Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » On the move query
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 166
Registered:
April 2006
On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 12:31
Greetings All,

Yesterday I used the "On the Move" section of a card to "move" two units off the board through an "exit" hex, thereby scoring two victory points.

My opponent was most cheesed off - saying this couldn't be done.

We had a discussion with a couple of other club members present, and decided that it was a legit move, and VP could be awarded.

Anybody have any thoughts otherwise?

Thank you,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3012
Registered:
February 2007
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 13:32
FAQ P.1:
Quote:

Q. If a unit receives an On the Move order from a Breakthrough card, is that an ordered unit or just a "moved" unit? That is, can the unit benefit from a Combat Card that "ordered" units benefit from (such as Reposition)?
A. On the Move orders are exactly like every other order except that those units cannot battle. Combat Cards can be played on units that were activated with On the Move orders.


My read as that if movement is all that is necessary to leave the board through an exit hex, than a unit given an "ON THE MOVE" Order may exit the board and score a medal.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2245
Registered:
August 2006
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 15:28
Per the FAQ, "On The Move only allows a unit to move; the unit can do no other actions." On The Move may be used for a Paradrop, and On The Move units may benefit from Combat cards or Medics & Mechanics.

Moving onto an objective hex, or through an Exit hex requires only movement. That certainly would be legal for On The Move. I'm pretty sure there was a ruling on the subject, but I haven't searched for it.
      
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 166
Registered:
April 2006
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 17:39
Thank you Gentlemen,

That's what we thought and decided.
Move only - no battle involved - therefore a legal "move" off the board and scored the VP.

ta for your input.

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 878
Registered:
December 2006
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 20:22
Its legit provided you are indeed playing a breakthrough scenario. However, several people have posted recently they use the BT deck with ordinary scenarios. I wouldn't recommend using BT deck with an ordinary scenario, but if for some reason you do, I certainly wouldn't allow exits with on the move.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3012
Registered:
February 2007
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 22:40
FAQ P.3:
Quote:

Q. If Exit rules are in effect and my opponent forces me to retreat while my unit is on an Exit hex, may I retreat off the board and get a medal?
A. No, the intent has always been that units must be ordered and then move off the battlefield via an Exit hex. You may not retreat off the board and gain an Exit medal.


Another justification for EXITING using an "ON THE MOVE" order. The main idea from this above question was that the person exiting cannot score (exit) unless it is an offensive action.
Because the Move Order occurs on the offensive side it creates and opportunity to score (exit) on your turn even if the units ordered may not battle.

[Updated on: Sun, 13 April 2014 22:41]

      
questioneer
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 42
Registered:
July 2012
Re:On the move query Sun, 13 April 2014 23:31
Sgt Storm wrote on Sun, 13 April 2014 14:22

Its legit provided you are indeed playing a breakthrough scenario. However, several people have posted recently they use the BT deck with ordinary scenarios. I wouldn't recommend using BT deck with an ordinary scenario, but if for some reason you do, I certainly wouldn't allow exits with on the move.


But according to the WW rules, one can mix or substitute the BT Deck for the Regular deck. So that, in conjunction with the stated exit rule, allows that move to be legal EVEN on a REGULAR scenario with a BT deck.

WW just warns people that using the BT deck in scenarios other than BT scenarios will make units on both sides more sharp- but its NOT illegal to do.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 878
Registered:
December 2006
Re:On the move query Mon, 14 April 2014 02:03
questioneer wrote on Sun, 13 April 2014 17:31

Sgt Storm wrote on Sun, 13 April 2014 14:22

Its legit provided you are indeed playing a breakthrough scenario. However, several people have posted recently they use the BT deck with ordinary scenarios. I wouldn't recommend using BT deck with an ordinary scenario, but if for some reason you do, I certainly wouldn't allow exits with on the move.


But according to the WW rules, one can mix or substitute the BT Deck for the Regular deck. So that, in conjunction with the stated exit rule, allows that move to be legal EVEN on a REGULAR scenario with a BT deck.

WW just warns people that using the BT deck in scenarios other than BT scenarios will make units on both sides more sharp- but its NOT illegal to do.



Sure you can do whatever you like. But I still believe the standard rules apply to standard scenarios, though frankly I don't care what someone else does. Personally, I would never play a standard scenario with a BT deck. I just don't see the point. The board is too shallow and the games go pretty quickly. And I would argue that standard games with exit conditions would have distorted results with a BT deck. But everyone is free to house rule whatever they like.
      
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 166
Registered:
April 2006
Re:On the move query Mon, 14 April 2014 12:47
Greetings Sgt Storm,

I'm one of those players that use the BT deck on small board scenarios. My regular playing partner and myself enjoy it , and as you say, we can house rule anything.

However I do like your point that on a small board, combined with "exit" VP's the BT deck might not be such a good idea.

For future scenarios with "exit VP's" we will stick to the standard deck.

thank you for your input.

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 623
Registered:
March 2005
Re:On the move query Mon, 14 April 2014 14:37
I haven't used the BT deck with standard scenario's but have thought about it.
The main reason is because of al the extra tactic cards, the game is more fun ( I think Smile ) But if I would use the BT deck in a normal sized scenario I wouldn't use the "on the move" orders for the same reason as Sgt. Storm.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 878
Registered:
December 2006
Re:On the move query Mon, 14 April 2014 18:28
Antoi wrote on Mon, 14 April 2014 08:37

I haven't used the BT deck with standard scenario's but have thought about it.
The main reason is because of al the extra tactic cards, the game is more fun ( I think Smile ) But if I would use the BT deck in a normal sized scenario I wouldn't use the "on the move" orders for the same reason as Sgt. Storm.


That's an alternative I might try (BT without on the move). I forgot about the extra cards in the BT deck, which indeed might spice things up. Thanks for the heads up on that one.
      
    
Previous Topic:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation
Next Topic:British paratroopers
Goto Forum: