Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Two questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Two questions Wed, 04 December 2013 13:31
1) If a BG art unit fires and achieves no hits, but does force the target unit to lose figures because of an inability to retreat, are these retreat losses counted as hits that would entitle the BG unit to place a cross hairs marker?

2) If a unit close assaults and eliminates an enemy unit, and that elimination wins the game. Does the game stop there or may the victorious unit advance and claim an objective medal?

This is only of relevance in a campaign scenario, but it did happen recently.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 December 2013 13:35]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Two questions Wed, 04 December 2013 16:44
Hello,

1) I`d say yes, since you have achieved a hit.
2) In the CB2 there is a rule called Position Control which does exactly that.

Regards
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Two questions Wed, 04 December 2013 19:02
Major Duncan wrote on Wed, 04 December 2013 07:31

1) If a BG art unit fires and achieves no hits, but does force the target unit to lose figures because of an inability to retreat, are these retreat losses counted as hits that would entitle the BG unit to place a cross hairs marker?

2) If a unit close assaults and eliminates an enemy unit, and that elimination wins the game. Does the game stop there or may the victorious unit advance and claim an objective medal?

This is only of relevance in a campaign scenario, but it did happen recently.

1 - A hit is a hit is a hit is a hit. It doesn't matter whether the INF symbol is what you roll on the dice or if a FLAG forces the loss of a figure. If you are losing a figure out of your unit, it is a hit and the Big Gun would be "zeroed" in for the next turn on that hex if your unit doesn't move.

I am putting this question in the FAQ queue to see if Jesse thinks it warrants inclusion into the FAQ.

2 - FAQ p.2
Quote:

Q. When is the game officially over?
A. Battles are over the instant one side captures the required number of medals as established in the Conditions of Victory section of the scenario. Players do not get to finish their turn; they cannot do Armor Overrun or Take Ground. Note: Campaign Book Volume 2 introduces Position Control rules for campaign battles, where players may choose to capture an objective hex instead of taking the eliminated unit as a medal. This rule is found on page 12 ofCB #2.
      
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Two questions Wed, 04 December 2013 23:19
Indeed, a hit is a hit, no matter how many times you state the fact. However my question arose because of the way the rules are written.

The rules on resolving a battle clearly define a hit under the heading "Hit". However the figure loss resulting from an inability to retreat is described under the heading "Retreat" and the term hit is never used.

So although a figure is removed, it is due to an inability to retreat rather than a hit caused by the dice. I see the unit loss as troops running off in panic because they can't conduct an orderly retreat, rather than physical casualties caused by enemy ordnance.

I just need to know if the act of losing a figure through an inability to retreat is considered the same as a hit achieved by rolling a grenade etc.

Thanks for the page reference in CB2 on position conrol. That covers exactly what I need to know.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 December 2013 23:21]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Two questions Wed, 04 December 2013 23:29
Major Duncan wrote on Thu, 05 December 2013 02:19

Indeed, a hit is a hit, no matter how many times you state the fact. However my question arose because of the way the rules are written.

The rules on resolving a battle clearly define a hit under the heading "Hit". However the figure loss resulting from an inability to retreat is described under the heading "Retreat" and the term hit is never used.

So although a figure is removed, it is due to an inability to retreat rather than a hit caused by the dice. I see the unit loss as troops running off in panic because they can't conduct an orderly retreat, rather than physical casualties caused by enemy ordnance.

I just need to know if the act of losing a figure through an inability to retreat is considered the same as a hit achieved by rolling a grenade etc.

Thanks for the page reference in CB2 on position conrol. That covers exactly what I need to know.


I believe that if a Big Gun causes the loss of any troops from their target unit, it is considered a hit for this purpose. As long as the unit doesn't move, your Big Gun will enjoy the "Zeroing In" bonus until the unit moves or your Big Gun moves.

I hope this helps.
      
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Two questions Thu, 05 December 2013 01:37
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 04 December 2013 22:29


I believe that if a Big Gun causes the loss of any troops from their target unit, it is considered a hit for this purpose. As long as the unit doesn't move, your Big Gun will enjoy the "Zeroing In" bonus until the unit moves or your Big Gun moves.

I hope this helps.



Thanks. I think this is how I will play it.


      
    
Previous Topic:Christmas boarders
Next Topic:M44 Editor - Troubles with Windows 8?
Goto Forum: