Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7070
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 19:01
jepmn wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 21:46

Is this FAQ even being updated any more? The last update is May 2012 and I know there's been several things brought up since then. I have a couple of rules that had official clarifications in
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20384&start=0
that need adding.

I think we need to restart the sticky with someone very active like rasmussen making the first post.


I don't think the FAQ is being updated any more, but we have plans to make the answers available to everyone soon. If people get the Encyclopedia, which will be available from the DoW store even if you didn't back the Kickstarter, you will see all of the answers to any question that has been asked (and even some that weren't asked) in a VERY attractive book.

Creating a new FAQ thread is not a bad idea. I'll talk with DoW about our options and possibilities. Smile
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 81
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 20:41
What might be nice is a wiki. It's actually kind of surprising there is no wiki yet in this day an age. There's a wiki for EVERYTHING. Very Happy

Hmmm....

*typetypetype*

*click*

Well I'll be.

http://smallworld.wikia.com/wiki/Small_World_Wiki
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7070
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 21:43
jepmn wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 23:41

What might be nice is a wiki. It's actually kind of surprising there is no wiki yet in this day an age. There's a wiki for EVERYTHING. Very Happy

Hmmm....

*typetypetype*

*click*

Well I'll be.

http://smallworld.wikia.com/wiki/Small_World_Wiki


Nice find. Cool
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 269
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 11:58
Hi guys ! I'm having a rather unpleasant quarrel with a buddy on this site, about Cursed Homonculi and Hordes of.

- According to him, when you skip Cursed Homonculi, you have to put three VPs on the combo and thre Homonculi as well, but you'll agree with me that it is one Homonculi per skipping and not per VP, right ?

- Hordes of token : when you lose a region, you can't just take a Hordes of token from another region and exchange it for a normal race token from the region you just lost. And when you go into decline, you cannot just exchange a lonely Hordes of token for a spare normal race token just like this, you just lose the region, because you redeployed like a fool during your previous turn. Whereas this buddy claims you can exchange them like a cheater who won't admit you cannot just exchange race tokens like this like it was magic.

So, what do you think ?
      
J-Effe IV
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
March 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 16:58
We play it so that Hordes of Tokens are just like regular tokens, and thus can be exchanged at will. If they happen to be alone on a region and the player declines, he can simply just replace it by another race token if available (just as if the hordes of token had been on another region that had an extra race token).

So basically, yeah, the first two tokens to go in the tray are always the "Hordes of" ones. We do it this way because the "Hordes of" tokens are actually the same as if DoW had printed 2 extra tokens for each race.

We play it this way : If the player has more tokens than the total of its race + power when going into decline, he must discard tokens until he reaches this total (and also discard any extra token he has until there is only one token per region). Else, he only needs to discard the extra tokens so that he has only one token per region.

So if you have, say, Hordes of Orcs, then you actually have 12 Orcs, at least 2 of which must return to the tray when going into decline if no Orc has died already. If you only have 8 Orcs left, and all are alone on a region, no token returns to the tray upon going into decline (as the Hordes of tokens are already in the tray anyway).

That's how we play it because that's what makes the most sense for us, and we feel the Hordes of Power would be not balanced otherwise. I'm not however telling you that you should play it this way. Smile

As for the Homonculi: we never add more than one at a time (nothing in the rules implies that it is linked to VPs). In fact, "Cursed" does not make you skip the race thrice - you skip it only once but pay more (and as you skip it only once, you only put one Homonculi on the combo).

[Updated on: Fri, 16 May 2014 17:09]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 269
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 18:00
J-Effe IV wrote on Fri, 16 May 2014 16:58

We play it so that Hordes of Tokens are just like regular tokens, and thus can be exchanged at will. If they happen to be alone on a region and the player declines, he can simply just replace it by another race token if available (just as if the hordes of token had been on another region that had an extra race token).

So basically, yeah, the first two tokens to go in the tray are always the "Hordes of" ones. We do it this way because the "Hordes of" tokens are actually the same as if DoW had printed 2 extra tokens for each race.

We play it this way : If the player has more tokens than the total of its race + power when going into decline, he must discard tokens until he reaches this total (and also discard any extra token he has until there is only one token per region). Else, he only needs to discard the extra tokens so that he has only one token per region.

So if you have, say, Hordes of Orcs, then you actually have 12 Orcs, at least 2 of which must return to the tray when going into decline if no Orc has died already. If you only have 8 Orcs left, and all are alone on a region, no token returns to the tray upon going into decline (as the Hordes of tokens are already in the tray anyway).

That's how we play it because that's what makes the most sense for us, and we feel the Hordes of Power would be not balanced otherwise. I'm not however telling you that you should play it this way. Smile

As for the Homonculi: we never add more than one at a time (nothing in the rules implies that it is linked to VPs). In fact, "Cursed" does not make you skip the race thrice - you skip it only once but pay more (and as you skip it only once, you only put one Homonculi on the combo).




Okay for the Homonculi. For Hordes of, so that is the official rule ? Because I am willing to accept it but the way you introduce it seems to violate some basic rules... I mean, when you decline, all you can do is discard tokens from each region so as to leave one per region, flip them, score and nothing else, the game stops. Not only is it what I would interpret it from the official rules as they are written, but also it seems a bit more logical : I don't quite imagine how tokens could be switch like this, like it was "magic".

And it adds a bit of strategy if you can't just dispose of the Hordes of tokens if you please. When you are conquered : it seems unfair to switch them like this so everything goes well for the Hordes of player. I mean, take Peace-Loving, they can make tons of money but can also be stuck in defavorable situations where the race has to adapt. While with this version of Hordes of, there is neither fair play, nor surprise, nor strategy, so it kills the spirit of the game a little bit (in my opinion). When you are conquered, how can one justify it is the guy miles away that dies instead of one in the region you just lost ? If one is not allowed to swtich them at will, then it adds a bit of fun : shall I protect such or such region with my Hordes, with the risk of running out of regular race tokens ? And when you redeploy, you would have to think well before placing the tokens, otherwise you would lose the region when you decline if you foolishly leave a Hordes of token alone.

Sorry for being so voluble ^^ If this is the official rule, I'll stick to it, while perhaps adapting it to my games a little bit ! And I don't think my way of using Hordes of would make them unbalanced, I mean, two more tokens to attack and defend is already quite powerful ^^ And I thought Hordes of tokens acted like race tokens but are NOT race tokens.

[Updated on: Fri, 16 May 2014 18:05]

      
Pages (7): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7 ]     
Previous Topic:Famous Last Words & Other Fun Quotes
Next Topic:Interesting Race Banners/Special Power combos
Goto Forum: