Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians)
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
philippos42
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
January 2014
Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Sun, 16 February 2014 23:13
OK, I think most of "Be Not Afraid..." was clear enough, but I was uncertain about a few things:

Mercenary: How many times can Mercenary units pay during a single attack? Can a single unit conquer a stack seven high (an Ivory Tower, say) with 4 VC's? Or is it once per assault?

Barbarians:
1. Can they redeploy units from a territory conquered by an opponent on the opponents' turn?
2. When mustering forces at the beginning of their turn, can they leave more than one unit per region in some places for a defensive position? (This is a general rules question that didn't seem relevant before.)
3. In Small World: Underground, do Barbarians in the River clear out at the end of the turn, and just go into the player's hand, or stay in the River? And if they stay in the River, can they score a VC for the region?

Catapult:
1. Is the Catapult just air support for an attack you could make anyway, or does it enable you to jump over a region you don't control?
2. Can the Catapult be used multiple times per turn? The card phrases its ability a lot like the Cultists' Ancient One, and we were using that multiple times a turn.
3. In Small World: Underground, can the Catapult fire over the River? Can it fire over Chasms and the Volcano?

[Updated on: Sun, 16 February 2014 23:36]

      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 88
Registered:
August 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Sun, 16 February 2014 23:29
Mercenary, each conquest can have as many additionally VCs as is needed to conquer the region. Including after the die roll on the last conquest attempt.
Barbarians
A) Yes, to my knowledge
B) As barbarians you can elect to leave all in their respective places at turns start or none at all as I remember
C) I assume you meant barbarians, but anyway the only race wih the ability to stay in the river is the Kraken race. ( although on a subnote it is rarely useful since it leaves you more vulnerable to attack, especially if someone wants to access another part of the board)
Catapult
A) You can jump over any region including lakes and seas, although often the ability is used to protect oneself from another race and attack a region that another territory is adjacent to.
B) Just the one per turn.
C) i havent heard an official answer for this but i would presume you could because just as a chasm is unconquerable so is a river or lake, usually, and you could definetly catapult over a river
Smile
      
philippos42
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
January 2014
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Sun, 16 February 2014 23:37
Yes, I said Mercenaries when I meant Barbarians, once. Fixed.

Can I get official answers?

[Updated on: Sun, 16 February 2014 23:38]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Sun, 16 February 2014 23:41
Dan42hitchikers wrote on Sun, 16 February 2014 23:29

Mercenary, each conquest can have as many additionally VCs as is needed to conquer the region. Including after the die roll on the last conquest attempt.
Barbarians
A) Yes, to my knowledge
B) As barbarians you can elect to leave all in their respective places at turns start or none at all as I remember
C) I assume you meant barbarians, but anyway the only race wih the ability to stay in the river is the Kraken race. ( although on a subnote it is rarely useful since it leaves you more vulnerable to attack, especially if someone wants to access another part of the board)
Catapult
A) You can jump over any region including lakes and seas, although often the ability is used to protect oneself from another race and attack a region that another territory is adjacent to.
B) Just the one per turn.
C) i havent heard an official answer for this but i would presume you could because just as a chasm is unconquerable so is a river or lake, usually, and you could definetly catapult over a river
Smile


Hum, I think you haven't got Mercenary right, you can pay only one VP per conquest Wink

Same thing for Catapult, you can jump over the Lake, but not the Seas. And you can use it as many times you want per turn, until there is no region left to be conquered by skipping another region. Otherwise, it is A LOT weaker than the Dragon.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:18
blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 02:41

Dan42hitchikers wrote on Sun, 16 February 2014 23:29

Mercenary, each conquest can have as many additionally VCs as is needed to conquer the region. Including after the die roll on the last conquest attempt.
Barbarians
A) Yes, to my knowledge
B) As barbarians you can elect to leave all in their respective places at turns start or none at all as I remember
C) I assume you meant barbarians, but anyway the only race wih the ability to stay in the river is the Kraken race. ( although on a subnote it is rarely useful since it leaves you more vulnerable to attack, especially if someone wants to access another part of the board)
Catapult
A) You can jump over any region including lakes and seas, although often the ability is used to protect oneself from another race and attack a region that another territory is adjacent to.
B) Just the one per turn.
C) i havent heard an official answer for this but i would presume you could because just as a chasm is unconquerable so is a river or lake, usually, and you could definetly catapult over a river
Smile


Hum, I think you haven't got Mercenary right, you can pay only one VP per conquest Wink

Same thing for Catapult, you can jump over the Lake, but not the Seas. And you can use it as many times you want per turn, until there is no region left to be conquered by skipping another region. Otherwise, it is A LOT weaker than the Dragon.


I agree that you can only pay one VP per conquest when you use Mercenary...and the rules clearly say that the Catapult can be used to cross a lake but not the seas...however, the Catapult can only be used to help conquer one region.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:23
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 07:18

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 02:41

Dan42hitchikers wrote on Sun, 16 February 2014 23:29

Mercenary, each conquest can have as many additionally VCs as is needed to conquer the region. Including after the die roll on the last conquest attempt.
Barbarians
A) Yes, to my knowledge
B) As barbarians you can elect to leave all in their respective places at turns start or none at all as I remember
C) I assume you meant barbarians, but anyway the only race wih the ability to stay in the river is the Kraken race. ( although on a subnote it is rarely useful since it leaves you more vulnerable to attack, especially if someone wants to access another part of the board)
Catapult
A) You can jump over any region including lakes and seas, although often the ability is used to protect oneself from another race and attack a region that another territory is adjacent to.
B) Just the one per turn.
C) i havent heard an official answer for this but i would presume you could because just as a chasm is unconquerable so is a river or lake, usually, and you could definetly catapult over a river
Smile


Hum, I think you haven't got Mercenary right, you can pay only one VP per conquest Wink

Same thing for Catapult, you can jump over the Lake, but not the Seas. And you can use it as many times you want per turn, until there is no region left to be conquered by skipping another region. Otherwise, it is A LOT weaker than the Dragon.


I agree that you can only pay one VP per conquest when you use Mercenary...and the rules clearly say that the Catapult can be used to cross a lake but not the seas...however, the Catapult can only be used to help conquer one region.


I am pretty sure it can be used to conquer several regions. Otherwise it's too weak : basically, from your point of view it's an immune region and an attack at one less token than necessary, while the Dragon is an immune region and it can be 6 less tokens than necessary if you attack an Ivory Tower with it ! Not to mention Catapult is only 4 extra tokens while a Dragon is 5, and the fact that you can skip a region for conquering doesn't help or compensate much. And it was mentionned in the official FAQ that the Catapult can be used several times.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 07:25]

      
AngryMarine
Senior Member
Faster Than Mongolian Horse

User Pages
Posts: 268
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:24
Dan42hitchikers is right!
In case you have a Mercenary combo, the number of coins you can pay to conquer a region is only limited to the amount of coins you have.

Catapult can be used only once per turn.

On a two player map the Dragon will be useless when you are being surrounded by a Diplomat combo, while it is almost impossible to surround a Catapult combo.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 07:26]

      
DAC cazaron
Senior Member
Aspirante

Posts: 223
Registered:
May 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:29
AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 17:24

Dan42hitchikers is right!
In case you have a Mercenary combo, the number of coins you can pay to conquer a region is only limited to the amount of coins you have.

The PC/iOS version plays this way, so I'm agreeing with this unless the game's wrong.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:30
AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 07:24

Dan42hitchikers is right!
In case you have a Mercenary combo, the number of coins you can pay to conquer a region is only limited to the amount of coins you have.

Catapult can be used only once per turn.

On a two player map the Dragon will be useless whe you are being surrounded by a Diplomat combo, while it is almost impossible to surround a Catapult combo.


Im' sorry but you're wrong. Mercenary power clearly states "Each time you want to conquer a region, you can pay one VP to reduce the cost of an attack by 2.", at least in French. That means either you pay a coin, or you don't, but you cannot pay several at once. As for the Catapult, see my answer above. Maybe it's stronger than a Dragon on a 2-player match with a Diplomat race but that situation happens much less than any other situation where your Catapult vision would be weaker.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 07:41
blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 10:30

AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 07:24

Dan42hitchikers is right!
In case you have a Mercenary combo, the number of coins you can pay to conquer a region is only limited to the amount of coins you have.

Catapult can be used only once per turn.

On a two player map the Dragon will be useless whe you are being surrounded by a Diplomat combo, while it is almost impossible to surround a Catapult combo.


Im' sorry but you're wrong. Mercenary power clearly states "Each time you want to conquer a region, you can pay one VP to reduce the cost of an attack by 2.", at least in French. That means either you pay a coin, or you don't, but you cannot pay several at once. As for the Catapult, see my answer above. Maybe it's stronger than a Dragon on a 2-player match with a Diplomat race but that situation happens much less than any other situation where your Catapult vision would be weaker.


Whether it makes sense to you or not, the Catapult can only be used once. The designer of the game has clarified that he wanted it to only be used once per turn. You are correct, however, that Mercenary can only be used once per turn.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 07:41]

      
AngryMarine
Senior Member
Faster Than Mongolian Horse

User Pages
Posts: 268
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 08:11
Why is there an option in the digital variant of Small World to pay additional coins when conquering regions with Mercenaries if only one coin can be paid? It cannot be a bug, for it is a deliberately built-in opportunity.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=550EB277611FADDA!150&a mp;a mp;a mp;a mp;authkey=!AJwnwrl1wI33rUw&v=3&ithint=photo%2c.jpg

And not once per turn, you can pay coins for every region you conquer during your turn.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 11:55]

      
DAC cazaron
Senior Member
Aspirante

Posts: 223
Registered:
May 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 09:24
"you can pay one victory coin to reduce the number of tokens required by 2"
unless the app is completely wrong, what this means is that you can pay one for -2, two for -4 etc.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 13:22
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 07:41

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 10:30

AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 07:24

Dan42hitchikers is right!
In case you have a Mercenary combo, the number of coins you can pay to conquer a region is only limited to the amount of coins you have.

Catapult can be used only once per turn.

On a two player map the Dragon will be useless whe you are being surrounded by a Diplomat combo, while it is almost impossible to surround a Catapult combo.


Im' sorry but you're wrong. Mercenary power clearly states "Each time you want to conquer a region, you can pay one VP to reduce the cost of an attack by 2.", at least in French. That means either you pay a coin, or you don't, but you cannot pay several at once. As for the Catapult, see my answer above. Maybe it's stronger than a Dragon on a 2-player match with a Diplomat race but that situation happens much less than any other situation where your Catapult vision would be weaker.


Whether it makes sense to you or not, the Catapult can only be used once. The designer of the game has clarified that he wanted it to only be used once per turn. You are correct, however, that Mercenary can only be used once per turn.


That's not what the official FAQ says about the Catapult. AND it makes much more sens to be allowed to use it several times, otherwise it's rather uninteresting.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 13:22]

      
AngryMarine
Senior Member
Faster Than Mongolian Horse

User Pages
Posts: 268
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 13:46
As far as I know, the guys from Days of Wonder got it wrong themselves at first, but later Monsieur Philippe Keyaerts himself confirmed that Catapult is meant to be used only once per turn. And in this way it was introduced to the digital game of Small World.

I personally think that Catapult would be overpowered if used even twice per turn, not to say of several times.

[Updated on: Mon, 17 February 2014 13:57]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 15:06
AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 16:46

As far as I know, the guys from Days of Wonder got it wrong themselves at first, but later Monsieur Philippe Keyaerts himself confirmed that Catapult is meant to be used only once per turn. And in this way it was introduced to the digital game of Small World.

I personally think that Catapult would be overpowered if used even twice per turn, not to say of several times.


Correct.

As far as Mercenary goes, I'm afraid it was programmed into the digital version wrong. Enjoy the ability to pay extra coins for now, because eventually it will be fixed and you will only be allowed to pay one coin per conquest. Very Happy
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 17:55
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 15:06

AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 16:46

As far as I know, the guys from Days of Wonder got it wrong themselves at first, but later Monsieur Philippe Keyaerts himself confirmed that Catapult is meant to be used only once per turn. And in this way it was introduced to the digital game of Small World.

I personally think that Catapult would be overpowered if used even twice per turn, not to say of several times.


Correct.

As far as Mercenary goes, I'm afraid it was programmed into the digital version wrong. Enjoy the ability to pay extra coins for now, because eventually it will be fixed and you will only be allowed to pay one coin per conquest. Very Happy


I don't see how it would be overpowered. Okay, you can conquer by skipping regions, but it still is a constraint to use the -1 bonus attack. Commando is no immune region but it can be performed everywhere. I played a lot of games where it was hard to find a good location for the Catapult. But as always, guys... House rules ! ^^ And I won't change my mind, my vision of the Catapult is more interesting, more logical and not overpowered ^^
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 19:03
blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 20:55

rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 15:06

AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 16:46

As far as I know, the guys from Days of Wonder got it wrong themselves at first, but later Monsieur Philippe Keyaerts himself confirmed that Catapult is meant to be used only once per turn. And in this way it was introduced to the digital game of Small World.

I personally think that Catapult would be overpowered if used even twice per turn, not to say of several times.


Correct.

As far as Mercenary goes, I'm afraid it was programmed into the digital version wrong. Enjoy the ability to pay extra coins for now, because eventually it will be fixed and you will only be allowed to pay one coin per conquest. Very Happy


I don't see how it would be overpowered. Okay, you can conquer by skipping regions, but it still is a constraint to use the -1 bonus attack. Commando is no immune region but it can be performed everywhere. I played a lot of games where it was hard to find a good location for the Catapult. But as always, guys... House rules ! ^^ And I won't change my mind, my vision of the Catapult is more interesting, more logical and not overpowered ^^


I'm not trying to change your mind about anything! I'm just telling you what the rules are and you can decide to follow them if you want or ignore them. Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Mon, 17 February 2014 20:19
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 19:03

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 20:55

rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 15:06

AngryMarine wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 16:46

As far as I know, the guys from Days of Wonder got it wrong themselves at first, but later Monsieur Philippe Keyaerts himself confirmed that Catapult is meant to be used only once per turn. And in this way it was introduced to the digital game of Small World.

I personally think that Catapult would be overpowered if used even twice per turn, not to say of several times.


Correct.

As far as Mercenary goes, I'm afraid it was programmed into the digital version wrong. Enjoy the ability to pay extra coins for now, because eventually it will be fixed and you will only be allowed to pay one coin per conquest. Very Happy


I don't see how it would be overpowered. Okay, you can conquer by skipping regions, but it still is a constraint to use the -1 bonus attack. Commando is no immune region but it can be performed everywhere. I played a lot of games where it was hard to find a good location for the Catapult. But as always, guys... House rules ! ^^ And I won't change my mind, my vision of the Catapult is more interesting, more logical and not overpowered ^^


I'm not trying to change your mind about anything! I'm just telling you what the rules are and you can decide to follow them if you want or ignore them. Smile


It's not just that, the fact that it seems more logical to me, it's that is seems more logical to a lot of people and that they follow the same rule as the one I follow ^^ And believe me, if I had found it overpowered with my way, I would have wondered, but I found it balanced as it is never easy to make it work in the best way, to even know what is the best placement for the Catapult, because there is a lot of factors to consider, especially the fact that wherever you place it, half of the regions will still be hard to conquer, with the bonus or not, given the great amount of tokens in it.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Tue, 18 February 2014 00:33
blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 17 February 2014 23:19


It's not just that, the fact that it seems more logical to me, it's that is seems more logical to a lot of people and that they follow the same rule as the one I follow ^^ And believe me, if I had found it overpowered with my way, I would have wondered, but I found it balanced as it is never easy to make it work in the best way, to even know what is the best placement for the Catapult, because there is a lot of factors to consider, especially the fact that wherever you place it, half of the regions will still be hard to conquer, with the bonus or not, given the great amount of tokens in it.


Again, I'm not trying to convince you to play by a different way. The official rules are one way and if you and all your friends want to play a different way because it seems more logical to you or makes the game more fun for you guys, then I say go for it! The whole point is to have fun with board games so change any rules you want to make it fun. Very Happy

Enjoy! Smile
      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 88
Registered:
August 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Tue, 18 February 2014 08:53
When looking at the reading on the card it says
You may spend 1 victory coin to reduce the number of tokens needed to conquer it by two.
I found this quite implicit in it's wording that you could compound the effect. Just out of curiosity do you know where the official ruling is.
Thanks
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7106
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Tue, 18 February 2014 15:08
Dan42hitchikers wrote on Tue, 18 February 2014 11:53

When looking at the reading on the card it says
You may spend 1 victory coin to reduce the number of tokens needed to conquer it by two.
I found this quite implicit in it's wording that you could compound the effect. Just out of curiosity do you know where the official ruling is.
Thanks


I have been working to put together an Official FAQ document for Small World and Small World: Underground with permission from Days of Wonder. It will be similar to my Memoir '44 FAQ that can be found here:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/

But will be much smaller and cover all of the questions from this wonderful game.

In the process of working on those documents I have gathered all of the Official answers that have been shared online or contacted DoW/Phillipe directly to get answers to questions that had not been answered. I'm afraid I can't remember which one this falls into...but the answer I got for Mercenary was the following:

Q: Can you pay extra coins to reduce the conquest cost more than 2?
A: You cannot spend more than 1 Victory coin per Conquest to increase your Mercenary bonus.


I hope this helps. Cool
      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 88
Registered:
August 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Tue, 18 February 2014 17:19
Thanks Smile
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Tue, 18 February 2014 21:01
The whole thing about leaving more than one unit in a region when you start certainly doesn't jive with the digital version. It ALWAYS takes all your units back in hand except one. And the manual states that on following turns, you either decline or you start your next turn by readying your troops. It explains readying your troops as "Leaving in place one Race token in each Region they occupy." The only exception to that is abandoning, and that's specifically pointed out in the rules.

Likewise, I don't feel it's legal to "overconquer" by using more tokens than necessary to place in a region. The app certainly doesn't let you do this, and the rules have no provision for it. The rules say you "the player must deploy the Race tokens he used to conquer this Region inside its borders on the map." Tokens over the number you'd need aren't tokens used to conquer the region.

Again, I do not believe you get to redeploy tokens you get back from another opponent conquering your region. This IS "redeploying" according to the manual. "Keep the other Race tokens in hand, and redeploy them in any other Region(s) still occupied by his race (if any) as the final action of the current player's turn." Barbarian rules state "Your Barbarians cannot redeploy their troops at the end of each turn." (emphasis mine) Note that it doesn't say "player with Barbarian's turn" but "each" turn. That would include the turn that your opponent took when it knocked you out of a region. This one is a bit harder to confirm with the app due to the way it does redeployments (and the ability to get into this situation).

Any of the above shenanigans are only attempted to make an end run around the rules and so I'd say they can't be done. Especially since the app agrees in all cases except maybe the last (where I just haven't run into it). Barbarians weakness is in not being able to put down tokens anywhere they aren't attacking. That's their whole modus operandi.
      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 88
Registered:
August 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Wed, 19 February 2014 00:45
I like your argument, except on one point
The rules clearly stipulate: at the start of each turn you may muster your troops,
I would think that leaving a phrase like this would definetly allow for the way i interpreted the rules.
Since 'may' leaves such an element of doubt I would assume this was intentional, or else it would simply state at the start of each turn you muster your troops.
NB players may opt to 'do' nothing if they think their empire is as developed as possible and may simply end their turn, collecting VPs. I think this could then be applied to the barbarian scenario, which is why i thought either all would be mustered, or all left as they were.
Although in consideration, I have changed my mind and think additional tokens gained after being attacked shouldnt be redeployed.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Wed, 19 February 2014 07:10
Dan42hitchikers wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 00:45

I like your argument, except on one point
The rules clearly stipulate: at the start of each turn you may muster your troops,
I would think that leaving a phrase like this would definetly allow for the way i interpreted the rules.
Since 'may' leaves such an element of doubt I would assume this was intentional, or else it would simply state at the start of each turn you muster your troops.
NB players may opt to 'do' nothing if they think their empire is as developed as possible and may simply end their turn, collecting VPs. I think this could then be applied to the barbarian scenario, which is why i thought either all would be mustered, or all left as they were.
Although in consideration, I have changed my mind and think additional tokens gained after being attacked shouldnt be redeployed.


Barbarians got back after being attacked CAN be redeployed Wink one mustn't make a confusion between the end of Barbarians' turn, when they cannot redeploy their troops, and the end of any other turn, when they can. This is clearly written in the rules.
      
AngryMarine
Senior Member
Faster Than Mongolian Horse

User Pages
Posts: 268
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Wed, 19 February 2014 07:28
Quote:

Barbarians got back after being attacked CAN be redeployed one mustn't make a confusion between the end of Barbarians' turn, when they cannot redeploy their troops, and the end of any other turn, when they can. This is clearly written in the rules.

Really? Where? Can you quote?

Edit: I have just tested Barbarians in the digital game on the three player map, and unlike the case with any other race, I was not offered to redeploy my troops after some of my regions had been conquered by Player 2. The tokens silently remained off board when Player 3 was taking his turn.

[Updated on: Wed, 19 February 2014 07:48]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 280
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Wed, 19 February 2014 12:58
AngryMarine wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 07:28

Quote:

Barbarians got back after being attacked CAN be redeployed one mustn't make a confusion between the end of Barbarians' turn, when they cannot redeploy their troops, and the end of any other turn, when they can. This is clearly written in the rules.

Really? Where? Can you quote?

Edit: I have just tested Barbarians in the digital game on the three player map, and unlike the case with any other race, I was not offered to redeploy my troops after some of my regions had been conquered by Player 2. The tokens silently remained off board when Player 3 was taking his turn.


I am just leaning on what the rules strictly say. In English, it says "cannot redeploy at the end of each turn", which is ambiguous - each of THEIR turns or ALL turns ? But I have the French version that says : "cannot redeploy at the end of THEIR turns". What's more, the digital version seems to have a few gaps. So there you go Wink
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:Be Not Afraid... questions (Mercenary, Catapult, Barbarians) Wed, 19 February 2014 18:34
blaxnlion wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 06:58

I am just leaning on what the rules strictly say. In English, it says "cannot redeploy at the end of each turn", which is ambiguous - each of THEIR turns or ALL turns ? But I have the French version that says : "cannot redeploy at the end of THEIR turns". What's more, the digital version seems to have a few gaps. So there you go Wink


I'd say the English "each turn" is precisely UNambiguous. Each turn means each turn of the game. If they wanted it to be that you can't redeploy on only on your turn it would have said "your turn."

Now if the French says something different, I agree that there is a question. I think we need an official Dow/Phillipe comment on that part.

Edit: Looks like there has been an official comment that says the French rules are correct:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20384&start=0

Apparently, they should have put "each of your turns" rather than "each turn" in English.
BTW, it's also stated there that you can't conquer with more tokens than are necessary (general rule, not just for Barbarians).

[Updated on: Wed, 19 February 2014 18:44]

      
    
Previous Topic:DOW website links broken for expansions
Next Topic:Small World 6-Player Map now available worldwide
Goto Forum: