Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Line of sight
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
neil1967
Member
Oberst

User Pages
Posts: 64
Registered:
November 2006
Line of sight Tue, 26 December 2006 23:19
Just a question about line of sight, the rule for hills suggests that a unit on a hill can see over an adjacent hill to a unit on a lower level but that the unit on the lower level can't see back along the same line of sight (it being blocked by the intervening hill). Is this correct?
      
Gilberreke
Member

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 01:06
That doesn't seem correct. Units on a hill have LOS to all units except the ones behind another hill. They do have LOS to the guys on other hills though. You can attack with full dice when your target is on an adjacent hill.

That's how I interpreted it.
      
neil1967
Member
Oberst

User Pages
Posts: 64
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 01:43
To quote the rule in question, "An Elevated Terrain hex blocks line of sight, except from adjacent Elevated Terrain of the same height" (page 63).

Taken litterally (as rules should be, I'd have thought) this means a unit on a hill can fire over any adjacent hill at a target further away. The target of this fire can only fire back if it is also on a hill next to the intervening hill ("from adjacent Elevated Terrain").

I don't think the rule is intended to achieve this result, I would expect it should be more like the "plateau" efect in M44, but it may be intentional.

      
Gilberreke
Member

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 02:59
I think you misinterpret the sentence. It just means that one hill has LOS to adjacent hills, not beyond that hill...

So, it should work as I explained my previous post...
      
neil1967
Member
Oberst

User Pages
Posts: 64
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 10:25
Quote:

I think you misinterpret the sentence. It just means that one hill has LOS to adjacent hills, not beyond that hill...



Sorry, but I don't think so, as you always have line of sight to adjacent hexes.

Perhaps the rule should read "An Elevated Terrain hex blocks line of sight, except BETWEEN Elevated Terrain hexes of the same height", which would make more sense IMO.
      
Gilberreke
Member

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 16:00
I'm starting to doubt now, I'm going to give my rule book another thorough read...
      
casbarian
Junior Member
Major

Posts: 10
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 16:49
neil1967 wrote on Tue, 26 December 2006 18:43

To quote the rule in question, "An Elevated Terrain hex blocks line of sight, except from adjacent Elevated Terrain of the same height" (page 63).

Taken litterally (as rules should be, I'd have thought) this means a unit on a hill can fire over any adjacent hill at a target further away. The target of this fire can only fire back if it is also on a hill next to the intervening hill ("from adjacent Elevated Terrain").




Unless it is worded poorly, I agree with your interpretation. The sentence could be reworded as: "An elevated terrain hex does not block line of sight for adjacent elevated terrain of the same height."

This makes me wonder, can you shoot over a forest if you're on a hill adjacent to it? Or is the forest taller than a hill? Or is a forest an elevated terrain at all?

[Updated on: Wed, 27 December 2006 16:50]

      
Pawnstar
Member

Posts: 30
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 21:38
casbarian wrote on Wed, 27 December 2006 10:49


This makes me wonder, can you shoot over a forest if you're on a hill adjacent to it? Or is the forest taller than a hill? Or is a forest an elevated terrain at all?




I guess terrain is just as abstracted as much of the rest of the system; I don't think I've ever seen a hex-shaped forest in my life but I'd bet the trees would obscure units on the opposite side of it if it was big enough.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Line of sight Wed, 27 December 2006 23:46
They state that Hills block LOS. If you took just this statement literally, then any two units on hills with hills between them would have their LOS blocked. So all they are saying is that there are two planes - regular hexes and elevated hexes. if you are on an elevated hex, you can see past other elevated hexes to units on elevated hexes.


And no, you cannot see over trees or units if they are on the regular terrain and you are on an elevated terrain. Experience from the other C&C terrain types show that IF you could see over it, it would make mention of it. Wooded terrain blocks LOS for all other types of terrain. Period.
      
    
Previous Topic:Tactic's Card - Colored Banners
Next Topic:Berserk+Backstab
Goto Forum: