Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Counterattacking TFH in Eastern Front Overlord with Commisar Rules
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3039
Registered:
February 2007
Counterattacking TFH in Eastern Front Overlord with Commisar Rules Thu, 02 May 2013 19:31
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12179151#12179151

Lets hear your thoughts on this one guys and gals.

As the Russian player, can you simply decide to leave your cards under the Commisar Chip this turn and play one COUNTER-ATTACK card on your turn to counter your opponents play of TFH on the last turn?

The way the Overlord Rules for Commisar are written, it seems to make this a virtual impossibility.

[Updated on: Thu, 02 May 2013 21:00]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 889
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Counterattacking TFH in Eastern Front Overlord with Commisar Rules Thu, 02 May 2013 21:23
Not legal according to original operation overlord rules, but the FAQ, page 43, now says:

"The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may
choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand. The Command cards under the Commissar chip are
not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn."
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Counterattacking TFH in Eastern Front Overlord with Commisar Rules Sat, 04 May 2013 02:58
I haven't seen much contradictions in the Overlord Rules, but the rules are in several different places:

First Edition of the Overlord Rules, mm_overlord.pdf
Operation Overlord, mm_overlord_pack.pdf
Sword of Stalingrad Combat Rules, mm_op3_rules_en.pdf
Using the Air Pack in Overlord Games, mm_airpack_overlord_en.pdf
FAQ, mm_faq_full_v1-3_en.pdf
You can find these at the Rules and Goodies page.

The paragraphs for Overlord with Commissar in the FAQ, may be out of order and one sentence says
Quote:

"[Cards under the chip] are the cards he must play or hand out during his next turn."
A paragraph down it then describes the exception of playing the Counter-Attacks instead,
Quote:

"The Soviet Command-in-Chief, in lieu of playing the Command cards already committed under the Commissar Chip, may choose to play up to 3 Counter-Attack Command cards from his hand. The Command cards under the Commissar chip are not used this turn and will remain under the token until the next turn."


I've bought a couple Battle Maps last Summer, and am now gearing up to play the more complicated Sword of Stalingrad & Rats in a Factory (which use Commissar), and Capture of Tobruk (which uses Air Rules).

It would have been helpful if the original or Overlord Pack rules broke the actions into more distinct sections than:
1. CiC passes out cards and talks to one Field General,
2. Field Generals play cards,
3. Field Generals that don't have cards may make an initiative roll,
4. After Movement and Battle, Field Generals discard cards and CiC draws cards.
As you can see, it kind of skips movement and battle as separate sections, and the Overlord Pack Rules does the same.

In order to play OL correctly (or close enough) I've consolidated the various rules and options (such as Marines and Combat Cards) into a 2-page OL Sequence Summary in 9 distinct sections. (Some cards say "play before ordering units", or "play after..." and they now have their place.) I have it as a Word file under my user pages (click under my name/avatar) and have posted it as text at boardgamegeek. I have separate highlights for: Air Rules, Commissar, Combat Cards, and Marines&Japanese, so you can skip them if you aren't using them in your game.

[Updated on: Sat, 04 May 2013 03:21]

      
    
Previous Topic:Battle Reports from Korea
Next Topic:SFTF Issue
Goto Forum: