Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Greedy Gob
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
July 2012
Greedy Gob Sat, 13 October 2012 18:26
Hello

The card named "Greedy Gob" reads: "The player that scores the most Victory coins this turn..."

My question is if all victory coins collected/received/pocketed this turn are considered as scored. For example:

1. If during my turn I choose a race with wealthy special power, am I scoring 7 extra ? (Rules for Wealthy read: "Collect 7 bonus VCs..")

or

2. If during my turn I choose a race with some coins dropped by other players, are these VCs considered scored ? (Rules use the verbs select and pocket for these coins..)

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7163
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Greedy Gob Sat, 13 October 2012 18:57
draziL wrote on Sat, 13 October 2012 20:26

Hello

The card named "Greedy Gob" reads: "The player that scores the most Victory coins this turn..."

My question is if all victory coins collected/received/pocketed this turn are considered as scored. For example:

1. If during my turn I choose a race with wealthy special power, am I scoring 7 extra ? (Rules for Wealthy read: "Collect 7 bonus VCs..")

or

2. If during my turn I choose a race with some coins dropped by other players, are these VCs considered scored ? (Rules use the verbs select and pocket for these coins..)




If we use the iPad version as a guide, the Wealthy coins will count. But the iPad version doesn't have the cards, so we can't be 100% sure.

I would say that any coins gained this turn, counting everything, should count. But that's just me. Smile
      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Greedy Gob Sun, 14 October 2012 09:47
Hi

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I will aggree that Wealthy coins are considered scored, since these are VCs coming from a special power and these fall into section I, p.3 of the rules: "3. Scoring Victory Coins: ...The player may also collect additional Victory coins as a result of his Race and/or Special Power benefit..". I guess that pots of gold also fall into this category and count as scored VCs.

However, it is the coins dropped from other players on the newly selected race, that created different interpration of this card in our game Confused .

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7163
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Greedy Gob Sun, 14 October 2012 10:26
draziL wrote on Sun, 14 October 2012 11:47

Hi

Thank you for your prompt reply.

I will aggree that Wealthy coins are considered scored, since these are VCs coming from a special power and these fall into section I, p.3 of the rules: "3. Scoring Victory Coins: ...The player may also collect additional Victory coins as a result of his Race and/or Special Power benefit..". I guess that pots of gold also fall into this category and count as scored VCs.

However, it is the coins dropped from other players on the newly selected race, that created different interpration of this card in our game Confused .




I can see why it could cause confusion...the rules aren't outlined specifically when it come to that. I would say that you and your group should simply decide what you think it means and play that way... Very Happy

I would probably push to have the coins count, but that's just me. Smile
      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Greedy Gob Mon, 28 January 2013 16:39
The offcial answer to the initial question is:

"The points to consider are the ones won during the 3rd phase of the turn (Scoring Victory Coins). That would be the coins scored for area control and for the coins earned through the Race/power benefit, not the ones dropped or pocketed in the 1st phase (Picking a Race and Special Power Combo) if any."

So, the coins pocketed when a new race is selected do not count as scored for the "Greedy Gob".

An extra clarification update from DoW support on this matter:

Coins collected during phases other than the 3rd one or during other players' turns because of race/power benefit do NOT count as scored for the "Greedy Gob",e.g.:
- Leprechauns pots of gold
- Ransacking coins received from other players.
- Coins received from the Corrupt power
- Gypsies' abandoning regions

[Updated on: Tue, 12 February 2013 11:35]

      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 156
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Greedy Gob Fri, 28 June 2013 12:53
Wow. That seems like an arbitrary answer, and somewhat against the overall vibe of the game. Some things count but somethings don't. That's never an elegant solution. It's odd that Corrupt or Ransacking are excluded, but other people's powers count toward the tally.
If it goes into my scoring pile I'd say I scored it, personally. But I don't have the T&L deck so I don't have to worry about it (and now I want it 1 iota less than I did before.)
      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Greedy Gob Tue, 09 July 2013 11:25
Although I also do not like the way that this card is interpreted by DoW, it is the official answer and this is what we follow (otherwise we usually get more interpretations than players when we need to count the Greedy Gob points.)

Regarding your T&L deck comment, I will have to disaggree with you. It is a great addition to the game, especially after you become more and more familiar with powers and tribes.

      
Jabooty_3
Senior Member
KS Backer - Orc

User Pages
Posts: 114
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Greedy Gob Fri, 12 July 2013 05:20
draziL wrote on Mon, 28 January 2013 09:39

The offcial answer to the initial question is:

Coins collected during phases other than the 3rd one or during other players' turns because of race/power benefit do NOT count as scored for the "Greedy Gob",e.g.:
- Leprechauns pots of gold
- Ransacking coins received from other players.
- Coins received from the Corrupt power
- Gypsies' abandoning regions



I can see a strong argument for including these since they are actions outside of race selection that determine the gains, but believe it is a good clarification from DOW.

Maybe a more agreeable definition would be cons gained from phases 2 & 3 (day troops and conquer)?

[Updated on: Fri, 12 July 2013 05:21]

      
    
Previous Topic:Would like feedback on 3 new races and 2 new powers pls
Next Topic:Sci Fi Small World (Tight Space)
Goto Forum: