Forums

Search
Forums » Pirate's Cove - English » Rules Question please!
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
fr33py
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2003
Rules Question please! Fri, 12 December 2003 10:08
Two Players are in combat against a neutral ship (Royal Navy or enemy Pirate)

Royal Navy fires and misses

Fastest sail ship fires volley and makes 2 hits

2nd fastest ship fires volley at RN and makes one hit

Fastest sail ship fires volley and sinks Royal Navy



Who gets to fire next? Does a "new battle" begin between the two PLAYERS and the ship with the fastest sails begin firing? OR does the player who had second fastest sails get to fire first because he did not get to fire a volley on the Royal Navy since the Fastest ship sunk it on their volley.


Thank you,

Shannon

[Updated on: Fri, 12 December 2003 12:41]

      
Loki73
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Rules Question please! Sun, 14 December 2003 09:01
It's important to remeber that after each round of volleys you re asses current sail levels as they will change. In your example yhe 2nd player has not gone yet so he or she would get to fire next. After the 2nd player fires a new combat round ensues thus every one must look at thier sails to determine whom would go first.
      
eatmyjustice
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 24
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Rules Question please! Mon, 16 February 2004 23:02
do you know if the sails level is reassessed in the current round? example:

3 Players - A, B, and C
A = 24 sails
B = 12 sails
C = 10 sails

If player A damages player B's sails to 8 in the first volley, does that make player B go third in the current round?

Thanks,

Joe
      
MarkoPolo
-= Crew =-
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 141
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Question please! Tue, 17 February 2004 02:14
Yes, at the end of each round of combat, the power of the sails is reassessed and the players battle in the new order.

      
eatmyjustice
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 24
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Rules Question please! Tue, 17 February 2004 02:38
MarkoPolo wrote on Mon, 16 February 2004 20:14

Yes, at the end of each round of combat, the power of the sails is reassessed and the players battle in the new order.




MarkoPolo,

Thanks for the quick reply...but I don't think I made my question clear. basically, do you ever change order during the combat round? Take a look at my example... at the start of the round player B should be going second. but if player A shoots Player B and knocks him below player c, does that mean that player B goes third during this current round instead of second?

Thanks again
      
MarkoPolo
-= Crew =-
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 141
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Rules Question please! Wed, 18 February 2004 03:50
Sorry, you were clear, I didn't read it thoroughly enough.

The order is set at the beginning of the volley, so within a round of volley's the order is not changed by hits taken during the round. It's not as clear as it should be, but the rules state:

"If a ship’s Sails get damaged, its speed, hence its order of play, might change from one combat round to the next.

We should infer from this that it's only from round to round, not within a round.
      
Bozimus
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Rules Question please! Tue, 12 October 2004 17:36
I notice a contradiction between the answer given in this thread and the one given in the "Initiative Question" thread.

Who is correct?
      
    
Previous Topic:Sail speed bonus question
Goto Forum: