Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » The doubling-back pursuit move
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
unihead
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Posts: 106
Registered:
September 2004
The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 22:46
My only question after reading the rules:

On page 29 the diagram shows that a cavalry unit can move forward and then back into its original hex, and this is considered a valid pursuit move.

Cavalry only get a bonus attack is you make a pursuit move.

But isn't the end result the same? The cavalry unit remains in its original hex. So I would assume that a cavalry unit could always make a bonus attack, except in the extreme case where it is surrounded by units and/or impassable terrain on all sides.
      
tech7
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 147
Registered:
September 2006
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 22:53
Or the defending unit was in terrain, where you have to stop moving.
      
stenic
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 136
Registered:
August 2006
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 23:08
unihead wrote on Thu, 07 December 2006 21:46

My only question after reading the rules:

On page 29 the diagram shows that a cavalry unit can move forward and then back into its original hex, and this is considered a valid pursuit move.

Cavalry only get a bonus attack is you make a pursuit move.

But isn't the end result the same? The cavalry unit remains in its original hex. So I would assume that a cavalry unit could always make a bonus attack, except in the extreme case where it is surrounded by units and/or impassable terrain on all sides.


No, only if it's target unit vacated the hex it was defending. The Bonus attack is only as a direct result of a Pursuit Action. To get the Bonus Attack you have to have made a Pursuit, so if an enemy hex is not vacated then Pursuit is not possible.

Steve P
      
unihead
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Posts: 106
Registered:
September 2004
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 23:25
Oh yes, of course. Still, the double back pursuit move seems somewhat strange, don't you think? Shouldn't it be that a cavaalry unit has to actually move at least one hex to be able to get the bonus combat?
      
stenic
Senior Member
Major

Posts: 136
Registered:
August 2006
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 23:31
They do. That they end up back where they started is a testament to their training and the skill of their commander Very Happy

I'm no cavalry general but if they were keeping it 'historically' accurate I suspect you may be correct for heavy cavalry, but as it's just a game ... Smile

Steve P
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3198
Registered:
October 2002
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Thu, 07 December 2006 23:45
SteveP is correct.
eric
      
tatsu
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2005
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Sat, 09 December 2006 19:39
The reason the rule is setup like it is, rather than just saying that a cav unit can battle again from the same hex is to take the terrain into effect. If your cav forces a unit out of a forest hex, then in order to battle again, they would HAVE to enter the forest hex, stop and battle out at two dice from that point, rather than being able to stay and use 3-4 dice from their original position.
      
unihead
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Posts: 106
Registered:
September 2004
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Sat, 09 December 2006 23:49
That makes sense, thanks.
      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 599
Registered:
November 2006
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Mon, 11 December 2006 08:53
tatsu schrieb am Sat, 09 December 2006 19:39

The reason the rule is setup like it is, rather than just saying that a cav unit can battle again from the same hex is to take the terrain into effect. If your cav forces a unit out of a forest hex, then in order to battle again, they would HAVE to enter the forest hex, stop and battle out at two dice from that point, rather than being able to stay and use 3-4 dice from their original position.


Now that's a great explanation, thanks. I haven't considered the terrain factor so far.

Dark.
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Mon, 11 December 2006 19:29
tatsu wrote on Sat, 09 December 2006 13:39

The reason the rule is setup like it is, rather than just saying that a cav unit can battle again from the same hex is to take the terrain into effect. If your cav forces a unit out of a forest hex, then in order to battle again, they would HAVE to enter the forest hex, stop and battle out at two dice from that point, rather than being able to stay and use 3-4 dice from their original position.


Excellent insight into the basics of the game system...

Richard Borg
      
guest230265
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered:
April 2006
Re:The doubling-back pursuit move Mon, 01 January 2007 00:16
Yes the old cav are quite lethal. Great fun getting them behind enemy units and then "tripping them up" so to speak when they try to retreat he he Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:New Creatures/Heroes "Club" Request
Next Topic:The Guest
Goto Forum: