Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Globetrotter bonus question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
yosemite
Senior Member

Posts: 130
Registered:
October 2004
  Globetrotter bonus question Mon, 11 December 2006 20:45
Hello, All! We broke out TTR 1910 yesterday for the first time and had a blast! TTR is a true favorite of mine!

TWO of us ended up completing 5 route cards each, tying us for the Globetrotter Bonus card and the 15 points. We figured it worked like the Longest Route card...if there's a tie, BOTH players get the bonus. Is this correct? I didn't see an official mention of this in the rules...

ALSO, we interpreted that the 1910 Intercontinental card (10 points) is the same as the old Longest Route card. Again, is this accurate?

THANKS!!!

Dan
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Tue, 12 December 2006 20:54
Correct on both accounts. If there is a tie, both people get the bonus.
      
yosemite
Senior Member

Posts: 130
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Tue, 12 December 2006 23:34
THANKS!!! That made sense to us, but I always like to check with the folks who KNOW!!! Very Happy

Dan
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Mon, 25 December 2006 18:30
Just got the base game and expansion today for Christmas. Is the "Intercontinental" card you mention the same thing as the "Trans American Express"? And so this works like the longest route card of the original game? I didn't see a reference to it anywhere.
      
yosemite
Senior Member

Posts: 130
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Mon, 25 December 2006 22:29
YEP! Don't know what possessed me to use the "intercontinental" term, other than not having the game in front of me and trying to ask my question from a computer at work! The Trans-American Express is the card I MEANT and, according to the nice reply I received, it's the equivalent of the old Longest Route card.

Dan
      
StrongBad09
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
December 2005
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Tue, 20 March 2007 15:47
Caboose wrote on Tue, 12 December 2006 14:54

Correct on both accounts. If there is a tie, both people get the bonus.


My fellow players don't like this at all. We split the bonuses among tied players (8/8, 5/5/5, 4/4/4/4 for Globetrotter, 5/5, 3/3/3 for longest route). Somebody not in the tie shouldn't be penalized by more than one set of points being awarded.
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Globetrotter bonus question Wed, 21 March 2007 19:27
both getting the bonus doesn't "double penalize" anyone. It's not a penalty, it's a bonus...


And spliting it does penalize those who did.


I'm good with the "Ties get whole value each" since both have worked hard to get the bonus.
      
    
Previous Topic:The MP Game (a new way to play at 2)
Next Topic:Marklin passenger question
Goto Forum: