Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Leaders
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 47
Registered:
July 2012
Leaders Tue, 19 March 2013 10:05
Hello

Now that Leaders expansion is offered as a stretch goal in KickStarter, I took a look in the rules of this expansion and have a couple of questions.

- It is written that "..Your Leader disappears the moment his Race goes in decline..". My question is what happens to the Leader when he is captured and his race goes in decline: Does the leader disappear or he remains in the Victory stash of the oppenent, worthing 2 victory coins ?

- Also, the rules read "..You can then pay your opponent a ransom of 1 Victory coin from your own personal stash to get your Leader back.." Is it possible to pay for your leader at any time of the game or you can only pay as soon as he is captured ? Are you allowed to pay a ransom if the leader is captured and his race is in decline (see also the first question) ?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Leaders Tue, 19 March 2013 11:05
draziL wrote on Tue, 19 March 2013 13:05

Hello

Now that Leaders expansion is offered as a stretch goal in KickStarter, I took a look in the rules of this expansion and have a couple of questions.

- It is written that "..Your Leader disappears the moment his Race goes in decline..". My question is what happens to the Leader when he is captured and his race goes in decline: Does the leader disappear or he remains in the Victory stash of the oppenent, worthing 2 victory coins ?


Your captured leader stays with the player who captured him Otherwise you would never benefit from having taken over a region with the Leader in it...all he would have to do in go in decline to 'free' the prisoner without paying the ransom.

Quote:

- Also, the rules read "..You can then pay your opponent a ransom of 1 Victory coin from your own personal stash to get your Leader back.." Is it possible to pay for your leader at any time of the game or you can only pay as soon as he is captured ? Are you allowed to pay a ransom if the leader is captured and his race is in decline (see also the first question) ?




I don't remember what we do (it's been a while since we used this expansion) but I think you could pay for your Leader any time. Usually you will want to randsom them back right away so you can use the token in more conquests, but I guess it wouldn't matter. Don't quote me on that answer though, because I'm not sure. Smile

[Updated on: Tue, 19 March 2013 11:05]

      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 47
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Leaders Fri, 22 March 2013 21:40
Rasmussen81, thank you for your prompt reply. Here is the official answer from DoW:

Quote:

- It is written that "..Your Leader disappears the moment his Race goes in decline..". My question is what happens to the Leader when he is captured and his race goes in decline: Does the leader disappear or he remains in the Victory stash of the oppenent, worthing 2 victory coins ?



It stays in your opponent's stash. This rule just means that you cannot keep the benefit of the defensive value of your leader once your race is in decline.

Quote:

- Also, the rules read "..You can then pay your opponent a ransom of 1 Victory coin from your own personal stash to get your Leader back.." Is it possible to pay for your leader at any time of the game or you can only pay as soon as he is captured ? Are you allowed to pay a ransom if the leader is captured and his race is in decline (see also the first question) ?



You only are offered the choice of paying a ransom once (when he is captured) "The capture (and eventual ransom) of your Leader occurs in lieu of the normal 1 token loss that happens when a Region is conquered"


      
    
Previous Topic:Fortified
Next Topic:Out-of-Print Expansions are Back!!
Goto Forum: