Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Thread
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 602
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 11 February 2014 07:18
I played a couple games today where rules questions came up.

In Le-Mesnil-Adelée, I sent a lone-figure half-track toward an exit. My opponent asked, "Could it get a medal upon exiting, since it wouldn't give a medal if it was destroyed?"

I can't see having to exit 3 Half-Track figures to get 1 medal!

Coincidentally, I also played Battle of Celles, which also has exits and half-tracks, but these HTs start with 3 figures.

My 2nd question is from Battle of Celles which has Winter Board, Minefields and the option to use Winter Cards. I don't think the minefield card has been updated since it came out.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_29.jpg

It includes the line, "Draw at random from all minefield counters available."

Putting aside that the backs of the Pacific Mines are different from the others, I take this to mean that for most scenarios you draw from all mines you have to give a good distribution. It makes sense that if you just found a #4, there could still be a chance another #3 or #4 could appear, which is good.

The problem is Winter Wars minefields seem to change the rule.
It comes with 5 mines: 0,0,0,1,2. (0-60%,1-20%,2-20%)
W.W. p7

Because of the season most winter minefields are hastily deployed, which is in part the reason for the lower numbers on these minefields tokens.

If you shuffle these in with the others, it lowers the average for non-Winter Wars scenarios, and raises it for the W.W. ones.

Q: When do you use Winter Minefields?
Only for Winter Wars scenarios?
Whenever using the Winter Board?
When using Winter Combat Cards?
Just for Battle of the Bulge scenarios?
Has there been a previous clarification of this?

The Eastern Front mines were made for its winter board scenarios, so I wouldn't use WW mines for all winter board scenarios.

Battle of Celles does occur during the Battle of the Bulge, and says, "If you own the Winter Wars expansion, Winter Rules and Combat cards are optional."

I played a Winter Wars scenario with mines on Vassal a month or so ago, and we decided that if a mine higher than 2 came out we discarded it and drew another one. I believe this included Pacific Mines so it would have been:
11-0s(42%), 7-1s(27%), 8-2s(31%), 26 mines.
But if you didn't include Pacific and had no 3s and 4s:
10-0s(45.5%), 5-1s(22.7%), 7-2s(31.8%), 22 mines.

So for my games, if we played with Winter Cards (on the Western Front) then I'd suggest taking out (or re-drawing) #3 and #4 mines. If we didn't use Winter Cards then I'd advise drawing from all the mines.

I played Rzhev OL (Eastern Front) with Winter Cards and used all the mines, discovering a 0, #3, and #4 in 2 games, but this wasn't an official option. I think I'd do it this way if playing Red Barricades with Winter Cards, too.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 936
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 11 February 2014 22:41
For mines we use the following list to draw from:

WW mines 00012
TP mines 0001122334
MT mines 00012234
PT mines 01124
EF mines 01224

So we get the ones that came with the theatre and then draw from that pool.

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 841
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 11 February 2014 23:11
I use the mines that came with the relevant expansion in part because I assume that's how the scenarios were play tested (probably a stupid assumption though). If no one expansion is relevant, I choose mines from one expansion set and combine when more are needed. However, the recommendation in the past was to mix them all together.

It doesn't really matter however if you play the scenario twice, switching sides. In that case, just do whatever you want and inform your opponent before hand.

As for your first question, I'm not sure there is any reason to doubt the rules of the scenario (even if an opponent tries to alter the rules).

BTW, The scenario, Le-Mesnil-Adelée, is from the bonus scenarios in The Disaster at Dieppe battle map release.

As the rules are written, the half-track units are "units" and hence can be exited for a medal. (That is, of course, until, R. Borg says otherwise.) But, when I play games I assume the rules are correct to begin with and play accordingly. Occasionally, some opponents need to be reminded that there is not enough time and space to enumerate every rule that DOES NOT apply to a scenario. Hence a scenario will, hopefully succinctly (unlike this post) enumerate only the rules that apply.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Omaha Victory

User Pages
Posts: 2942
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 15 February 2014 14:34
Japanese using their 2 move assault to remove wire ?

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=28937&start=0

[Updated on: Sun, 16 February 2014 21:14]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1049
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 16 February 2014 15:04
A bit broader than the above:

Rules clarifications needed for Memoir'44, terrain 15 - Wire
Can wire be removed by infantry:
Instead of a Banzai War cry attack? (Imperial Japanese Army)
After a Banzai War cry attack by engineers? (Imperial Japanese Army)
Instead of a Stiff Upper Lip attack (battle back)? (BCF)
After a Stiff Upper Lip attack by engineers? (BSF)
Instead of the second Close Assault from the Furia Francese? (French Army)
Instead of battling when ordered by the Close Assault command card?
Instead of battling when ordered by the Firefight command card?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2178
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 16 February 2014 21:19
I sent a message (in black) to Mr. Borg, and he was kind enough to reply (shown here in red).

Quote:

The following question came up last night, with regard to the next scenario in the Vassal Ladder tournament -- Battle of Hong Kong.

An IJA infantry unit moves 2 hexes onto wire adjacent to an enemy unit. May he remove the wire instead of battling?

My analysis of the situation is, "IJA may move 2 and battle in Close Assault. IJA is an Infantry. Infantry may remove Wire instead of battling. Therefore, IJA that move 2 may remove Wire instead of battling in Close Assault." Some people see it differently.
(RB) It also seems logical by rule, that the Infantry unit could remove the wire instead of battling.

One of the players extended to question to cover some additional situations: Can wire be removed by infantry ...
Instead of a Banzai War cry attack? (Imperial Japanese Army)
(RB) Yes

After a Banzai War cry attack by engineers? (Imperial Japanese Army)
(RB) Yes

Instead of a Stiff Upper Lip attack (battle back)? (BCF)
(RB) No

After a Stiff Upper Lip attack by engineers? (BSF)
(RB) No

Instead of the second Close Assault from the Furia Francese? (French Army)
(RB) Yes

Instead of battling when ordered by the Close Assault command card?
(RB) Yes

Instead of battling when ordered by the Firefight command card?
(RB) Yes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6862
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 17 February 2014 07:00
Perfect! Thanks for getting those answers and posting them, Sam. Smile
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2005
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 23 February 2014 23:01
We ran into these two today:

1) Are TDs affected by the -1 drm for firing at a unit in smoke?

We played as they are as Smoke is not really terrain.

2) Is the range Nebelwefers fire smoke shells affected by night effects?

After reading the Nebelwefer rules and the Night Chart I suspect the answer is yes and perhaps this question is not really FAQ worthy.



      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 602
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 31 March 2014 23:42
1. Oceans and Shorelines(from Med Theater): It reads maximum movement in ocean is 1 hex. (Obviously there's an exception for landing craft.) But for normal units I'd always taken that to mean you can't move 1 on a beach, hill or desert then move 1 more into the ocean or shoreline hex (similar to the limit-2 rule for beach). This comes up when pulling back a wounded unit out of range into the ocean, or entering a curving shoreline hex to get to an adjacent land hex next turn. However the online game lets you move 1 on the beach, then 1 into the ocean.

Is there a limit-1 movement rule for Oceans and Shorelines?
Or is it, Unit entering Ocean and Shoreline hex must stop?


2. When does Oasis Recovery happen?
I saw Hospital Recovery happens "like Medics" when ordered, but I couldn't find anything that specifically says that for Oasis Recovery. The Online game prompts you when done ordering units. It makes sense that it should be when ordered, and not when you decide whether to attack.


Note: According to rules in Winter Wars, Tank Destroyers that don't move should ignore the terrain dice reduction of target AND reduction from its terrain (Towns, Villages & buildings). In the FAQ under Towns, it seems to describe Tank Destroyers being able to shoot Town-to-Town only when it gets a +1 from card.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2005
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 01 April 2014 00:11
1) I think the 2 hex move is allowed (to beach and then to ocean).

2) As units which recover figs in an Oasis may not move or battle on the same turn, it seems that recovery should be in the order phase.

3) That section in the FAQ overlooks the fact that TDs that do not move do not have any reduction when firing from a town. So a stationary TD can fire from a town to a town with 2d.

JFKoski wrote on Mon, 31 March 2014 17:42

1. Oceans and Shorelines(from Med Theater): It reads maximum movement in ocean is 1 hex. (Obviously there's an exception for landing craft.) But for normal units I'd always taken that to mean you can't move 1 on a beach, hill or desert then move 1 more into the ocean or shoreline hex (similar to the limit-2 rule for beach). This comes up when pulling back a wounded unit out of range into the ocean, or entering a curving shoreline hex to get to an adjacent land hex next turn. However the online game lets you move 1 on the beach, then 1 into the ocean.

Is there a limit-1 movement rule for Oceans and Shorelines?
Or is it, Unit entering Ocean and Shoreline hex must stop?


2. When does Oasis Recovery happen?
I saw Hospital Recovery happens "like Medics" when ordered, but I couldn't find anything that specifically says that for Oasis Recovery. The Online game prompts you when done ordering units. It makes sense that it should be when ordered, and not when you decide whether to attack.


Note: According to rules in Winter Wars, Tank Destroyers that don't move should ignore the terrain dice reduction of target AND reduction from its terrain (Towns, Villages & buildings). In the FAQ under Towns, it seems to describe Tank Destroyers being able to shoot Town-to-Town only when it gets a +1 from card.

[Updated on: Tue, 01 April 2014 01:20]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6862
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 01 April 2014 00:38
JFKoski wrote on Mon, 31 March 2014 14:42

1. Oceans and Shorelines(from Med Theater): It reads maximum movement in ocean is 1 hex. (Obviously there's an exception for landing craft.) But for normal units I'd always taken that to mean you can't move 1 on a beach, hill or desert then move 1 more into the ocean or shoreline hex (similar to the limit-2 rule for beach). This comes up when pulling back a wounded unit out of range into the ocean, or entering a curving shoreline hex to get to an adjacent land hex next turn. However the online game lets you move 1 on the beach, then 1 into the ocean.

Is there a limit-1 movement rule for Oceans and Shorelines?
Or is it, Unit entering Ocean and Shoreline hex must stop?


Units can only move one hex in Oceans and then must stop. They do no require the full movement to be 1...so units can move one hex on the beach and then one hex into the Ocean.


Quote:

2. When does Oasis Recovery happen?
I saw Hospital Recovery happens "like Medics" when ordered, but I couldn't find anything that specifically says that for Oasis Recovery. The Online game prompts you when done ordering units. It makes sense that it should be when ordered, and not when you decide whether to attack.


Recovery happens after order but before movement. This is required since units are not allowed to move or battle the turn they recover. So you have to start your turn on the hex and can't move after recovering.


Quote:

Note: According to rules in Winter Wars, Tank Destroyers that don't move should ignore the terrain dice reduction of target AND reduction from its terrain (Towns, Villages & buildings). In the FAQ under Towns, it seems to describe Tank Destroyers being able to shoot Town-to-Town only when it gets a +1 from card.


I'm at work right now but I'll look further into this when I have a chance. Smile
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 602
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 01 April 2014 05:14
Thanks for the replies. I guess my opponent could have used Infantry Assault to move 2 through the desert then 1 more into the shoreline. Live and learn.

Jeronimon wrote on Tue, 11 February 2014 16:41

For mines we use the following list to draw from:

WW mines 00012
TP mines 0001122334
MT mines 00012234
PT mines 01124
EF mines 01224

So we get the ones that came with the theatre and then draw from that pool.



That made sense to me and how I used to play. I'd print out the scenarios, such as from the Vercors campaign, and write the TP mine distribution, like those above.

But then it stopped working. There were some scenarios which had too many minefields, like Alpha Yellow (12) or Six Days Run-BT (19), the latter having more than TP + MT.

I think jdrommel wrote back or posted that he didn't put extra ones on by mistake, but to use mines from other sets too. Fortunately, I got WW at the same time as BT so could make it to 19.

Lately I played Peleliu Landings OL (7), where your supposed to have 2 PT packs, so would you use 2x the PT mines (0011112244)? I've been using all the mines (like Vassal) and trying to ignore that some don't say "ACHTUNG" on them.

Sometime I hope to play The Capture of Tobruk OL (16). (BTW, Why would none of the MT scenarios use Air Rules, but this desert OL does?). You could do 2x the MT mines or just use all you got.

Since none of the scenarios say "use Terrain Pack minefields" or "use Eastern Front minefields" either way will work. The exception is Winter Wars where the distribution is different, and I think those scenarios should say, "use Winter Wars minefields."

[Updated on: Tue, 01 April 2014 05:31]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 841
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 01 April 2014 06:54
JFKoski wrote on Mon, 31 March 2014 23:14

Thanks for the replies. I guess my opponent could have used Infantry Assault to move 2 through the desert then 1 more into the shoreline. Live and learn.

Jeronimon wrote on Tue, 11 February 2014 16:41

For mines we use the following list to draw from:

WW mines 00012
TP mines 0001122334
MT mines 00012234
PT mines 01124
EF mines 01224

So we get the ones that came with the theatre and then draw from that pool.



That made sense to me and how I used to play. I'd print out the scenarios, such as from the Vercors campaign, and write the TP mine distribution, like those above.

But then it stopped working. There were some scenarios which had too many minefields, like Alpha Yellow (12) or Six Days Run-BT (19), the latter having more than TP + MT.

I think jdrommel wrote back or posted that he didn't put extra ones on by mistake, but to use mines from other sets too. Fortunately, I got WW at the same time as BT so could make it to 19.

Lately I played Peleliu Landings OL (7), where your supposed to have 2 PT packs, so would you use 2x the PT mines (0011112244)? I've been using all the mines (like Vassal) and trying to ignore that some don't say "ACHTUNG" on them.

Sometime I hope to play The Capture of Tobruk OL (16). (BTW, Why would none of the MT scenarios use Air Rules, but this desert OL does?). You could do 2x the MT mines or just use all you got.

Since none of the scenarios say "use Terrain Pack minefields" or "use Eastern Front minefields" either way will work. The exception is Winter Wars where the distribution is different, and I think those scenarios should say, "use Winter Wars minefields."



I play mines from the set associated with the scenario. If too many required I just add another compatible set and randomly draw the required number. It really doesn't matter all that much. After all if you switch sides then it's even anyway, but wouldn't really matter if you didn't.
      
Pages (3): [ «  <  1  2  3 ]     
Previous Topic: M44 PDF Output- Bug reports and feedback
Next Topic:Campaign Book #2 Errata
Goto Forum: