Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 212
Registered:
March 2010
Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 07:40
Just wanted to see what the go was with airpower and if it gets to hit on what the card reads as (like the barrage card) or dose it only hit on stars and grenades when reduced visibility rules are in play?
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 240
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 10:12
Can you name a scenario that uses Actions 27 - Reduced Visibility and allows the play of Air Power?
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 212
Registered:
March 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 13:47
The overlord sceanrio fire fight in Neffe.

uses winter weather rules, so airpower is reduced to 1 die for both sides.

but dose not have anyother speacial rules about not being able to use airpower
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 240
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 14:49
Since Barrage is mentioned on Actions 27, and Air Power is not, I would say that Air Power only hits on grenade and star.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2247
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 14:51
Winter Wars rule book (page 4), under Winter Weather rules, says, "Both Allied and Axis forces only roll 1 battle die when
the Air Power Command card is played."
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 240
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 16:11
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 14:51

Winter Wars rule book (page 4), under Winter Weather rules, says, "Both Allied and Axis forces only roll 1 battle die when
the Air Power Command card is played."


The question is weather Air Power hits on figure rolls or only on grenade and star.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 16:38
Since Air Power is not a Close Assault combat, I've always played that it only hits on grenades and stars with Reduced Visibility. I don't see anything in the FAQ, but if they wanted it to be an exception, I think they'd have said so at the same time as Barrage.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 610
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Mon, 26 August 2013 22:13
As the barrage card still hits on symbols that match I would assume the air power does to.
J.
      
Aussie_Digger
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 212
Registered:
March 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Tue, 27 August 2013 01:27
In the end both sides played an airpower card during the game and we decided that airpower still hits symbols aswell, we decided that the reduction to 1 die was enough to make the card less powerfull.

Really I think the scenario should not allow the use of the airpower card since air craft didnt really operate during bad weather
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Tue, 27 August 2013 02:19
JJAZ wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 16:13

As the barrage card still hits on symbols that match I would assume the air power does to.
J.


That is always the way I play it, but it would good to have this spelled out clearly in the FAQ.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Tue, 27 August 2013 05:19
stevens wrote on Tue, 27 August 2013 04:19

JJAZ wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 16:13

As the barrage card still hits on symbols that match I would assume the air power does to.
J.


That is always the way I play it, but it would good to have this spelled out clearly in the FAQ.


Maybe you guys can distill this into a compact and to-the-point FAQ question that can then be posted in the FAQ thread. Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Tue, 27 August 2013 13:12
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 23:19

stevens wrote on Tue, 27 August 2013 04:19

JJAZ wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 16:13

As the barrage card still hits on symbols that match I would assume the air power does to.
J.


That is always the way I play it, but it would good to have this spelled out clearly in the FAQ.


Maybe you guys can distill this into a compact and to-the-point FAQ question that can then be posted in the FAQ thread. Smile


Q.When playing the AIRPOWER Card using the Winter Rule of Reduced Visibility it seems obvious that grenades, stars and flags that cannot be taken cause hits, but does getting a matching target symbol also score a hit (ie. armor and infantry symbols)?

I have already posited this question in the FAQ section of the forum.

[Updated on: Tue, 27 August 2013 13:14]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 477
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Thu, 19 December 2013 21:51
Since in 'close combat' all symbols matching are hits, it looks obvious to me that 'airpower' hits this same way. Smile

If you would use airrules, the aircraft would strafe directly over the targets, so every target attacked can be seen as a 'close combat' between the aircraft and the target. Rolling Eyes

I always play it by the 'airpower' rules, since it is not mentioned to be diffrent.

(In diffrence to 'barrage', that has specific rules mentioned, because a barrage could be seen as a distance attack toward reduced visibility, so it has specified rules.)


      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Thu, 19 December 2013 23:29
Flemish_Havy wrote on Thu, 19 December 2013 15:51

Since in 'close combat' all symbols matching are hits, it looks obvious to me that 'airpower' hits this same way. Smile

If you would use airrules, the aircraft would strafe directly over the targets, so every target attacked can be seen as a 'close combat' between the aircraft and the target. Rolling Eyes

I always play it by the 'airpower' rules, since it is not mentioned to be diffrent.

(In diffrence to 'barrage', that has specific rules mentioned, because a barrage could be seen as a distance attack toward reduced visibility, so it has specified rules.)




Consider for a moment that if a unit is camouflaged, it may not be strafed because "camouflage units may only be attacked in close assault".
That being said, if a unit is under the heavy cloud of winter snow how is it now more visible than a camouflaged unit. I would think only Grenades, Stars and Flags that cannot be taken are hits, but we will have to wait for an official ruling from DOW.

But maybe the limit of dice to 1d per strafing AIRPOWER is the compensation for the weather deterioration.
WINTER WARS p. 4
Quote:

Both Allied and Axis forces only roll 1 battle die when the Air Power Command card is played.

[Updated on: Thu, 19 December 2013 23:36]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 881
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Fri, 20 December 2013 04:38
I played it as not hitting on unit symbols since it was not called out as an exception. Air power is certainly not close assault.
      
sir Tanksalot
Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 55
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Air Power card when reduced visibility rules are in play. Sat, 11 January 2014 23:16
The rules are pretty clear on this subject (imho):

The air power card is not a unit, just a rule on a card. It can not be destroyed or countered.

Close assault can only be done when you attack the enemy with your adjacent unit (mm44 rulebook)

Therefore AP can't hit on unit symbols, logically.


Of course everybody is free to make up their own rules, explanations and stories.
      
    
Previous Topic:Memoir 44 Tackle Box Of Holding
Next Topic:mountain to hill combat
Goto Forum: