Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Cadets of Saumur question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Cadets of Saumur question Fri, 11 April 2014 12:15
I don't have the hedgerow hell expansion, so I printed this off today. I notice that several French units are marked with 'Cadets', 'H-39', 11th and 17th Brigades and 'BM-SM'.

Is this for historical interest only, or are there special rules for these units?

[Updated on: Fri, 11 April 2014 12:15]

      
Turboheizer
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 466
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Cadets of Saumur question Fri, 11 April 2014 12:20
All Special rules are listed in the Scenario briefing. They are as follows:

Quote:

Air rules are optional: If used, shuffle both Air Sortie cards into the deck, at game start.

The Allied player may not play any Air Power card (nor any Air Sortie, if Air rules are used). When he draws an Air Power or Air Sortie card, he immediately discards it and draws a replacement card instead.

Blitz rules are in effect (Actions 15 - Blitz Rules).

Place a badge on the German engineer units (Troops 4 - Combat Engineers).

All German Infantry and Engineer units are equipped with Rafts (Actions 5 - Collapsible Rafts & Boats).

The French artillery unit with one figure represents a mortar. Its destruction counts as a medal for Axis forces.

The Allied forces may attempt to Blow Up Bridges, using Option 2 (Actions 2 - Blowing Up Bridges).

For the Axis forces, Pontoon Bridges rules are in effect (Terrain 33 - Pontoon Bridges).


Anything else is pure info.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1081
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Cadets of Saumur question Sat, 12 April 2014 16:10
This is quite an old scenario which pre-dates many of the special units that we now have. The unit information is there for information only as Turboheizer says.
      
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Cadets of Saumur question Sun, 13 April 2014 12:51
Thanks for the replies.

While I know you can play Overlord solitaire, I wonder if the following would work for solitaire play and two players?

As Overlord maps are roughly twice the size of standard scenarios, could they be played with a standard deck and just double the orders e.g. a probe would order four units, and you could make two attacks with an Air Power or Barrage card.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 676
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Cadets of Saumur question Sun, 13 April 2014 15:21
Major Duncan wrote on Sun, 13 April 2014 12:51

Thanks for the replies.

While I know you can play Overlord solitaire, I wonder if the following would work for solitaire play and two players?

As Overlord maps are roughly twice the size of standard scenarios, could they be played with a standard deck and just double the orders e.g. a probe would order four units, and you could make two attacks with an Air Power or Barrage card.


Some cards like Barrage and Air Power would be very powerfull in that situation. Would you also double the amount of dice thrown when you play Their Finest Hour?

I think its best to stick to the Overlord rules. So play 1-3 cards. you will run out of cards soon, but then you just shuffle Smile
      
Major Duncan
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Cadets of Saumur question Mon, 14 April 2014 15:50
I would stipulate that each barrage or air power attack should be against a seperate target. Yes, twice the dice for Their Finest Hour.

Yes, the cards would be powerful, but only doubly so and it is the same for both sides. Casualties would increase, but then you need twice the number of banners that you would normally need.

It's just like a double sized standard game. I am in no way saying this is better that overlord, because it's not, but it is a simple way to play an Overlord scenario for one or two players.
      
    
Previous Topic:Memoir 44 D-Day Landings Expansion Some Designer Notes
Next Topic:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation
Goto Forum: