Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - Digital » Seafaring Ghouls Bug
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Jabooty_3
Senior Member
KS Backer - Orc

User Pages
Posts: 114
Registered:
September 2010
Seafaring Ghouls Bug Tue, 15 October 2013 04:10
I've noticed the same issue with many Bots controlling a Seafaring race, abandoning the water to reclaim it the same turn and effectively waste an attack token.

I saw today that In-Decline Ghouls we're wrongly able to abandon and still reclaim the water during their turn; inefficiently breaking the rules!
      
Jontia
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Sun, 15 December 2013 14:36
The Seafaring power still exists in decline, otherwise you'd have to remove tokens from the sea/lake when going into decline with any race. Since ghouls can continue to conquer as normal when in decline, it seems OK that they can still conquer new seas or ones they abandoned.

Tactically abandoning then reconquering is a bad play, and probably a bug.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Sun, 15 December 2013 17:34
Actually, the Ghouls in this situation should not be able to reconquer the water regions once they abandon them; you're right this is a bug. Basically, only Active races can conquer water regions. Smile
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
July 2013
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Sat, 15 February 2014 07:29
I noticed this bug just today. I thought it was just a neat rule that I'd overlooked, but then I look at the SW rules sheet that says "As long as your seafaring race is active, you may conquer the Seas and the Lake".

Though I'll grant there is some wiggle room in that the Ghouls description claims that they conquer "playing exactly as if they were still Active tokens".

The official clarification thread lists ID Ghouls as not being able to conquer new ones, btw. Though there was a ton of going back and forth on it, I never saw any OFFICIAL DOW comment on it. I don't want to rehash all those reasons because I see the argument on either side, though personally the difference in what's on the badge on one side versus the other clinches it for me.

Would be nice to find out an official ruling, especially in light of how they work in the app.
      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 118
Registered:
May 2013
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Sat, 15 February 2014 15:15
I kinda hope this turns out to be another catapult issue, where DoW had actually been giving the wrong answer all this time. My hope is the game is doing it correctly again.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Sat, 15 February 2014 17:11
The Official answer is that In Decline races cannot conquer water regions. The app is doing this situation wrong, I'm afraid.

Sorry to disappoint. Razz

EDIT: I looked back at the FAQ thread and in the first post this rule is clearly stated. Ghouls may not continue to attack water regions. That thread is the Official FAQ thread for the base game, so even though it isn't written by DoW staff it is official because they would have corrected it if the rule was wrong.

I hope this helps.

[Updated on: Sat, 15 February 2014 17:35]

      
Proto Persona
Senior Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 118
Registered:
May 2013
Re:Seafaring Ghouls Bug Mon, 17 February 2014 06:48
Thanks for double checking that Ras. I was pretty sure of the current stance on it. It's just the official answer was also that catapult could be used multiple times a turn as long as you didn't move it. That turned out to be wrong and the app had it right. While it's highly unlikely to work out the way I hope it will, I would love to see the app be the correct play here again.
      
    
Previous Topic:SW 2.5 (the software) - Design Notes #2: Online Game Creation
Next Topic:A game that have run out of time is not disappearing!
Goto Forum: