Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 10:59
I know that I should know this one! Inf may and Armour always remove wire as an offensive action (i.e. not through retreating into wire).

I guess, as the card (Troop #14) does not state that Mobile Artillery can remove wire, that it cannot. The FAQ (p.11) refers to Standard Artillery not being able to remove wire so I wondered whether Mobile Artillery, as tracked vehicles, are treated as Armour for this purpose?

BTW - I've read a Forum thread about Mobile Artillery firing at -1 from a hex with wire, but not about their ability to remove wire upon entering / leaving as per Armour.

[Updated on: Wed, 28 May 2014 11:16]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1084
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 12:51
I think you only need the wire card to answer your questions:
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_15.jpg

No, the mobile arty cannot remove wire.

and only infantry gets the -1 penalty for shooting out of wire. Not the artillery.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 14:32
There's a long thread on Artillery firing at -1 from hexes with wire.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=232101#msg_232101

See also top bullet point in the FAQs (v2.0) p.53:

Quote:
Q. Does an Artillery unit ordered by an Artillery Bombard that is in a hex containing Wire have a die reduction when battling?
A. Yes. Like an Infantry unit, an Artillery unit on a hex with Wire will reduce the number of Battle dice it rolls by one.


So why the statement "Standard Artillery"?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 16:45
I don't remember when that question first came up, but if I remember correctly it was only asked about standard Artillery, which is why the question is worded like that. If Mobile Artillery could remove Wire, I would have put a note about that in the FAQ. Since neither Richard or I thought to point out the difference, I think it's safe to say that Artillery cannot remove wire.

I can see why the "Standard Artillery" part would be confusing, though. Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 28 May 2014 16:56]

      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 597
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 17:44
wow - in all my time of playing this great game, I don't think I've ever had to consider whether Arty loses a die when firing from out of a wire hex.

So just to clarify, if your Arty is on a wire hex, .. ANY type of Arty, ordered by ANY type of card, is going to throw with -1 dice?

This essentially limits the range of an arty to 4 hexes rather than 6 ?

Have I got this right?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 18:11
Jaykay2010 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 08:44

wow - in all my time of playing this great game, I don't think I've ever had to consider whether Arty loses a die when firing from out of a wire hex.

So just to clarify, if your Arty is on a wire hex, .. ANY type of Arty, ordered by ANY type of card, is going to throw with -1 dice?

This essentially limits the range of an arty to 4 hexes rather than 6 ?

Have I got this right?


Yes.

In all my games of Memoir '44, I don't think I've moved my Artillery into a hex with Wire. Even without this rule it's such a rare event that I can't remember when it came up as a real choice.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 18:22
Remember that this question was prompted by considering Mobile Artillery and their possible ability as tracked vehicles to remove wire.

Mobile Artillery feature in D-Day scenarios so I guess it's good to clarify this point ahead of the forthcoming Operation Neptune beach landing scenarios.
      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 597
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 19:32
Same here Jesse!


Im curious now to see how the Online game interprets it lol Wink

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Wed, 28 May 2014 20:03
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 17:11

In all my games of Memoir '44, I don't think I've moved my Artillery into a hex with Wire. Even without this rule it's such a rare event that I can't remember when it came up as a real choice.


It actually stems from recently playing a Juno Overlord with Mobile Artillery on Landing Crafts and lots of wire on the beaches.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 02:11
Jaykay2010 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 13:32

Same here Jesse!


Im curious now to see how the Online game interprets it lol Wink



P. 11 FAQ
Quote:

Q. Can a Standard Artillery unit remove Wire?
A. No


However, the ONLINE game does not enforce this rule. I actually lost a game because my opponent fired out of wire with his artillery without a dice reduction. So the rule is in place, but the ONLINE game does not enforce it.
      
questioneer
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 04:07
Sooooo...what's the official word on this???

1. Art can't remove wire right?

2. Art in wire fires at normal correct?

3. Art must stop at movement into wire right?

That's how I interpret the wire terrain card.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 04:27
questioneer wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 19:07

Sooooo...what's the official word on this???

1. Art can't remove wire right?

2. Art in wire fires at normal correct?

3. Art must stop at movement into wire right?

That's how I interpret the wire terrain card.


No, the only question that is unanswered is about Mobile Artillery.

Artillery can't remove Wire.
Artillery fires out of Wire at -1.
Artillery must stop when moving into Wire (though it's rare that they could move more than 1 hex at a time anyway).

This is clearly covered in the FAQ, which overrides the online version and any of the rules in rule books.

The question is about Mobile Artillery.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 06:17
Armor removes wire. Mobile artillery may be a vehicle, but it is not armor.

The Equipment Pack rule book explicitly states whether or not Halftracks, Supply Trucks, Jeeps, and Kubelwagens remove wire, as well as how they behave with several other kinds of terrain. (Trucks, Jeeps, and Kubelwagens can't.) No such specifications are given for Mobile Artillery -- which further supports the view that it has no special privileges in that area.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 06:24
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 28 May 2014 21:17

Armor removes wire. Mobile artillery may be a vehicle, but it is not armor.

The Equipment Pack rule book explicitly states whether or not Halftracks, Supply Trucks, Jeeps, and Kubelwagens remove wire, as well as how they behave with several other kinds of terrain. (Trucks, Jeeps, and Kubelwagens can't.) No such specifications are given for Mobile Artillery -- which further supports the view that it has no special privileges in that area.


Sam has voiced my views perfectly. I don't believe Mobile Artillery can remove wire, even though we now have a figure that looks more 'tank-like'. Like I said before, if Mobile Artillery could remove Wire, I think Richard would have pointed it out when we were compiling the FAQ and working on the Artillery entries.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1078
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Can Mobile Artillery remove Wire? Thu, 29 May 2014 10:57
Excellent and thanks all. As the OP I consider this thread closed.
      
    
Previous Topic:Download Game
Next Topic:Dday Landings Analysis and Observations
Goto Forum: