving ONTO a Railroad hex, but may still battle and Take Ground
4. or onto an erg during movement - again Yes, but tell me why

So a possible 2 out of 4 if I get the explanations

i said when it moved out of an hedgerow, then attacks, then it cannot gain ground.



Actually this is still incorrect. Even though a unit in a HEDGEROW may only advance to the adjacent hex on exiting, this limitation does not prevent it from battling and taking ground after that successful battle. Sorry!


Then that's a bug in the online game. Wink
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Fri, 01 February 2013 23:48
Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 17:36



Then that's a bug in the online game. Wink


Then brother, I hope you have reported it. Shocked Cool Smile

And do you want to explain why an Armor unit on a MINE or entering an ERG has issues? Smile

[Updated on: Fri, 01 February 2013 23:50]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 02:56
When the killed unit is on a Mountain hex or in a Cave -- both are impassable to armor.

When the tank moved onto a Fordable River to make its first attack -- "stop and move no further."

And when your tank Ambushes and kills an attacking unit. It's a close assault, and you can't take ground. Smile

"Close, but no cigar" award to tanks moving onto a Pier and killing a unit in the Ocean -- Units can't move from Ocean directly onto a Pier, but movement in the other direction is not forbidden, so the tank would be able to take ground off of the Pier.

[Updated on: Sat, 02 February 2013 02:58]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 03:28
sam1812 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 20:56

When the killed unit is on a Mountain hex or in a Cave -- both are impassable to armor.

When the tank moved onto a Fordable River to make its first attack -- "stop and move no further."

And when your tank Ambushes and kills an attacking unit. It's a close assault, and you can't take ground. Smile

"Close, but no cigar" award to tanks moving onto a Pier and killing a unit in the Ocean -- Units can't move from Ocean directly onto a Pier, but movement in the other direction is not forbidden, so the tank would be able to take ground off of the Pier.


3 1/2 points for you Sam
MOUNTAINS
CAVES on Hills, CAVES on Mountains (I counted these as two separate Terrains and gave you .75 points each.
FORDABLE RIVERS
*Ambush (Stig Breiland emailed me this answer because he had already used up his 4, but I was reluctant to use it because it did not involve Terrain directly. So technically, yes no taking ground, but not because of the Terrain, so I will pass on it as an answer. But clever thinking, I give you both half a point. Shocked

So you finish with 4 points. Laughing Cool

It's interesting that you mentioned the PIER example, because I also got a PM about OCEANS, but there is no rule against taking ground into an OCEAN. Not something I would ever do, but not illegal. Only retreating into an OCEAN is banned.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 03:40
Whoops -- you did specify "due to terrain restrictions." I erroneously responded to "List up to four distinct situations."

Initial attack against a unit on Dragon's Teeth -- impassable to armor.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 04:49
sam1812 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 21:40

Whoops -- you did specify "due to terrain restrictions." I erroneously responded to "List up to four distinct situations."

Initial attack against a unit on Dragon's Teeth -- impassable to armor.


Gotcha, DRAGONS TEETH. Armor cannot enter.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 09:03
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 02:56



"Close, but no cigar" award to tanks moving onto a Pier and killing a unit in the Ocean -- Units can't move from Ocean directly onto a Pier, but movement in the other direction is not forbidden, so the tank would be able to take ground off of the Pier.


Would Taking Ground be allowed from PIER to PIER?

Not in any official scenarios so we won't ever get an officail answer, but I'm just asking?

[Updated on: Sat, 02 February 2013 09:03]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 09:41
ad79 wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 12:03

sam1812 wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 02:56



"Close, but no cigar" award to tanks moving onto a Pier and killing a unit in the Ocean -- Units can't move from Ocean directly onto a Pier, but movement in the other direction is not forbidden, so the tank would be able to take ground off of the Pier.


Would Taking Ground be allowed from PIER to PIER?

Not in any official scenarios so we won't ever get an officail answer, but I'm just asking?


I don't think it would be allowed. There is an official answer about moving from one bridge hex to another (from side to side) and it's not allowed...so I'm sure this would be the same. Cool
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 10:56
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 23:48

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 17:36



Then that's a bug in the online game. Wink


Then brother, I hope you have reported it. Shocked Cool Smile

And do you want to explain why an Armor unit on a MINE or entering an ERG has issues? Smile

I have not reported it because I did not know it was a bug.
Mine and erg are issues for tanks because they have to stop for the rest of the turn when they moved onto them.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 13:06
Quit2 wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 04:56

stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 23:48

Quit2 wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 17:36



Then that's a bug in the online game. Wink


Then brother, I hope you have reported it. Shocked Cool Smile

And do you want to explain why an Armor unit on a MINE or entering an ERG has issues? Smile

I have not reported it because I did not know it was a bug.
Mine and erg are issues for tanks because they have to stop for the rest of the turn when they moved onto them.


Thanks for your reply. Yes, I did not think about the fact that for some folks the ONLINE game is their primary entry point into Memoir '44. Because of this, if the game allows something (since it is the sole arbiter of the rules) then it may be deemed official. Unfortunately, it is not totally free of bugs but probably 99.9 percent free. I will be looking for this bug in the future, so thanks to for the heads up.

So MINES, and ERGS limit taking ground because if you move into them you cannot move further on that turn. A 2 point answer sir.

I think we are starting to see that Infantry have much more free range of the board than armor. The exception being those wild Mediterranean scenarios where Armor dominates in the open field.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 109
Registered:
June 2010
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 14:12
Fords cause the same limitation as Fordable Rivers, but I'm not sure if they are a separate case.

Rope Bridges may be impassable to Armor. (Terrain 62 says no movement restrictions)

Abatis denies Overrun like Roadblock.

Then a little special one: Armor close assaults an infantry unit on a collapsible raft, cannot Take Ground because river is impassable.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 15:17
Zalamence wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 08:12

Fords cause the same limitation as Fordable Rivers, but I'm not sure if they are a separate case.

Rope Bridges may be impassable to Armor. (Terrain 62 says no movement restrictions)

Abatis denies Overrun like Roadblock.

Then a little special one: Armor close assaults an infantry unit on a collapsible raft, cannot Take Ground because river is impassable.


Touché my friend!

Yes,
FORDS
ROPE BRIDGES
ABATIS
and yes very clever, even though it is on my list as well:
Infantry in a Collapsible Raft on a RIVER. Once the unit is destroyed the real issue is the RIVER into which you may not Take Ground.

4 points sir

5 more on my list

[Updated on: Sat, 02 February 2013 15:20]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 15:38
Only 5 more on the list? Shocked People have doing pretty well!!

This is a great idea and I like how much interest and conversation it has sparked. Keep up the great detective work, everyone, and thanks for doing this, Stevens!

[Updated on: Sat, 02 February 2013 15:38]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 891
Registered:
November 2011
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No. 4 Sat, 02 February 2013 19:51
stevens wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 15:17


Infantry in a Collapsible Raft on a RIVER. Once the unit is destroyed the real issue is the RIVER into which you may not Take Ground.



We faced this situation yesterday while playing "The Cadets of Saumur".

Very interesting going over these quiz threads! Very Happy
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 582
Registered:
November 2009
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sat, 02 February 2013 21:01
Not least because it highlights how much I DON'T know about the game! Wink
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1384
Registered:
October 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sat, 02 February 2013 22:29
I was typing while thinking and didn't read the whole question until after I had already started typing. I should have re-edited my responses, but wanted to be the first to respond. Embarassed

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sat, 02 February 2013 23:58
50th wrote on Sat, 02 February 2013 16:29

I was typing while thinking and didn't read the whole question until after I had already started typing. I should have re-edited my responses, but wanted to be the first to respond. Embarassed




Hey its just a game for fun so don't throw yourself on your sword just yet.
You did get the WADIS GULLIES correct and you wrote Ravines but you didn't explain why.
Just let us know why you think Ravines are an issue and feel free to guess two more. How about that.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sun, 03 February 2013 00:36
Rope Bridges are interesting: The summary card lists no restrictions on movement. However, the FAQ (page 17) says armor and artillery may not go on them.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sun, 03 February 2013 02:52
sam1812 wrote on Sun, 03 February 2013 03:36

Rope Bridges are interesting: The summary card lists no restrictions on movement. However, the FAQ (page 17) says armor and artillery may not go on them.


Perfect! One of the goals of this quiz (if I understand it right) is to send players back into the Rule Books to find answers, and into the FAQ to see what the clarifications are from Richard or DoW. You have to look both places to make sure you get it right! Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sun, 03 February 2013 03:13
Did a recount, I still have 6 more to go and so far no one has come up with one not on my list.
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:General stevens Rules Quiz No.4 Sun, 03 February 2013 08:43
did you only strike my first 4 answers from your list?
Was armor attacking from a (field) bunker or from a fortress on your list? It cannot gain ground because it is not allowed to move.
      
Pages (2): [1  2  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Gurka Troops
Next Topic:General stevens Rules Quiz No.5
Goto Forum: