Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » Armor Excellence
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
kolsiegfried
Junior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2010
Armor Excellence Wed, 27 March 2013 19:21
Hello everyone,

I played a game on 3/23/13:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=35 134570#replay:turn=1

IMHO I should have earned the "Armor Excellence Award" in turn 8.

Is this a bug or am I mistaken?


Yours sincerely,
Kolsieg.
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 741
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Armor Excellence Wed, 27 March 2013 20:13
IMO you should have got the medal.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1038
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Wed, 27 March 2013 20:49
Dietrich von Kleist wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 20:13

IMO you should have got the medal.

I agree with Dietrich, that you should have gotten the medal. And I would certainly send a bug report to DoW explaining your case.

However, the medal is usually got by:
1. destroying an enemy unit
2. armor overrun
3. destroy an enemy unit on a medal objective
4. take ground onto the objective and get the medal.

I think/fear that that is what the computers "searches" for to award the medal.
It might even be that the "proximity medals" do not count for this achievement.

I feel that doing it another way, like you did, is very original and should be awarded with this achievement.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3051
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Wed, 27 March 2013 22:57
I agree, unless the medal must be on a particular single hex rather than a range of hexes. This might be the reason it did not notice or register your medal. The program may not note the range of hex medals.

Maybe you will like my skating on thin ice move.
Used BEL and advanced 4 hexes of movement on second move and not even on a road. Skated on the ice. Laughing Laughing Laughing

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQeaCqoTS1hXZCafOAco2VnCs0NdU1QVje3d3UfugcQZXRkfNHN
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=35 190471#replay:turn=7

And yes Jesse... I sent in a bug report.

[Updated on: Wed, 27 March 2013 23:07]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1141
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Wed, 27 March 2013 23:37
ARMOR EXCELLENCE
GOT 3 MEDALS (2 UNITS KILLED AND A MEDAL WON) IN A SINGLE ATTACK WITH AN ARMOR UNIT

The part I marked: the order of things is important.
You can win the medal of armor excellence with that river, but you must get the river medal after killing the second unit on the second gain ground.

Worse: this doesn't get you the medal either:
- have an armor unit on the river bank, for which you have the medal. Order it, move it away from the river bank, (loosing the medal), kill one unit, overrun, kill second unit, gain ground onto the river bank getting you the medal back. You did it in the right order, but because the unit already provided you the terrain medal at the start of the turn, it doesn't count.

This has already been discussed. Common agreement was: there is no bug. If anything is wrong, the medal description could be a little bit more clear.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3051
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 00:10
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 18:37

ARMOR EXCELLENCE
GOT 3 MEDALS (2 UNITS KILLED AND A MEDAL WON) IN A SINGLE ATTACK WITH AN ARMOR UNIT

The part I marked: the order of things is important.
You can win the medal of armor excellence with that river, but you must get the river medal after killing the second unit on the second gain ground.

Worse: this doesn't get you the medal either:
- have an armor unit on the river bank, for which you have the medal. Order it, move it away from the river bank, (loosing the medal), kill one unit, overrun, kill second unit, gain ground onto the river bank getting you the medal back. You did it in the right order, but because the unit already provided you the terrain medal at the start of the turn, it doesn't count.

This has already been discussed. Common agreement was: there is no bug. If anything is wrong, the medal description could be a little bit more clear.


So .you are saying the sequencing of events is wrong, even though the sum total
Is the same. Could be.
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 741
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 12:04
kolsiegfried wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 19:21

Hello everyone,

I played a game on 3/23/13:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=35 134570#replay:turn=1

IMHO I should have earned the "Armor Excellence Award" in turn 8.

Is this a bug or am I mistaken?


Yours sincerely,
Kolsieg.



Feel free to play this this scenario.

special rules:
1. You start
2. You are in possesion of the "Armor Assault" card
3. "Ambush" card is removed from the deck

GL!

Very Happy
http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j383/DiederC/armorexcellence_zps4f525987.jpg
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3051
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 12:29
Dietrich von Kleist wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 07:04

kolsiegfried wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 19:21

Hello everyone,

I played a game on 3/23/13:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=35 134570#replay:turn=1

IMHO I should have earned the "Armor Excellence Award" in turn 8.

Is this a bug or am I mistaken?


Yours sincerely,
Kolsieg.



Feel free to play this this scenario.

special rules:
1. You start
2. You are in possesion of the "Armor Assault" card
3. "Ambush" card is removed from the deck

GL!

Very Happy
http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j383/DiederC/armorexcellence_zps4f525987.jpg


Yes, and I roll 2 stars and 2 armor on the first roll. Shocked Mad Crying or Very Sad
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 741
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 13:11
stevens wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 12:29

Dietrich von Kleist wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 07:04

kolsiegfried wrote on Wed, 27 March 2013 19:21

Hello everyone,

I played a game on 3/23/13:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=35 134570#replay:turn=1

IMHO I should have earned the "Armor Excellence Award" in turn 8.

Is this a bug or am I mistaken?


Yours sincerely,
Kolsieg.



Feel free to play this this scenario.

special rules:
1. You start
2. You are in possesion of the "Armor Assault" card
3. "Ambush" card is removed from the deck

GL!

Very Happy



Yes, and I roll 2 stars and 2 armor on the first roll. Shocked Mad Crying or Very Sad



In this case you get the "black heart" medal Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3051
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 16:01
Dietrich von Kleist wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 08:11


In this case you get the "black heart" medal Smile



I think maybe it should be the BLACK CLOVER instead for Bad Luck

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTeuHtyMvrUkDteKlNARVtxDy5rcG7sAqVeXGxFo3N0pEEy89DD
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 741
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Armor Excellence Thu, 28 March 2013 16:31
stevens wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 16:01

Dietrich von Kleist wrote on Thu, 28 March 2013 08:11


In this case you get the "black heart" medal Smile



I think maybe it should be the BLACK CLOVER instead for Bad Luck

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTeuHtyMvrUkDteKlNARVtxDy5rcG7sAqVeXGxFo3N0pEEy89DD


Laughing Laughing Laughing

[Updated on: Thu, 28 March 2013 16:32]

      
    
Previous Topic:Interesting Article with DoW CEO
Next Topic:Software will no longer run or even install on my mac
Goto Forum: