Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Magnot
Member

User Pages
Posts: 49
Registered:
August 2006
  Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Fri, 01 May 2009 20:34
May I continue placing fortresses if a race of mine that is paired with "Fortified" goes into decline, or do I merely retain the fortresses I already placed?
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1658
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Fri, 01 May 2009 20:44
You are not allowed to place fortresses once in Decline (even if you play the Ghouls).

However, you may keep the Fortresses that you already placed.
      
BamH1
Member
Small World Creation Contest Winner

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Thu, 07 May 2009 08:11
REALLY???

This is another one then where the cheat sheet is misleading:
"once per turn, place a Fortress in a Region to increase its defense by 1 (even when in decline)... On first reading I also thought that the "even in decline" referred to the placing of the fortress, NOT the defense (that was automatic in my mind since it was a cardboard piece).

Even the fact that the only thing missing on the decline side is the points symbol, I still would have thought that placing one during decline was allowed.

Certainly would make it more interesting if you hadn't got all your fortresses on yet but could keep doing so in decline Smile I like it.
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1658
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Thu, 07 May 2009 10:39
Yes, really.

"Fortified" Active Race:
You may place a Fortress on each turn. The Fortress brings you one Victory coin/turn and augments your defense by 1.

"Fortified" In-Decline Race including Ghouls:
You keep your Fortresses, but you may not build new Fortresses. They still augment your defense by 1.

Smile
      
CrimsonAvenger
Junior Member

Posts: 20
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Thu, 07 May 2009 20:34
One difference to note:

When race is active, fortress also provides +1 gold
When race is in decline, you do not receive +1 gold, only the defense bonus.
      
ChosenSpeaker
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Registered:
March 2012
Re:Rules Clarification: Fortifications and Decline Fri, 24 May 2013 02:49
I know it's not following the official rules, but in several of my games the players elected to make the fortresses permanent features on the game board. If another race conquered a space with a fortress they basically got to move in and get the defense bonus (though not the bonus coin). I don't think the Fortified race ever tried to retake them, but we ruled that the fortified race would be able to ignore the defense bonus since "they know the fortress better than than those Peaceloving Humans".
I know it's not how you're supposed to play, but it sure makes the fortresses relevant for much longer.
      
    
Previous Topic:The Many Faces of Stonehedge
Next Topic:Double Powers?
Goto Forum: