Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 05 April 2013 00:15
Hello,

I just played this game several times, and I found out ont or two things that made me wonder :

- when it's your last turn, you have Leprechauns and still some Pot of Gold, do you get the remaining ones after the turn of the last player or not ?

- When you have Ghouls in decline, can you attack with them and decline with the active race ? Or I think you can do nothing else when you decline, but as it is stated you attack with Ghouls in decline before attacking with the active race...

Thanks a lot !
      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 05 April 2013 09:09
Hi !

Here are the official answers to your questions :

- During your last turn, it is useless to place your remaining Pots of Gold on the map, as you won't be able to get them. As stated by the rules, you are supposed to get your Pots at the start of your next turn, but in the case you describe, there is no next turn for you ! ^^

- When you decline with your active race, you are not allowed to attack with your Ghouls in decline.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sat, 06 April 2013 10:58
And what about Seafaring Ghouls in decline ? They still can conquer water regions, can't they ?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sat, 06 April 2013 11:12
blaxnlion wrote on Sat, 06 April 2013 12:58

And what about Seafaring Ghouls in decline ? They still can conquer water regions, can't they ?


Yes, they can.
      
Daihideo
Junior Member
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 14
Registered:
December 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 11 April 2013 19:57
Thanks for this FAQ thread, really helps in a pinch Very Happy
      
JBen425
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
March 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 30 April 2013 05:06
This may be a super dumb question, but here is the scenario:

I have an active race. On one space, I have three tokens. on another space, I have one.

Another player comes in and attacks both spaces and conquers them. How many of my tokens go back into the box?

I know I lose one, but do I also lose another because it was the only token on a space? It seems like this is what the rules say but I am still confused.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 30 April 2013 06:27
JBen425 wrote on Tue, 30 April 2013 07:06

This may be a super dumb question, but here is the scenario:

I have an active race. On one space, I have three tokens. on another space, I have one.

Another player comes in and attacks both spaces and conquers them. How many of my tokens go back into the box?

I know I lose one, but do I also lose another because it was the only token on a space? It seems like this is what the rules say but I am still confused.


You will lose 2 tokens that must be put back in the box. You lose one token from each region that gets attacked. I hope this helps answer your question. Very Happy
      
player1329887
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
May 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 19 May 2013 06:35
A diplomat race does not conquer any of your regions during his turn but selects one of your regions for his failed final conquest attempt using the reinforcement die.

Can the player with the diplomat race select you as his ally?
      
*player1138704
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Registered:
September 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 19 May 2013 06:59
player1329887 wrote on Sat, 18 May 2013 21:35

A diplomat race does not conquer any of your regions during his turn but selects one of your regions for his failed final conquest attempt using the reinforcement die.

Can the player with the diplomat race select you as his ally?


Nope, you can only pick a player whose active race you did not attack. Failing the roll still counts as an attack (although it's not a conquer).

It's only ACTIVE races though, so if he conquered or attacked one of your in decline regions it would be fine.
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 18 July 2013 23:54
Question: At the start of your turn, can you both pick a non-Stout race and decline it in that same turn?

I think the answer is "no", as just the act of picking the race would be considered taking an action on your turn, and the rule of thumb is you can't do anything but decline on a turn if you're declining.

It seems like a stupid question, but it came up in play because there were some Dwarves that had a ton of VPs on them where people had passed them by. Nobody wanted them because of the layout of the races already on the board due to their likely quick defeat. But if you could draw them and immediately decline them, taking a new race next turn, it would be worth it.

It seems like something that maybe SHOULD be allowed, though, since it almost never would be a thing any sane person would want to do, and it would hurt no one but the player doing it.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 19 July 2013 09:05
You are perfectly right, the answer is "no".

If you want to get the ton of coins deposited on the Dwarves, you will have to play at least one turn with them before being able to put them in decline. (Otherwise you could also take them during the last turn of the game).
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:Dragon Master Fri, 19 July 2013 21:35
Robin wrote on Wed, 11 November 2009 02:43

And, if you make no conquest, your Dragon may not move.


I know this is from long, long ago, but I read this whole thread (in hopes of the stupid Flying sorcerer adjacent-but-not-adjacent rule getting overturned) and never saw it commented on.

There is one slight way around this in many situations. You just have to abandon a region (following abandonment rules) and re-conquer territories you already have. Obviously, there are limitations to this but it I think most of the times you'll be able to shuffle around tiles during Ready Your Troops.

Example:

I want to move a dragon from a Forest where I have a dragon and a single Ratman. I pick up the dragon/ratman, abandoning the region. I also pick up two ratmen that are on a Farm tile. I then re-conquer the Farm with the single ratman/dragon and re-conquer the Forest with the two ratmen.

Like I said, some limitations. You can only do this if you abandon the regions before starting conquests. And if you abandoned Fortress, Hole in the Ground, etc. it would be forfeit (Troll Caves are ok since they go back when you re-conquer the regions). And so on.

Speaking of dragons, I just realized that Kobolds have to send along TWO Kobolds with dragons to do their stuff.
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sat, 20 July 2013 06:55
Request for a clarification on Amazons:

I find myself at the end of my conquests needing to take my 4 Amazons back off the board. Can I pick any number of Amazons from any region (including those with 1, 2, 3, etc.) to pick up? The way it's worded in the FAQ is:
You must leave at least one race token in each region conquered at the end of your turn, except for the amazons. In this case you must take off four race tokens, abandoning regions you've just conquered if required.

The "you've just conquered" is a bit confusing. I would think it should be "regions you occupy" instead. Meaning it doesn't have to come from new conquests this round. Otherwise, you have to really keep track of a lot of things so you know at the end of the round which is which.

Example:
At the start of my turn, I have only the 4 bonus Amazons in my hand. I use all 4 to capture one region. Can I then take 3 off that region and 1 off another previously occupied region (therefore abandoning it) to fulfill taking 4 Amazons off the map?

I would think I could. All the rules actually state is:

At the end of each of your Troop Redeployments (see Troop Redeployment, p. 5), remove four tokens from the map, making sure to leave at least one Amazon token in each of your Regions if possible

It doesn't say anything there about regions you've "just conquered". Was this a clarification by DoW or was this just an accident of phrasing when typing up the FAQ?
      
Jabooty_3
Senior Member
KS Backer - Orc

User Pages
Posts: 107
Registered:
September 2010
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 21 July 2013 05:29
jepmn wrote on Fri, 19 July 2013 23:55

Request for a clarification on Amazons:

I find myself at the end of my conquests needing to take my 4 Amazons back off the board. Can I pick any number of Amazons from any region (including those with 1, 2, 3, etc.) to pick up? The way it's worded in the FAQ is:
You must leave at least one race token in each region conquered at the end of your turn, except for the amazons. In this case you must take off four race tokens, abandoning regions you've just conquered if required.

The "you've just conquered" is a bit confusing. I would think it should be "regions you occupy" instead. Meaning it doesn't have to come from new conquests this round. Otherwise, you have to really keep track of a lot of things so you know at the end of the round which is which.

Example:
At the start of my turn, I have only the 4 bonus Amazons in my hand. I use all 4 to capture one region. Can I then take 3 off that region and 1 off another previously occupied region (therefore abandoning it) to fulfill taking 4 Amazons off the map?

I would think I could. All the rules actually state is:

At the end of each of your Troop Redeployments (see Troop Redeployment, p. 5), remove four tokens from the map, making sure to leave at least one Amazon token in each of your Regions if possible

It doesn't say anything there about regions you've "just conquered". Was this a clarification by DoW or was this just an accident of phrasing when typing up the FAQ?


You are right.
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 22 July 2013 15:56
FAQ update, then? I think the only change would be from "abandoning regions you've just conquered if required" to "abandoning regions you occupy if required".

[Updated on: Mon, 22 July 2013 21:30]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 15 August 2013 11:41
I've got a tricky question for you guys, because it implies a power of my own creation :

Magic (5) : from every Magic region you conquer or own, you may conquer an adjacent region as though it was empty, once per turn and per Magic region.

My question is : what would happen with Magic Gobelins ? Should the two powers be addable ? I think they should : an adjacent region that is not a mountain and occupied by an in-decline race may be conquered as though it was empty (so 2 tokens) with a bonus of -1 token due to the Gobelins' power (so only one token at last). What do you think ?
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 155
Registered:
June 2010
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 15 August 2013 18:30
blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 05:41

Magic (5) : from every Magic region you conquer or own, you may conquer an adjacent region as though it was empty, once per turn and per Magic region.

First of all, I think this should be worded more clearly...
"You may conquer 1 region adjacent to every Magic Region you own for 1 less token."

As for your question...
blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 05:41

My question is : what would happen with Magic Gobelins ? Should the two powers be addable?

I don't see why Goblins should be discriminated against. Of course the 2 powers should be able to work in concert. Just like any other race combination, a player should be able to gain the benefits of both the power and the race. If your Magic Goblins own Magic Regions which are adjacent to Declined Regions, you should be able to conquer them for 2 less tokens.

My only real concern is that your power "Magic" is a bit underpowered. I would prefer it to allow players to conquer all regions adjacent to a Magic Region for 1 less token. No limits such as 1 per turn, etc. Just my opinion.
Hope this helps!
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 15 August 2013 22:56
DannyMack wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 18:30

blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 05:41

Magic (5) : from every Magic region you conquer or own, you may conquer an adjacent region as though it was empty, once per turn and per Magic region.

First of all, I think this should be worded more clearly...
"You may conquer 1 region adjacent to every Magic Region you own for 1 less token."

As for your question...
blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 05:41

My question is : what would happen with Magic Gobelins ? Should the two powers be addable?

I don't see why Goblins should be discriminated against. Of course the 2 powers should be able to work in concert. Just like any other race combination, a player should be able to gain the benefits of both the power and the race. If your Magic Goblins own Magic Regions which are adjacent to Declined Regions, you should be able to conquer them for 2 less tokens.

My only real concern is that your power "Magic" is a bit underpowered. I would prefer it to allow players to conquer all regions adjacent to a Magic Region for 1 less token. No limits such as 1 per turn, etc. Just my opinion.
Hope this helps!


No, the power consists of conquering a region as though it was empty, not with one less token, like the Flames. If it hadn't been the case, of course I wouldn't have asked. I was just telling myself that the "as though it was empty" meant not minding anything inside it. If Gobelins don't mind, then they shouldn't have the right to apply their power, although I am more keen on doing the opposite.

EDIT : and I don't think it's underpowered ^^

[Updated on: Thu, 15 August 2013 22:57]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 15 August 2013 23:06
This is a conversation that should be in its own thread, not cluttering up the FAQ thread!
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 155
Registered:
June 2010
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 August 2013 07:11
Sorry, my bad, I misread that.
"One adjacent region as if empty" sounds great.

As for the appropriateness of this question in the thread, I don't think it really matters at this point. Does anybody read this far down the thread for a game that came out in 2009?

Anyway, in an effort to keep this question applicable to the subject matter of this particular thread, I think it's still worth pointing out that there is no power which when paired with a race makes the racial power unusable or negated. I don't think the "Magic Goblins" or any other combination should veer from that.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 August 2013 08:13
DannyMack wrote on Fri, 16 August 2013 09:11

Sorry, my bad, I misread that.
"One adjacent region as if empty" sounds great.

As for the appropriateness of this question in the thread, I don't think it really matters at this point. Does anybody read this far down the thread for a game that came out in 2009?

Anyway, in an effort to keep this question applicable to the subject matter of this particular thread, I think it's still worth pointing out that there is no power which when paired with a race makes the racial power unusable or negated. I don't think the "Magic Goblins" or any other combination should veer from that.


Since, at this point, this FAQ thread is the only official answer to questions, I would say that yes, people will read this far down for a very popular game that came out in 2009.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 August 2013 10:47
I think it's appropriate, because it concerns a power that already exists (for Flames) and asking the question might solve the problem of people asking themselves the same kind of question. If it can make you feel any better, I hesitated between posting it here and in a new thread.
      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 111
Registered:
May 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 August 2013 19:14
I've always felt the official faq was for answers to questions about the official products, not custom races or powers. Even the justification about the flames doesn't really work for me since in the official game you can't have flames and goblins together.

I'd agree with Rasmussen that custom power or races questions should have their own thread. No one should expect an official answer on their custom ideas.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sat, 17 August 2013 00:44
Proto Persona wrote on Fri, 16 August 2013 21:14

I've always felt the official faq was for answers to questions about the official products, not custom races or powers. Even the justification about the flames doesn't really work for me since in the official game you can't have flames and goblins together.

I'd agree with Rasmussen that custom power or races questions should have their own thread. No one should expect an official answer on their custom ideas.


I'm glad I'm not the only one! It's not that I don't think you can have people discuss your custom race, it's just that the Official FAQ thread is not the right place for that conversation. Start a new thread and talk about it as much as you want. Smile
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 155
Registered:
June 2010
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 18 August 2013 11:23
This makes the 8th post about this poor guy's question.
Ironically it's a result of folks complaining about visual clutter in the "Official FAQ Thread".
It was asked and answered already. No further "thread policing" is necessary.

In a similar note, Rasmussen, your Memoir 44 tagline/signature takes up more space in this thread than all of the discussion about the Magic Goblins combined...if you really want to cut down on off-topic visual clutter...
Just saying.

[Updated on: Sun, 18 August 2013 11:25]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 26 August 2013 21:50
Thanks, Dannymack, but anyway, I apologise if you guys think my question was inappropriate. I'll redeem myself with one true question :

Elves lose a token when converted into a Sorcerer, but what about Pygmies ? They should lose a token as well, without being able to get one or more back. Basically, in average, you can expect one Pygmy back when you throw the die, the same as Elves, when both are conquered. Do you get my point ? To sum up, it would be unfair to allow Pygmies to be able to get tokens back when Elves don't, because otherwise it would give them a huge advantage. Plus, Sorcerers can convert, they don't slaughter. Pygmies' power seems to consist in calling spirits back from the dead when one of them dies, am I right ?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 26 August 2013 22:11
DannyMack wrote on Sun, 18 August 2013 13:23

In a similar note, Rasmussen, your Memoir 44 tagline/signature takes up more space in this thread than all of the discussion about the Magic Goblins combined...if you really want to cut down on off-topic visual clutter...
Just saying.


It's not about visual clutter. It's about home-made variants (that are lots of fun for people and I have no problem with) being posted in the Official FAQ thread. But you're right, enough has been said about this.

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 23:50

Thanks, Dannymack, but anyway, I apologise if you guys think my question was inappropriate.

Not inappropriate. It's a fine question; it's just posted in the wrong place.

Quote:

I'll redeem myself with one true question :

Elves lose a token when converted into a Sorcerer, but what about Pygmies ? They should lose a token as well, without being able to get one or more back. Basically, in average, you can expect one Pygmy back when you throw the die, the same as Elves, when both are conquered. Do you get my point ? To sum up, it would be unfair to allow Pygmies to be able to get tokens back when Elves don't, because otherwise it would give them a huge advantage. Plus, Sorcerers can convert, they don't slaughter. Pygmies' power seems to consist in calling spirits back from the dead when one of them dies, am I right ?


I'm afraid the Pygmies get to roll no matter who they are taken over, so in your example they get to roll even if the Sorcerer converts one of their tokens. At least that's how the iPad version works...
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 26 August 2013 22:44
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 22:11

DannyMack wrote on Sun, 18 August 2013 13:23

In a similar note, Rasmussen, your Memoir 44 tagline/signature takes up more space in this thread than all of the discussion about the Magic Goblins combined...if you really want to cut down on off-topic visual clutter...
Just saying.


It's not about visual clutter. It's about home-made variants (that are lots of fun for people and I have no problem with) being posted in the Official FAQ thread. But you're right, enough has been said about this.

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 23:50

Thanks, Dannymack, but anyway, I apologise if you guys think my question was inappropriate.

Not inappropriate. It's a fine question; it's just posted in the wrong place.

Quote:

I'll redeem myself with one true question :

Elves lose a token when converted into a Sorcerer, but what about Pygmies ? They should lose a token as well, without being able to get one or more back. Basically, in average, you can expect one Pygmy back when you throw the die, the same as Elves, when both are conquered. Do you get my point ? To sum up, it would be unfair to allow Pygmies to be able to get tokens back when Elves don't, because otherwise it would give them a huge advantage. Plus, Sorcerers can convert, they don't slaughter. Pygmies' power seems to consist in calling spirits back from the dead when one of them dies, am I right ?


I'm afraid the Pygmies get to roll no matter who they are taken over, so in your example they get to roll even if the Sorcerer converts one of their tokens. At least that's how the iPad version works...


But it's unfair as Pygmies get a huge advantage ! It shoudn't work like this ^^ Don't you think ?
      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 111
Registered:
May 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 27 August 2013 03:02
Think of it this way. The elves power prevents the loss of a token from a normal conquest. The sorcerer power isn't a normal conquest, it's a token swap, so the elves can't stop it.

The pygmies power doesn't care how they lost a token, only that they lost one. So the pygmies power can trigger off the sorcerer one.

Honestly I've had games where I never got back a single token with pygmies. I don't think this makes them overpowered, unless you are really damn good or lucky.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 27 August 2013 04:24
I didn't claim that it was fair; I just shared what the rule is according to the iPad which is therefore the official rules. The whole point of playing these games, though, is to have fun so if it seems more fair and more fun to play your way then go for it! As long as you're having fun then it's all good.

But in a tournament or online you will find that the Pygmies can roll no matter how they lose tokens.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 27 August 2013 05:42
The "advantage" of Pygmies is not huge.
Anyway, when facing Sorcerers, one tries not to leave isolated tokens in the conquered regions.
Sorcerers can only convert one token of a given race per turn, so they can be countered.
      
player1385820
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
September 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 04 September 2013 11:59
Hi : )

I've got questions about abandoning regions. Can I at the beginning of my turn abandon each of my region and then attack as if it were my first attack ? Are there any restrictions to that ?

I ask because berserk elves in 2 player game seems to be very powerful. I don't lose my elves so I have always 10 of them, when my oppenent declines and in next turn takes new race I abandon each region and destroy his new race (of course sometimes it takes 2 turns but I have always 10 elves to attack so that's not the problem : ). In that situation I have to rely on dice but in most cases it goes quite good ; )
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 04 September 2013 13:32
Yes, this is perfectly fine. You should abandon all the regions you're going to abandon before making your initial conquest of the turn, though. And if you abandon them all, you need to follow first conquest rules to come back on the board.

And yes, it's a nice combination. Your opponent has to find a way to neutralize this by declining and picking a race that has some advantage against your elves. Them's the breaks.
      
player1385820
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
September 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 05 September 2013 10:29
thank you for answer : )
      
RunnerWild
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 1
Registered:
September 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 29 September 2013 18:08
hi
i have a question concerning Fortified ablility:
Q: Is a fortification placed on a map during a turn when fortified race goes into decline?
      
Mavado
Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 45
Registered:
April 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 29 September 2013 18:21
player1393687 wrote on Sun, 29 September 2013 18:08

hi
i have a question concerning Fortified ablility:
Q: Is a fortification placed on a map during a turn when fortified race goes into decline?
No. But previously placed fortifications remain in play (they just don't give you a coin bonus anymore).

Fun Fact: The rules found in the Swedish edition I've got explicitly states that you can keep placing fortifications while in decline (this is off course wrong and most likely a translation error).

[Updated on: Sun, 29 September 2013 18:24]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 07 October 2013 21:33
I have a question about Ghouls : are you allowed to pick them, go immediatly into decline and attack with them next turn ? I'm asking that because I imagined the moment when someone grabs Wealthy Ghouls...
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 07 October 2013 21:35
No. Going into decline must be the first and last thing you do on your turn.

The only slight exception is Stout which lets you go into decline after scoring. But I have been told that even with Stout, you may not decline on the turn you picked them on. That rule still seems a little questionably unofficial to me, though.

[Updated on: Mon, 07 October 2013 21:40]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 07 October 2013 21:59
jepmn wrote on Mon, 07 October 2013 23:35

No. Going into decline must be the first and last thing you do on your turn.

The only slight exception is Stout which lets you go into decline after scoring. But I have been told that even with Stout, you may not decline on the turn you picked them on. That rule still seems a little questionably unofficial to me, though.


Who said you can't go In Decline the same turn you pick the race? Rolling Eyes
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 07 October 2013 22:48
Ah, never mind. I was misremembering the question I asked. I actually asked about NON-Stout. It was actually about Wealthy Dwarves, much like this one is about Wealthy Ghouls.

Edit: But just to be clear, you can't go into decline the same turn you pick up a NON-Stout race.

[Updated on: Mon, 07 October 2013 22:49]

      
Pages (7): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Famous Last Words & Other Fun Quotes
Next Topic:Interesting Race Banners/Special Power combos
Goto Forum: