Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Question on why I could not battle in a scenario (BEL)
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
deepnet
Junior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 5
Registered:
December 2005
Question on why I could not battle in a scenario (BEL) Sun, 11 May 2014 05:13
Hello Folks:

First time posting to this forum, so apologies in advance is this is a dumb question! Love Memoir '44 though... just made Major, and I better get ready for the "long slog" now.

So, I was playing a game a while back, and oddly could not battle a unit in a case where I thought I should be able to:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=41 299558#replay:turn=3

- Used BEL
- Move Inf. from G9 to H7
- Wanted to battle unit in city at F5, but was not allowed to.
- Figured 1 die, -1 for city, +1 for BEL = 1?

Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks in advance folks!






      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7072
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Question on why I could not battle in a scenario (BEL) Sun, 11 May 2014 06:24
deepnet wrote on Sat, 10 May 2014 20:13

Hello Folks:

First time posting to this forum, so apologies in advance is this is a dumb question! Love Memoir '44 though... just made Major, and I better get ready for the "long slog" now.

So, I was playing a game a while back, and oddly could not battle a unit in a case where I thought I should be able to:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44-online/en/battle/?id=41 299558#replay:turn=3

- Used BEL
- Move Inf. from G9 to H7
- Wanted to battle unit in city at F5, but was not allowed to.
- Figured 1 die, -1 for city, +1 for BEL = 1?

Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks in advance folks!


I believe the special rules in that scenario state that the river is too wide for Infantry to battle across it.

[Updated on: Sun, 11 May 2014 06:24]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Question on why I could not battle in a scenario (BEL) Sun, 11 May 2014 13:24
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 11 May 2014 00:24


I believe the special rules in that scenario state that the river is too wide for Infantry to battle across it.


This is it exactly:
ARNHEM BRIDGE
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=25

Quote:

Special Rules:
All the Allied units are Special Forces Elite Airborne units. Therefore, there is no need to place badges with the units. These units may move 1 or 2 hexes and still battle.

The Axis Special Forces tank units have 4 figures.

The Axis Special Forces infantry are Elite Grenadier units. Place an Axis special force token in the same hex with these units to distinguish them from the other units. The Elite Grenadier units may move 1 or 2 hexes and still battle.

Units may only enter or exit Arnhem Bridge from or onto the hexes as noted at the ends of the bridge. Movement along the span of bridge is normal.

Infantry units may not target units on the opposite side of the Rhine River, which is too wide in this section.
      
deepnet
Junior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 5
Registered:
December 2005
Re:Question on why I could not battle in a scenario (BEL) Sun, 11 May 2014 14:52
Quote:

I believe the special rules in that scenario state that the river is too wide for Infantry to battle across it.


Ah! I missed that! Thank you for the clarification.

      
    
Previous Topic:D-Day Landings now available for preorder
Next Topic:PDF versions of Air Pack and Campaign Book 1
Goto Forum: