Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Shadows over Camelot - English » When can Trailor reveal himself?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Terry
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
March 2006
When can Trailor reveal himself? Thu, 09 March 2006 20:40
Today I played the game with my friends (we are all new in this game), and I raised a problem which needed to be clarify.

The situation is that, A is a trailor, it is his turn now, 10 Siege engines were in the game. He added a Siege engines as his evil turn. Then, he revealed himself and added another Siege engines as his action as a trailor. Shocked

Did this offended the rule? Can a trailor reveal himself w/o accused?
If he can, I want to ask further. Can he reveal himself when his life reduced to zero in order to avoid the death?
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
July 2003
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Fri, 10 March 2006 14:00
No one (Loyal or Traitor) can EVER reveal himself (the only exception is the "Fate" Special White card: if played by the Traitor, he can choose to use it to reveal himself rather than for the "normal" effect).
The only way to become "revealed" is to be accused (you can't accuse yourself and each player may accuse only ONCE during the whole game).
Have fun! Smile
      
Terry
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
March 2006
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Tue, 14 March 2006 16:34
I wanna ask more, if the trailor (or other hero) died or being accussed in the game, how do we handle his cards in hand? replace to the discard pile or the cards lose in this game forever?

[Updated on: Tue, 14 March 2006 17:21]

      
Sagrilarus
Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2005
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Tue, 14 March 2006 16:50
The traitor can make his presence well known though, by throwing a hero card on an obviously lost quest, accusing someone who has been doing well, or cramping the siege engine board. Heck, you can do all three on one turn! If you volunteer up a life point you can drop your two merlin cards on a siege engine battle as well.

So this brings the next question -- is it ever to the party's advantage to NOT accuse an obvious traitor? While not outed he doesn't get to steal cards. On his turn he gets to add a siege engine or draw a black card, but he does that whether he's out or not. So the only advantage to accusing him is the sword count. Depending on the current swords on the table, it may be worth your while to at least delay accusing him so that he doesn't get to steal cards.

Sag.
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
July 2003
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Tue, 14 March 2006 19:24
Terry wrote on Tue, 14 March 2006 16:34

I wanna ask more, if the trailor (or other hero) died or being accussed in the game, how do we handle his cards in hand? replace to the discard pile or the cards lose in this game forever?


When a knight dies, his Loyalty card is NOT revealed, while all the cards in his hand are put in the discard pile.
When the Traitor is revealed (via "Fate" or because accused), all the cards in his hand are put in the discard pile.
No cards are "removed from the game" in any case.
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
July 2003
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Tue, 14 March 2006 19:30
Sagrilarus wrote on Tue, 14 March 2006 16:50

If you volunteer up a life point you can drop your two merlin cards on a siege engine battle as well.

I'm not sure what you mean here.
If you want to attack a Siege Engine, you must use only "Fight" cards. You can discard only in the Lake (helping to retrieve Excalibur), to heal yourself (but you need three identical cards) or beacuse of one of the two "Morgan" Special Black cards requiring a discard.
You could play a "Merlin" as a Special White card to remove a Catapult, but you'd have still helped the Loyal kinghts and sent a Merlin in the discard pile (so it's likely that someone else will draw it later).

Sagrilarus wrote on Tue, 14 March 2006 16:50

so the only advantage to accusing him is the sword count.

The advantage is also to "free" the White cards he is holding in his hand; if you know who is the Traitor, it's wise to accuse him BEFORE a deck is exhausted, so that all his cards are reshuffled in the new deck (ready to be drawn by the loyal knights).
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Wed, 15 March 2006 07:17
Sagrilarus schrieb am Tue, 14 March 2006 16:50

If you volunteer up a life point you can drop your two merlin cards on a siege engine battle as well.

Luke is absolutely correct. Just let me add one point: You are not able to play two Merlin cards in one turn to remove two siege engines. Remember the "important note" on page 16 in the rules book: "You may never perform the same Heroic Action (here: playing a special white card) twice in the same turn, the second Action must always be a different one". So you can not sacrifice a life point to play a second Merlin card.

      
Sagrilarus
Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 43
Registered:
January 2005
Re:When can Trailor reveal himself? Thu, 16 March 2006 19:22
I was referring to placing non-fight cards in your Fight pile when rolling the 8-sider against the siege engine.

To fight a siege engine, first select and play as many Fight cards as desired .from your hand onto the table.

I just reviewed the wording above from the English edition of the rules and indeed it does infer that you may only lay down fight cards, though not with particular force. We have been playing incorrectly.

In light of that, I'm still not certain that revealing the traitor is always justified just to free up the cards in his hand. Flipping two swords at the end of the game is a bad idea, but it may be worth waiting a few turns before accusing so that you don't lose the potentially good cards in your own hand. It may indeed be worthwhile to "keep your enemies closer."

Sag.

Interesting note -- this doggone editor wouldn't let me submit the rule quotation above without the . in front of the word "from." Crazy, no?
      
    
Previous Topic:FAQ available
Next Topic:Lots of questions
Goto Forum: