Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Thread
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 04 August 2013 23:37
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 10:07

It doesn't actually matter with Fortify because it's a Combat Card and they are just played with your other card. There's nothing in the rules that says at what time during your turn you have to apply the effects of the card, so you can wait until the end or place the Sandbags right after the unit battles.

This is academic, because I don't believe any of the Combat Card Official scenarios use the right kinds of units, but if you close-assaulted somebody such as a 1-figure BCF unit, would you be able to play Fortify before its battle-back? (I suspect not, because the defender is automatically entitled to that battle-back, so there's no break in which to insert the card.)
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 04 August 2013 23:41
This situation came up in an Overlord over the weekend, and I was able to ask Richard Borg, himself.

Q: If you're playing an Overlord with Blitz / Air Strike rules, does this mean that the Commander could give his Field Generals two Recons and perhaps play an Air Power at the same time, to have as many as three overlapping air strikes?

A: No. Air Power is only playable by the CinC. If he wants to use a Recon-1 as an Air Power, he must play it himself, and the CinC is limited to one card for himself.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 05 August 2013 02:44
I still say the card says after the unit has moved and battled (and does not mean later on). You don't get to take ground with your first unit after the second moves and battles. Here's the card:
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_12_allies.jpg
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 05 August 2013 03:30
JFKoski wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 20:44

I still say the card says after the unit has moved and battled (and does not mean later on). You don't get to take ground with your first unit after the second moves and battles. Here's the card:
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_12_allies.jpg


Since the card does not state "immediately after" I would presume it would be allowed anytime before the end of the player's turn - hence after the unit has moved and battled.

As to taking ground, this is neither a requirement or limitation of the card so I am not sure if it is relevant. Please explain further your concern. Trying to understand your point.

[Updated on: Mon, 05 August 2013 03:33]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 05 August 2013 05:05
stevens wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 21:30

JFKoski wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 20:44

I still say the card says after the unit has moved and battled (and does not mean later on). You don't get to take ground with your first unit after the second moves and battles. Here's the card:
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_12_allies.jpg


Since the card does not state "immediately after" I would presume it would be allowed anytime before the end of the player's turn - hence after the unit has moved and battled.

As to taking ground, this is neither a requirement or limitation of the card so I am not sure if it is relevant. Please explain further your concern. Trying to understand your point.


Ah, but the card does not state "after all ordered units have battled" either.

I believe the card is played after one unit had moved and battled which would also include taking ground if the unit performed that action also. I do not think you can choose one unit from all the units which moved and battled that turn.

[Updated on: Mon, 05 August 2013 05:06]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 892
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 06 August 2013 19:30
tank commander wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 23:05

stevens wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 21:30

JFKoski wrote on Sun, 04 August 2013 20:44

I still say the card says after the unit has moved and battled (and does not mean later on). You don't get to take ground with your first unit after the second moves and battles. Here's the card:
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_12_allies.jpg


Since the card does not state "immediately after" I would presume it would be allowed anytime before the end of the player's turn - hence after the unit has moved and battled.

As to taking ground, this is neither a requirement or limitation of the card so I am not sure if it is relevant. Please explain further your concern. Trying to understand your point.


Ah, but the card does not state "after all ordered units have battled" either.

I believe the card is played after one unit had moved and battled which would also include taking ground if the unit performed that action also. I do not think you can choose one unit from all the units which moved and battled that turn.


Yes, presumably since it doesn't say "immediately" and it doesn't say "after all ordered units have battled" it can be played anytime after any unit has been ordered and battled. And since a subsequent unit battles after a previous unit, its still not contradicting what's written to fortify the previous after the subsequent has battled. That's how it was written and that's what it means as written. Whether that was what was intended is another question.

[Updated on: Tue, 06 August 2013 19:34]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 27 August 2013 02:21
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=280574#msg_280574

Clarification of AIRPOWER card using Reduced Visibility rules in Winter Wars.

Q.When playing the AIRPOWER Card using the Winter Rule of Reduced Visibility it seems obvious that grenades, stars and flags that cannot be taken cause hits, but does getting a matching target symbol also score a hit (ie. armor and infantry symbols)?

[Updated on: Tue, 27 August 2013 13:13]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 04 September 2013 22:40
So much for absolute statments.

My question to DOW regarding the FORTIFY Combat Card to DOW:

Can a player play this card after all his ordered units have moved and battled and choose one of those units to play this card on?

OR

Must the card be played immediately after a unit had moved and battled and before any other ordered units move and battle?

The official answer:

The card must be played right after the unit has moved and battled.

Best Regards,

Antoine Prono
Customer Service
Days of Wonder

[Updated on: Wed, 04 September 2013 22:41]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 05 September 2013 04:28
Hurrah for Fortify!

Here's one that nearly came up the other day:
Can you Ambush a French Army's Stay-in-Place Attack?

For instance, you may not want to Ambush with 2d up a hill, but after he attacks down, you may want to Ambush with 3d if he does a Stay-in-Place attack.

My initial thought was no, thinking about British Battle Back (which is done on the opponent's turn), but this French attack is by the active player, so may be different, like an overrun.

Here's another:
Can the Axis use Dig-in with their units on the Sea Wall hexes to put down sandbags?

[Updated on: Thu, 05 September 2013 05:58]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 05 September 2013 07:28
It has been established that you can Dig In with sandbags on a bunker, even though it confers no added protection. All it does is take away some "available" sandbags in case the opponent draws the card later.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 05 September 2013 07:35
The "Furia Francese" is described in the rule book as a "second Close Assault attack." That sounds like it fits the definition of something that can be Ambushed, though one normally would expect the Ambush to have been played on the first attack.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 06 October 2013 15:30
A few questions concerning blowing up bridges.

Q1) If I play a Probe on the flank with the bridge is blowing the bridge one of the two chosen units or the entirety of my action?

I suspect the answer to this is no as the rule states: "This action takes up the player's entire turn,..."

Q2) A section card may be used to blow a bridge. Does that include multi-section cards (1-1-1, 2-0-2, 2-2-2)?

If the answer to Q2 is yes ,then:

Q3) If I play a General Assault, Pincer Move, etc. do I get to command units in the other flanks?

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 07 October 2013 16:25
Here's how I would answer your questions.

Q1. The "entire turn" is the entire turn. That would be in lieu of ordering any units.

Q2-3. I'd say that the multi-section card can be used to blow up a bridge in any relevant section. (2-0-2 can't blow a bridge in the center.) But that broader capability come with a bigger price: not being able to order units in the other sections, either.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 08 October 2013 00:03
Hi Sam.

I would agree with you on both counts here.

By the way, the questions are not really mine. I lifted them off the card data base questions from this site and posted them here.
As the multi-section question came to my attention, I figured I would open a thread on them.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 10 October 2013 13:21
In an OVERLORD game where one field general plays a BEL, is he allowed to suspend his second movement after the battle phase until other field generals have completed their battles? OR does he need to complete the entire ORDER, including second movement, before the next field general begins his battles?

[Updated on: Thu, 10 October 2013 13:24]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 109
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 12 October 2013 11:11
I'm not sure if Actions-4 is used in any of the official scenarios. In case it is, a rule clarification would be nice.

http://static.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_action_4.jpg
An artillery unit is zeroed-in on enemy. Is the cross-hair marker removed when "forward-spotter" leaves its position?

My take on it: While a bit unrealistic, the artillery downgrades instantly to normal if forward spotting unit vacates scenario-defined hexes.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 12 October 2013 12:01
stevens wrote on Thu, 10 October 2013 07:21

In an OVERLORD game where one field general plays a BEL, is he allowed to suspend his second movement after the battle phase until other field generals have completed their battles? OR does he need to complete the entire ORDER, including second movement, before the next field general begins his battles?


I have always played that all battlesare resolved before any BEL 2nd move. That way seems to fit in with the way the order of actions plays out in Memoir '44.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 13 October 2013 05:14
stevens wrote on Thu, 10 October 2013 07:21

In an OVERLORD game where one field general plays a BEL, is he allowed to suspend his second movement after the battle phase until other field generals have completed their battles? OR does he need to complete the entire ORDER, including second movement, before the next field general begins his battles?


I'm surprised this question came up now. Wasn't this discussed ages ago? We had M'44 Online out two years ago and in it Marines do all moves, then one BEL does its attack then second movement, afterwards the second BEL does its attack and second movement. So Overlord should be the same.

It seems pretty straightforward to me now (having written a sequence summary):
-Commander in Chief does his attack(s),
-then FGs order all units,
-all units move, one at a time,
-first unit battles then does its followups (Take Ground, Armor Overrun, BEL second movement, extra move/battle/sandbag from Combat Card),
-next unit battles, does its followups, etc.

It seems courteous on occassion to allow your opponent to play a combat card (or make a move that he forgot) once in a game if it doesn't really affect your play, and it was obvious he should have done. But allowing Fortify or BEL second movement after all units have done battle as a rule seems too much.

Zalamence wrote on Sat, 12 October 2013 05:11

I'm not sure if Actions-4 is used in any of the official scenarios....
An artillery unit is zeroed-in on enemy. Is the cross-hair marker removed when "forward-spotter" leaves its position?



Now that's a good question. RBorg should have made scenarios that include every rule and terrain introduced in the Terrain Pack, when it came out but didn't. I did find one in the official section (perhaps from campaign book?):
Singapore
"Forward Spotting rules are in effect for the British while they occupy Mandai or Seletar Naval Base (Actions 4 - Forward Spotting)."

A Big Gun marker is removed if
-The target moves (period), or
-The Big Gun moves*, or
-The Big Gun is destroyed*.
*Provided no other Big Guns or Destroyers stayed in place that can use the marker.

If they decide on a ruling for this, it should be consistent with another possibility:
Say a Big Gun loses its ability to fire due to smoke screen or smoke shells, would the target marker disappear in that case?

If the Forward-Spotter-artillery keeps it (when losing the spotter) then smoke-screened Big Gun should keep it too.
If the Forward-Spotter-artillery loses it (when losing the spotter) then smoke-screened Big Gun should lose it too.

[Updated on: Sun, 13 October 2013 05:35]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 109
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 13 October 2013 10:06
Excellent points, JFKoski. Oddly enough, the printed and online version of Singapore differ just for the actions-4. For some reason forward spotting hasn't made it to the printed book.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 13 October 2013 11:25
JFKoski wrote on Sat, 12 October 2013 23:14

stevens wrote on Thu, 10 October 2013 07:21

In an OVERLORD game where one field general plays a BEL, is he allowed to suspend his second movement after the battle phase until other field generals have completed their battles? OR does he need to complete the entire ORDER, including second movement, before the next field general begins his battles?


I'm surprised this question came up now. Wasn't this discussed ages ago? We had M'44 Online out two years ago and in it Marines do all moves, then one BEL does its attack then second movement, afterwards the second BEL does its attack and second movement. So Overlord should be the same.


I forgot about those 2 Marine order Online games. Normally the way it is played Online will follow the official rules.

In a normal scenario where only 1 unit is ordered, there is no problem. But the Marine rule and in OL games, two can be ordered on the same turn.

I had a concern about two BEL ordered infantry on the same turn. By allowing the 1st BEL ordered unit to do the 2nd move before the other BEL infantry fired, was the first could affect the combat of the 2nd by cutting off any retreat path.

But it looks like that is the way it is played.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 13 October 2013 22:20
tank commander wrote on Sun, 13 October 2013 05:25

JFKoski wrote on Sat, 12 October 2013 23:14

stevens wrote on Thu, 10 October 2013 07:21

In an OVERLORD game where one field general plays a BEL, is he allowed to suspend his second movement after the battle phase until other field generals have completed their battles? OR does he need to complete the entire ORDER, including second movement, before the next field general begins his battles?


I'm surprised this question came up now. Wasn't this discussed ages ago? We had M'44 Online out two years ago and in it Marines do all moves, then one BEL does its attack then second movement, afterwards the second BEL does its attack and second movement. So Overlord should be the same.


I forgot about those 2 Marine order Online games. Normally the way it is played Online will follow the official rules.

In a normal scenario where only 1 unit is ordered, there is no problem. But the Marine rule and in OL games, two can be ordered on the same turn.

I had a concern about two BEL ordered infantry on the same turn. By allowing the 1st BEL ordered unit to do the 2nd move before the other BEL infantry fired, was the first could affect the combat of the 2nd by cutting off any retreat path.

But it looks like that is the way it is played.



On p.48 FAQ the sequence is listed as such:
Quote:


Q. When playing as the Allies in the Pacific theater, the Marine player gets to order two Infantry units with Behind Enemy Lines.
What order do the two units move in?
A. The turn sequence as printed on page six of the Memoir ‘44 base rule book is still followed for both units.
1. Play a Command card - Allied player uses the Behind Enemy Lines card.
2. Order - Announce the two Marine Infantry units that are being ordered.
3. Move - Move the ordered units, one at a time.
4. Battle - Battle with the ordered units, one at a time.
Because Behind Enemy Lines allows ordered units to move again,
the two ordered units may move again, one at a time.
5. Draw a new Command card.



John, I believe the ONLINE version allows both marine BEL units to move and then the first one Battles and immediately after it's battle it makes it's second move. Then the second unit battles and then completes it's second move. Even though this is how it plays out ONLINE, I don't believe that this is what the FAQ intends (I believe that second movement should take place at the end of ALL battles) and so I believe the FAQ needs to clearer on this point and that is why I interjected the question. I believe the current answer is still too ambiguous and may be interpreted two ways.

[Updated on: Sun, 13 October 2013 22:25]

      
GIZOM
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 4
Registered:
November 2012
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 24 October 2013 06:42
The medeera pocket speacial rules says the following

"Place a Marine badge on the two hexes with Marine infantry units. On the US Army player's turn, in addition to the units ordered by the play of his Command card, the Allied player may also order one of these two Marine Infantry units (his choice).

If I play Behind enemy lines,would I be able to order the "free" marine with the BEL rules or would it be just a simple order (ie normal movement and battle restrictions)
In addition would I be able to order said unit with a TFH even if I do not roll a man or star?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 24 October 2013 11:37
GIZOM wrote on Thu, 24 October 2013 00:42

The medeera pocket speacial rules says the following

"Place a Marine badge on the two hexes with Marine infantry units. On the US Army player's turn, in addition to the units ordered by the play of his Command card, the Allied player may also order one of these two Marine Infantry units (his choice).

If I play Behind enemy lines,would I be able to order the "free" marine with the BEL rules or would it be just a simple order (ie normal movement and battle restrictions)
In addition would I be able to order said unit with a TFH even if I do not roll a man or star?




It appears it is just an extra order and is not affected by the commnand card played in a given turn. This would lead to an interesting turn if Firefight or Close Assault is played.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 30 October 2013 05:22
I don't have the Campaign Book or the Equipment Pack, so don't know if there's an official scenario with a Big Gun (or artillery) on a Mountain.

CAN AN ARTILLERY ON A MOUNTAIN MOVE?

In a SFTF by jdrommel there is a Big Gun on a Mountain.
->I thought it could move or retreat (as long as it didn't go to another mountain, so just from the Mountain to a hill).
->My opponent said it should be like an artillery in the bunker (or tank in a bunker, like Bug River) - it can't leave or retreat.
->I asked jdrommel and he said to play his scenario where it can't move.

It makes sense to me to play it like he says - perhaps they had to bring it up in parts and assemble it, (similar to being cemented into a bunker), so it can't just be dragged down a mountain trail.

The ones in SFTF which I saw, also had sandbags on the artillery so it would take two flags (one with Barrage or Air Power) to inflict a retreat hit.

->I think we discussed in the forums whether tanks and artillery that start in a fortress could leave and the answer was no.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 November 2013 18:41]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 892
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 30 October 2013 18:56
Well since mountains are impassable by arty and armor a mountain with an arty unit would not be able to move.

The general rule of thumb would be if the terrain is impassable, but a unit is positioned there, it cannot move.

I don't know of an official scenario with such a gun placement. But if there is no official scenario with that situation, we won't get an official response from DOW on how to play this situation.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 30 October 2013 21:27
There is at least one official scenario (Kampar) where an arty unit is deployed on a mountain.


[Updated on: Wed, 30 October 2013 21:27]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 31 October 2013 04:00
Hah! You're right. I happened to play Kampar in the Vassal Ladder tournament. In none of my games did the Allies try to move their artillery from the mountain. Of course it's in a really great position: the Allies' Center/Right hex on the 4th rank. There are 2 hills next to it.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 18 November 2013 18:38
Another new situation came up when I was playing the Equipment Pack scenario, Battle of Nezuet Ghirba.
The Italians have Supply Trucks. Normally you score 1 medal for killing all 3 Supply Trucks. After I scored my 3rd truck kill, I asked for a card. But thinking about it, is that how the Italian High Command rule should work?

This is my 4th game of this scenario and I've played over 80 games with Italian High Command. In the past I've forced a discard for killing a depleted tank unit in Gambela a SFTF by jdrommel, even though it doesn't give a medal. It seemed too easy to force a discard by taking out just 1 Supply Truck, so we didn't do it in the previous 3 games. But that would be consistent with discard for the depleted unit.

I'm thinking now there should be no discard for Italian figures that don't give a medal like:
Depleted Units, or
1 or 2 Supply Trucks (but 3rd yes),
[EDIT: 1 or 2 Half-Tracks (but 3rd yes),] or
a Sniper.

Can we get a ruling on that?

[Updated on: Tue, 11 February 2014 05:51]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 19 November 2013 01:25
My working assumption would be that if it doesn't give a medal, it doesn't cost a card. So snipers and depleted units wouldn't count, and it would take 3 Halftrack or 3 Supply Truck figures to cost a card. So, I'm with you on that, JFK.

A further aspect of this question applies to other units.

Airplanes lost on air check: I'd assume you'd lose a card only if there's an adjacent enemy unit. (I don't like such a harsh penalty added to air checks, but I don't see a way around it.)

Heroic Leaders: The EP rule book says, "Each time a unit is lost." A Heroic Leader isn't a unit. I'd assume you can't lose a second card if a Leader gets killed.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 21 November 2013 12:52
Do Italian Cavalry retreat 1-3 hexes as do other Italian motorized units?

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=28374&start=0
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1139
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 21 November 2013 14:54
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 05 September 2013 07:35

The "Furia Francese" is described in the rule book as a "second Close Assault attack." That sounds like it fits the definition of something that can be Ambushed, though one normally would expect the Ambush to have been played on the first attack.


Can you ambush a BCF stiff upper lip attack? I think not.
So I can see this being ruled either way.
Someone needs to ask an official ruling for this.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 891
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 21 November 2013 21:54
Quit2 wrote on Thu, 21 November 2013 14:54

sam1812 wrote on Thu, 05 September 2013 07:35

The "Furia Francese" is described in the rule book as a "second Close Assault attack." That sounds like it fits the definition of something that can be Ambushed, though one normally would expect the Ambush to have been played on the first attack.


Can you ambush a BCF stiff upper lip attack? I think not.
So I can see this being ruled either way.
Someone needs to ask an official ruling for this.


Quit2, I think those are different.

1. While the BCF stiff upper lip attack occurs in the oponent's turn - a British unit surviving other's player Close Assault and being reduced to one single figure may battleback with 1 dice,
2. The "Furia Francese" is part of the same player's turn and I can't see why the opponent can't Ambush that second close assault.

In the first case it's obvious you can't ambush a BCF battleback, but in the second it makes sense to me.

Not sure If you see my point. Hopefully I explained myself properly and accuretaly.

Cheers
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 22 November 2013 00:07
I believe there has been a specific ruling that you can't ambush a battle-back.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 04 December 2013 19:06
Does the loss of a figure on not being able to retreat count as a "hit" for the purpose of BIg Gun zeroing in?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=290958#msg_290958
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 04 December 2013 19:28
stevens wrote on Wed, 04 December 2013 22:06

Does the loss of a figure on not being able to retreat count as a "hit" for the purpose of BIg Gun zeroing in?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=290958#msg_290958


Yes. Like you said, it doesn't matter how the hit happened...as long as the unit doesn't move and loses a figure, the Big Gun can zero in on the location.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 05 December 2013 20:13
The FAQ should address this spelling error:

Quote:

The plateau explanation in the rules is there because Hills (along with Mountains and Ergs & Ridges) don't block Line of Sight when they are in a contiguous group with terrain of the same elivation.


Word should be elevation not elivation.

[Updated on: Sun, 12 January 2014 13:37]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 12 January 2014 13:12
The FAQ should address these questions:

g1ul10 wrote on Sat, 11 January 2014 13:36

Dear all,
I've a few questions regarding LOS and Hill/Mountain hex. Consider these two situations:

Case 1: continuous slope

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-D74d6XeLwDE/UtFYvRW85dI/AAAAAAAAEm4/o7jGyjmFEmA/s288/IMG_20140111_153721.jpg

Case 2: mountain to non-adjacent hill

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-WF2S9hqs4ac/UtFYu_VpDPI/AAAAAAAAEnI/jtmiaNJGsGA/s288/IMG_20140111_153758.jpg

I would like to know in which cases the two units see each other. I know that something has already been said in previous posts. Nonetheless, at the risk of being pedantic, I would like to have a sort of summary, if possible. I'm interested both in official ruling AND in your knowledgeable opinion.

Thank you in advance!

G.





see further discussion:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=294278#msg_294278

[Updated on: Sun, 12 January 2014 13:38]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 477
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 30 January 2014 00:32
Q. When ALLIES can use " Airstrikes and Blitz ", does that also implement the ' Blitz ' rules, meaning the Axis armor can only move 2 hexes ?
(Being the opposit as marked on the card if Axis uses Blitz, allied armor can only move 2 hexes)

Or do we use this action card 3 only for it s 'AIRSTRIKES 'role for the Allies and should the 'Blitz' part be removed from the card, since that 'Blitz' part already exists on actions card 15 ?

For some reason 'Blitz' and 'Allies' does not go well together does it ? If you want Axis armor only moving 2 hexes, it could be mentioned in the scenario rules seperately.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 30 January 2014 00:52
sam1812 wrote on Thu, 21 November 2013 18:07

I believe there has been a specific ruling that you can't ambush a battle-back.



I seem to recall that too.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 30 January 2014 01:32
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 29 January 2014 18:32

Q. When ALLIES can use " Airstrikes and Blitz ", does that also implement the ' Blitz ' rules, meaning the Axis armor can only move 2 hexes ?
(Being the opposit as marked on the card if Axis uses Blitz, allied armor can only move 2 hexes)

Or do we use this action card 3 only for it s 'AIRSTRIKES 'role for the Allies and should the 'Blitz' part be removed from the card, since that 'Blitz' part already exists on actions card 15 ?

For some reason 'Blitz' and 'Allies' does not go well together does it ? If you want Axis armor only moving 2 hexes, it could be mentioned in the scenario rules seperately.


I believe when they made the reference cards for Air Pack, they botched the Air Strike card #3. That card should be updated to remove Blitz so that it's clear it does not occur for an Allied Air Strike (a.k.a. Hill 317 rule). We already have Blitz card (Actions 15) which covers both the armor rule and the Axis Air Strike rule.
      
Pages (3): [ «  <  1  2  3  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:A quick note about the FAQ and our rulings
Next Topic:Memoir '44 Tactics & Strategy Guide English Edition - coming soon!
Goto Forum: