Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Shadows over Camelot - English » Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
hightemp
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
April 2012
Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Sat, 02 November 2013 16:03
Played SoC for the first time with my game group last night. It went smoothly enough but we had a question.

Can a Merlin Card be used to cancel/block a despair card about to be played from removing a grail card.
For reference the board was
G-G-G-G-G-G-D
A Despair was drawn. Could a Merlin be used to prevent the 6th G from being taken off? Or could it only be used to take the D actually on the board off?

Similarly, can a Merlin card be used to block a warrior from entering a pict/saxon war?


Thanks in advance everyone

[Updated on: Sat, 02 November 2013 16:04]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 840
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Sun, 03 November 2013 04:33
3 Merlin cards can be played (collectively) to prevent the effect of a special black card when it is drawn. (See rules page 10.)

But, "Unlike Special Blacks, a Standard Black card cannot be countered by the use of 3 Merlin cards when it comes into play."
(rules page 11.)

But a single Merlin card can be used to remove a siege engine or the last black card played on a Quest of your choice. So, while it can't be used to block a card about to be played, it could remove a Despair card from the Grail quest. Likewise, it can't prevent the final (or any other) Saxon or Pict from being played but it can remove one already played.

[Updated on: Sun, 03 November 2013 04:42]

      
Jabooty_3
Member
KS Backer - Orc

User Pages
Posts: 97
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Sun, 03 November 2013 16:15
Sgt Storm wrote on Sat, 02 November 2013 22:33



But a single Merlin card can be used to remove a siege engine or the last black card played on a Quest of your choice. So, while it can't be used to block a card about to be played, it could remove a Despair card from the Grail quest. Likewise, it can't prevent the final (or any other) Saxon or Pict from being played but it can remove one already played.




I've always read that it must remove the actual card (despair, black knight, Lancelot/dragon) and not just the result (pict/Saxon, Excalibur.)
      
Tigger1s
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
April 2012
Re:Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Fri, 08 November 2013 05:55
Jabooty_3

I've always read that it must remove the actual card (despair, black knight, Lancelot/dragon) and not just the result (pict/Saxon, Excalibur.)

Merlin works in mysterious ways. Some of what you've said is right.

[Updated on: Sat, 09 November 2013 00:34]

      
chadnorth
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 28
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Mon, 11 November 2013 01:06
Jabooty_3

I've always read that it must remove the actual card (despair, black knight, Lancelot/dragon) and not just the result pict/Saxon, Excalibur.)

Merlin cannot move Excalibur. Per FAQ, "Merlin card cannot be used by a Knight not present on the Excalibur Quest, to move Excalibur forward. Of course, a Merlin card can be discarded, face down, by a (admittedly traitorous or dumb!) Knight present on the Excalibur Quest, to move Excalibur one spot toward the good side. " I think that is what Tigger1s was implying.
      
Jabooty_3
Member
KS Backer - Orc

User Pages
Posts: 97
Registered:
September 2010
Re:Merlin Question - Blocking Despair/Ward? Mon, 11 November 2013 17:58
chadnorth wrote on Sun, 10 November 2013 18:06

Jabooty_3

I've always read that it must remove the actual card (despair, black knight, Lancelot/dragon) and not just the result pict/Saxon, Excalibur.)

Merlin cannot move Excalibur. Per FAQ, "Merlin card cannot be used by a Knight not present on the Excalibur Quest, to move Excalibur forward. Of course, a Merlin card can be discarded, face down, by a (admittedly traitorous or dumb!) Knight present on the Excalibur Quest, to move Excalibur one spot toward the good side. " I think that is what Tigger1s was implying.



I'll agree. It was the Pict/Saxon part that was confusing.
      
    
Previous Topic:Missing parts from Merlin's Company
Next Topic:Arrived without Excalibur... How Do I Contact Days of Wonder?
Goto Forum: