Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2149
Registered:
October 2004
Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 12:03
What happens when "Night Attack" rules are in effect and a non-US player is the first player in a given scenario?

I had the Japanese rolling the daylight rolls in Manado Landings as they are the first player. I did this because it seemed a bit odd for those rolls to occur in the middle of a game turn (as opposed to the beginning of a game turn).

I know the Night Rules from the Pacific Theater expansion state that the US player (read non-Axis player?) makes the rolls and that is also stated on the Night Chart. But the only scenario in that expansion the one where the US player is the first player and thus the daylight rolls happen at the start of each game turn.

Are there any other official scenarios that use Night Rules other than those two to refer to? I thought there was but cannot recall what they might be.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2276
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 12:13
I've always played that the daylight rolls still happen before the Allied turn (which is what happens in the online game when the situation arises in SFTF).

If a scenario designer wants to specify otherwise, he could, though it might not play the alternative way online.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2149
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 12:21
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 18 March 2013 07:13

I've always played that the daylight rolls still happen before the Allied turn (which is what happens in the online game when the situation arises in SFTF).

If a scenario designer wants to specify otherwise, he could, though it might not play the alternative way online.


Was the Allied player always the first player in those SFtF scenarios?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 893
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 17:13
Hello,

I've recently played that scenario and the Allied player rolled for the visibility, even if he didn't start first.

I'm not sure whether the rule is correctly applied, however, it makes sense to me. It gives the Japanese a small advantage so that he can move some of the units before the visibility raises.

Cheers
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 17:14
tank commander wrote on Mon, 18 March 2013 07:03

What happens when "Night Attack" rules are in effect and a non-US player is the first player in a given scenario?


When we played MANADO LANDINGS in the Ladder Tournament the ALLIES rolled on their turn, this does not effectively do anything but give the Japanese a chance to move further forward on 1 turn before daylight starts.

I have also played Campaign Book #2 with Stig Breiland and we had a WHAT IF where the Japanese could choose to use Night Rules. I chose Half Moon and Sugar Loaf, and since the ALLIES went first, they started with rolling 4 dice. I think sticking to the ALLIES rolling is recommended. The card seems pretty clear on this. I think it is not dependent on which side goes first.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_19.jpg

I think Sam is correct to suggest that if their is a variance from this rule it should probably be stated specifically in the Special Rules for that scenario.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 March 2013 17:26]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1075
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Mon, 18 March 2013 19:12
I remember asking about Night Time rolls for the Parachute landings scnearios in the CB2 Breakthrough campaign. By rolling first as the Allies go first, this ran the risk of losing some cover of darkness when historically the drops were made well before dawn.

Anyhow, theme's the rules so we rolled before the first Allied turn and the Allies move first.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2149
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Tue, 19 March 2013 00:10
Achtung Panzer wrote on Mon, 18 March 2013 14:12

I remember asking about Night Time rolls for the Parachute landings scnearios in the CB2 Breakthrough campaign. By rolling first as the Allies go first, this ran the risk of losing some cover of darkness when historically the drops were made well before dawn.

Anyhow, theme's the rules so we rolled before the first Allied turn and the Allies move first.



Well actually it does give the allies 2 advantages. First off, they benefit from any range increase right off and secondly, they can prepare for a para drop as they know when full daylight arrives.

I just thought it was a bit strange to roll for this halfway through a turn.

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2276
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Tue, 19 March 2013 02:08
tank commander wrote on Mon, 18 March 2013 07:21

sam1812 wrote on Mon, 18 March 2013 07:13

I've always played that the daylight rolls still happen before the Allied turn (which is what happens in the online game when the situation arises in SFTF).

Was the Allied player always the first player in those SFtF scenarios?

I'm sure I've had it in scenarios other than Manado, but I can't put my finger on them at the moment.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Thu, 04 April 2013 04:59
Bretel Wood is at night and the Axis go first.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3064
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Night Attack rules & Daylight rolls Thu, 04 April 2013 13:32
Quite simply, the daylight rolls do not begin until the ALLIED turn. This gives the AXIS one turn of assured night conditions.

This is stated very clearly in the Pacific Theater Rules Manual p.8
Quote:

At the start of each of his turns, the US
player rolls 4 dice
. For each Star rolled move the Battle Star token 1 spot upward on the Night Visibility chart.


There is no change in this rule unless it is stated specifically in the scenario rules.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_19.jpg

[Updated on: Thu, 04 April 2013 14:35]

      
    
Previous Topic:Next ?
Next Topic:More Scenario Help!
Goto Forum: