Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 166
Registered:
April 2006
Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation Sun, 13 April 2014 12:51
Greetings All,

I was playing Operation Frankforce (Campaign Book vol 2 - Air Aces section No. 43)

I was a bit confused by the special rule concerning the entry of 25th Panzer Regiment.
Rule states " On play of an Axis Assault card......., rest is straight forward.

Then the last line states...." They count as two of the orders on the Assault card"
The Assault card is an "Order ALL Units" card.

So I'm thinking that maybe the activation card should actually be the "Attack" card, that orders 3 units ( two orders now get used up to bring on the Panzers) and one order for any other unit on the flank.

Or if using the Assault card just order two units less than all possible units already on that flank - this seems very cumbersome though, and not ion keeping with the general "simplicity" of the Memoir system.

Possible errata entry here?

Looking forward to your comments,
Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation Sun, 13 April 2014 13:51
Don't believe this has been clarified. It could also be a misprint and mean "ARMOR ASSAULT" card. I think when I played this when CB#2 first came out, we played it this way. Our logic was that we were ordering armor which is what the "ARMOR ASSAULT" card does. Since this card gives orders for up to 4 Armor units that would leave you 2 more armor units to order.

[Updated on: Sun, 13 April 2014 13:54]

      
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 166
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation Sun, 13 April 2014 17:37
Thanks Stevens,

Problem here being Axis has no other armour on the board.
Also the rule specifically said a "left flank" card to be used.
Armour Assault is an all sections card.

So I'm still inclined to go for a Attack, left flank card, order three units and use up two orders bringing in the 25th Panzer.

Looks like this could end up being a "house rule" for our gaming group.

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban, South Africa.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 878
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation Sun, 13 April 2014 20:25
I would play it as it reads, "Assault card", and simply assume the other text is just clarification that did not translate well, at least until you hear from scenario designer.
      
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 323
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Operation Frankforce - rule clarity/interpretation Mon, 14 April 2014 17:31
French rules just state that the new Panzer units are also ordered by the Assault card. (They can move and battle upon entering the board)
      
    
Previous Topic:Cadets of Saumur question
Next Topic:On the move query
Goto Forum: